Most health-related materials within the University Libraries are located at the Health Sciences Library, making it the best place for assistance in finding related information. This guide is intended only to highlight key government resources pertaining to health, particularly sources for health statistics.
The Web includes both excellent information about health, as well as substandard and incorrect information. The following will be helpful when considering this information very carefully:
- Evaluating Internet Health Information: A Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine
United States Federal (includes non-federal sources)
American Statistical Index ( ASI ) (LexisNexis)
Lockwood Reference Z 7554 .U5 A4 (1973+)
Indexes U.S. government statistical publications. Proquest Statistical Insight is an online version of ASI.
Browse Topics: Health Care Sites (U.S. Government Printing Office and Oklahoma State University)
Links to health care information hosted at various federal government sites. An excellent starting point for research.
FedStats (Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy)
A portal to U.S. federal government statistical publications. The directories to information organized by subjects and agencies are well done. However, the search facility is a bit weak. Two alternate search engines are likely to provide better information:
- Google U.S. Government Search
- USA.gov (U.S. General Services Administration)
Healthfinder ( U.S. Department of Health & Human Services . National Health Information Center)
A government portal with links to state and federal health sites.
Kaisernetwork.org (Kaiser Family Foundation)
Provides well researched and current information about health care policies to the public, journalists, and government.
MEDLINE (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. National Library of Medicine)
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=1 (MEDLINE - (via EBSCO)
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=260 (MEDLINE - (via ISI Web of Knowledge)
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=261 (MEDLINE - (via OVID))
The premier journal index covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and pre-clinical studies. PubCrawler (http://pubcrawler.gen.tcd.ie/) provides free email updates to MEDLINE. The ReleMed search engine indexes articles in MEDLINE
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
NCHS is the federal government's lead agency that collects and disseminates health statistics.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Indexes statistical publications of the U.S. government, international governmental organizations (IGOs), such as the United Nations and the World Health Organization, and trade and professional associations.
- Most U.S. government publications are available in the University Libraries. Consult a reference librarian.
- The international agency publications are available in the IIS Microfiche Library in the Capen Multimedia Center at MicFiche HA154 .I542 (1983+) .
- Selected professional association and trade publications are available in the SRI Microfiche Library in the Capen Multimedia Center at MicFiche Z7554 .U5 S8.
PubMed Central (PMC) (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. National Library of Medicine)
A free full-text index to articles in the medical literature. A PubMed Tutorial is at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html. See also:
- ReleMed (Intelligent Search Technologies)
ReleMed improves results of MEDLINE and PubMed searches by checking relevance and relationships of keywords within sentences, rather than the full document.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
The primary federal government department overseeing health policy. Search the Libraries Catalog for references to HHS titles. Alternatively, browse Lockwood Library's Government Documents collection under the call number "US HE...".
State and Local
County Health Assessment Indicators (CHAI) (New York State. Department of Health)
Summarizes 14 public health indicators for all NY counties. Topics relate to cancer; child and adolescent injuries; diabetes; family planning; health behaviors; heart disease; HIV; immunizations and infectious diseases; mortality and morbidity; maternal and infant health; oral health; occupational health; respiratory diseases; and socioeconomic status.
Erie County Vital Statistics (Erie County. Department of Health)
Lockwood Reference RA122 .E7 A28 (1989+ with gaps)
Presents statistics on births, pregnancies, deaths, and disease incidence for ZIP codes.
Health Topics A to Z (New York State. Department of Health)
Links to hundreds of health related topics affecting New Yorkers.
National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP)
Researches and publishes information about all aspects of health care affecting states.
New York State County Health Indicator Profiles (New York State. Department of Health)
Topics deal with social and demographic characteristics; pereinatal health (births, infant mortality, pregnancies); mortality; hospitalizations; and morbidity.
Leading Causes of Death in Erie County (Erie County Department of Health)
Selected Health and Medicine Web Sites (New York State Library)
Coverage includes information describing over 20 health related topics. Selected ones are general health, children, clinical trials, alternative medicine, disabilities, drugs, fitness, mental health, and women’s health.
Statehealthfacts.org (Kaiser Family)
Provides current health statistics for states on approximately 500 topics. Broad areas cover children's health; demographics and economics; health insurance; health costs and budgets; Medicaid, SCHIP (State Children's Health Insurance Program), and Medicare; minority and women's health; and HIV/AIDS.
Vital Statistics of New York State (New York State. Department of Health)
Lockwood Reference HA544 .V85 (most recent copy)
New York State Documents Collection NY HEA 302-3/VITSN (1990-present)
Summarizes vital statistics in New York State. Topics cover population, births, pregnancies, abortions, causes of death, marriages, and divorces. Although selected data are by counties, most statistics deal with the entire state, and the state exclusive of New York City.
International Policy Issues and Statistics
GlobalHealthReporting.org (Kaiser Family)
Summarizes health related current events, and information about HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis (TB) and malaria for journalists, researchers, and policy makers. The link to Global Health Facts.org (http://kff.org/globaldata/) provides brief statistics on demographic characteristics; the health workforce; HIV, Malaria and TB; income and the economy; and programs, funding, and finances for countries throughout the world.
Health Canada is the federal agency charged with overseeing the health of Canadians. A comprehensive A-Z Index ( http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/English/search/AZ/a.html ) leads to general information and data about government policy.
Health Information for International Travel: The "Yellow Book" (United States. Department of Health and Human Services. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
Covers recommended vaccinations; other preventive measures; drug availability; and disease outbreaks in areas throughout the world.
HEALTHmap (Clark Freifeld and John Brownstein, Harvard University)
Maps outbreaks of infectious diseases throughout the world using four information sources.
- ProMED (sponsored by the International Society for Infectious Diseases)
- World Health Organization
- EuroSurveillance (sponsored by the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control)
- Google News
Index to International Statistics ( IIS ) (LexisNexis)
Lockwood Reference HA154 .I544 (1983-2011)
Indexes and abstracts publications issued by international intergovernmental organizations (IGOs) on social, demographic, and economic topics. Microfiche copies are available in the IIS Microfiche Library in the Capen Multimedia Center at MicFiche HA154 .I542 (1983-April 2010). Besides the microfiche, many of the titles included in this collection, particularly United Nations publications, are in the Libraries Catalog and available in paper format. Proquest Statistical Insight is an online version of the IIS.
MedlinePlus: International Health (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. National Library of Medicine)
Summarizes international health news; global health policy issues; and selected statistics.
Public Health (European Commission. Directorate General Health & Consumers)
Promotes European Union public health initiatives. Topics deal with legislation, population groups, the environment, improving health, health indicators and data, and risk assessment. Links to publications and key documents are helpful.
World Health Organization
The World Health Organization (WHO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations which aims to provide the highest possible level of health to all people. The Health Topics page (http://www.who.int/topics/en/) contains fact sheets and international statistics for various diseases and health-related issues around the world.