Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

History of Geology [pre-1900]: Guide to Research (Part I)


Part I: The Evolution of Geology - A Selected Bibliography

Titles about the early development of geological discovery.


Adam Sedgwick : geologist and dalesman, 1785-1873 : a biography in twelve themes

AUTHOR: Speakman, Colin.
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE22.S4 S73 1982


Alfred Wegener, the father of continental drift; with an introduction to the English edition by Anthony Hallam ; and an assessment of the earth science revolution by I. Bernard Cohen

AUTHOR: Schwarzbach, Martin, 1907-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE22.W26 S3913 1986


Bibliography of American natural history; the pioneer century, 1769-1865; the role played by the scientific societies; scientific journals; natural history museums and botanic gardens; state geological and natural history surveys; federal exploring expeditions in the rise and progress of American botany, geology, mineralogy, paleontology and zoology

AUTHOR: Meisel, Max, 1892-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection Q145.U5 M5


Birth and development of the geological sciences

AUTHOR: Adams, Frank Dawson, 1859-1942
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .A3 1954


Century of science in America, with special reference to the American journal of science, 1818-1918

AUTHOR: Dana, Edward Salisbury, 1849-1935
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Q127.U6 C3


Charles Darwin : the years of controversy; The origin of species and its critics

AUTHOR: Vorzimmer, Peter J., 1937-
HEALTH SCIENCES Book Collection WZ 100 D228v 1970


Charles Lyell, the years to 1841: the revolution in geology

AUTHOR: Wilson, Leonard G. (Leonard Gilchrist), 1928-
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE22.L8 W54


Charles Lyell's visit to Norway 1837 with remarks on the history of the "granite problem" in the Oslo region

AUTHOR: Holtedahl, O. (Olaf), b. 1885.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE451.N6 S8 v.19


Classics of science : a study of twelve enduring scientific works

AUTHOR: Gjertsen, Derek
SCI/ENGR Book Collection Q125 .G54 1984
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Q125 .G54 1984


Contributions to the history of American geology

AUTHOR: Merrill, George P. (George Perkins), 1854-1929
CAPEN Multimedia Center MicCard E169.1 .L4 LAC 12665


Contributions to the history of science

AUTHOR: Karpinski, Louis Charles, 1878-1956.
JOINT AUTHOR: Winter, John Garrett, 1881-1956
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Q125 .C6 1930


Controversy in Victorian geology : the Cambrian-Silurian dispute

AUTHOR: Secord, James A.
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE656 .S4 1986


Development of the sciences

AUTHOR: Woodruff, Lorande Loss, 1879-1947
SCI/ENGR Book Collection Q125 .W8 1941


Dinosaur papers, 1676-1906

AUTHOR: Weishampel, David
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE861.4 .D54 2003


Early nineteenth century European scientists.

AUTHOR: Olby, Robert C. (Robert Cecil)
SCI/ENGR Book Collection Q141 .O38 1967


Earth we live on; the story of geological discovery

AUTHOR: Moore, Ruth E
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .M7


Encyclopedia of source illustrations; a portable picture library of 5000 steel engravings, illustrating in systematic arrangement the fields of mathematics and astronomy, physics and meteorology, chemistry, mineralogy and geology, botany, zoology, anthropology and surgery, geography and planography, history and ethnology, comprising all of the 266 plates contained in the above sections of the Iconographic encyclopaedia of 1851.

AUTHOR: Heck, J. G. (Johann Georg), d. 1857
LOCKWOOD Reference AG6 .H413


Evolution debate, 1813-1870

AUTHOR: Knight, David
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QH363 .E9 2003


First hundred years of the Geological survey of Great Britain

AUTHOR: Flett, John S. (John Smith), Sir, b. 1869.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE261.A75 F5


Fossil hunter : the life and times of Mary Anning (1799-1847)

AUTHOR: Goodhue, Thomas W.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection ON ORDER


Foundations of scientific method: the nineteenth century

AUTHOR: Giere, Ronald N.
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Q175 .F72 1973


Founders of geology

AUTHOR: Geikie, Archibald, Sir, 1835-1924
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 G3 1962


Founders of seismology

Davison, Charles, 1858-1940
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE534 .D25 1978


From mineralogy to geology : the foundations of a science, 1650-1830

AUTHOR: Laudan, Rachel, 1944-
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE11 .L35 1987


Genesis and geology, a study in the relations of scientific thought, natural theology, and social opinion in Great Britain, 1790-1850

AUTHOR: Gillispie, Charles Coulston
LOCKWOOD Book Collection BS657 .G55
CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm BS657 .G54 1948a


Geological revolution

AUTHOR: Drake, Charles L
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .D72 1970


Geological sciences in the antebellum South

AUTHOR: Corgan, James X.
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE13.U6 G46


Geologists and ideas : a history of North American geology

AUTHOR: Drake, Ellen T.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE13.U6 G466 1985


Geology and revelation, or, The ancient history of the earth, considered in the light of geological facts and revealed religion / with an introduction to the American edition, and a chapter on Cosmogony, (by permission) from the Manual of Geology

AUTHOR: Molloy, Gerald, 1834-1906
E-BOOK: http://moa.umdl.umich.edu/cgi/sgml/moa-idx?notisid=AFY1849


Geology in the nineteenth century : changing views of a changing world

AUTHOR: Greene, Mott T., 1945-
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE11 .G73 1982


Geology. 1. Development of geological knowledge in the Dutch East Indies, by L. Rutten. 2. Geological investigations, carried out in the Dutch East Indies during the 20th century of behalf of the Department of mines by the engineers of the staff

AUTHOR: Rutten, L. (Louis), 1884-
IN STORAGE Request at Circulation QE349 .R8


Georges Cuvier, Fossil Bones, and Geological Catastrophes: New Translations & Interpretations of the Primary Texts

AUTHOR: Rudwick, M. J. S.; Cuvier, Georges
E-BOOK: http://www.netLibrary.com/urlapi.asp?action=summary&v=1&bookid=35153


Great chain of history : William Buckland and the English school of geology (1814-1849)

AUTHOR: Rupke, Nicolaas A
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE28.3 .R8 1983


Great Devonian controversy : the shaping of scientific knowledge among gentlemanly specialists

AUTHOR: Rudwick, M. J. S.
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE665 .R83 1985


Great geological controversies

AUTHOR: Hallam, A. (Anthony), 1933-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .H35 1983
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .H35 1989
UNDERGRADUATE Book Collection QE11 .H35 1983


Guide to the exhibition galleries of geology and palaeontology illustrated by 2 plates and 1 plan

AUTHOR: Bather, Francis Arthur, 1863-1934
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE716 .B84 1923


Heritage of engineering geology : the first hundred years

AUTHOR: Kiersch, George A., 1918-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection TA705 .H47 1991


History of British geology; a bibliographical study

AUTHOR: Challinor, John
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE261 .C48


History of geology

AUTHOR: Gohau, Gabriel
UNDERGRADUATE Book Collection QE11 .G64 1990


History of geology and palaeontology

AUTHOR: Zittel, Karl Alfred von, 1839-1904
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .Z413 1962


History of the earth sciences during the scientific and industrial revolutions with special emphasis on the physical geosciences

AUTHOR: Hall, D. H.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .H3


Is the present the key to the past or is the past the key to the present? : James Hutton and Adam Smith versus Abraham Gottlob Werner and Karl Marx in interpreting history

AUTHOR: Sengor, A. M. Celal
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE1 .S7 no.355


It began with a stone : a history of geology from the Stone Age to the age of plate tectonics

AUTHOR: Faul, Henry
UNDERGRADUATE Book Collection QE11 .F38 1983


James Hutton and the history of geology

AUTHOR: Dennis R. Dean
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE26 .D43 1992


La geologie

AUTHOR: Margerie, Emmanuel de, 1862-1953
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE13.F8 M35


Landforms and geomorphology : concepts and history [Benchmark Papers in Geology, v.28]

AUTHOR: King, Cuchlaine A. M.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection GB405 .L36


Lectures and discourses of earthquakes and subterraneous eruptions

AUTHOR: Hooke, Robert, 1635-1703
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE521 .H66 1978


Man who found time : James Hutton and the discovery of the earth's antiquity

AUTHOR: Repcheck, Jack.
UNDERGRADUATE Book Collection QE22.H9 R47 2003


Map that changed the world : William Smith and the birth of modern geology

AUTHOR: Winchester, Simon
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE22 .S6 W55 2001


Meeting place of geology and history

AUTHOR: Dawson, John William, Sir, 1820-1899
LOCKWOOD Book Collection GN738 .D26


Murchison in Moray : a geologist on home ground : with the correspondence of Roderick Impey Murchison and the Rev. Dr. George Gordon of Birnie

AUTHOR: Collie, Michael
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Q11 .P64 n.s. v.85 pt.3


Oceanography : concepts and history [Benchmark Papers in Geology, v.35]

AUTHOR: Deacon, Margaret
LOCKWOOD Book Collection GC26 .O27


Philosophy of geohistory, 1785-1970 [Benchmark Papers in Geology, v.13]

AUTHOR: Albritton, Claude C., 1913-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .A42


Popular geology: a series of lectures read before the Philosophical Institution of Edinburgh, with Descriptive sketches from a geologist's portfolio. With an introductory resume of the progress of geological science

AUTHOR: Miller, Hugh, 1802-1856
RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.131A


Remarks on some late papers relating to the universal deluge, and to the natural history of the earth

AURTHOR: Harris, John, 1667?-1719.
CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm PR1121 .U62 reel 1261:4


Revolution and continuity : essays in the history and philosophy of early modern science

AUTHOR: Barker, Peter, 1949-
IN STORAGE Request at Circulation B21 .S78 v.24


Revolution in landscape science

AUTHOR: Cunningham, Frank F., 1916-
LOCKWOOD Book Collection GB400.7 .C85


Sciences of the earth : an encyclopedia of events, people, and phenomena

AUTHOR: Good, Gregory.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QE11 .S38 1998


Scientific papers : physiology, medicine, surgery, geology ; with introduction and notes

AUTHOR: Havard Classics
UNDERGRADUATE Book Collection Q171 .S38


Scientist of empire : Sir Roderick Murchison, scientific exploration and Victorian imperialism

AUTHOR: Stafford, Robert A
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE22.M8 S82 1989


Smithsonian Institution, 1846-1896: the history of its first half century

AUTHOR: Goode, G. Brown (George Brown), 1851-1896
CAPEN Multimedia Center MicCard E169.1 .L4 LAC 12640


Source book in geology,1400-1900

AUTHOR: Mather, Kirtley F. (Kirtley Fletcher), 1888-, ed.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE40 .M18


Stories in stone; telling of some of the wonderlands of western America and some of the curious incidents in the history of geology

AUTHOR: Lee, Willis T. (Willis Thomas), 1864-1926
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE79 .L4


Story of the great geologists

AUTHOR: Fenton, Carroll Lane, 1900-1969
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE21 .F4



That remarkable man Carl Ludwig Rominger, State geologist [1820-1907]

AUTHOR: Wright, Jean Davies
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE22.R69 W74


Thinking about the earth : a history of ideas in geology

AUTHOR: Oldroyd, D. R. (David Roger)
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE11 .O43 1996


Thousand years of nonlinear history

AUTHOR: De Landa, Manuel
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Q174.8 .D43 1997


Toward a history of geology; proceedings

AUTHOR: New Hampshire Inter-disciplinary Conference on the History of Geology (1967 : Rye Beach).
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .N47 1967


Treasury of scientific prose, a nineteenth-century anthology

AUTHOR: Jones, Howard Mumford, 1892-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection Q111 .J58


Two centuries of earth science, 1650-1850

AUTHOR: Herries Davies, G. L.
LOCKWOOD Book Collection GB400.7 .H47 1989


Two hundred years of geology in America : proceedings of the New Hampshire Bicentennial Conference on the History of Geology

AUTHOR: Schneer, Cecil J., 1923-
UNDERGRADUATE Book Collection QE13.U6 N48 1976
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE13.U6 N48 1976


Victorian science and religion : a bibliography with emphasis on evolution, belief, and unbelief, comprised of works published from c. 1900-1975

AUTHOR: Eisen, Sydney.
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z5320 .E57 1984


Wordsworth and the geologists

AUTHOR: Wyatt, John, 1931-
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PR5892 .G42 W93 1995