Archives, Manuscripts and Historic Documents
- General Resources to First Consult
- National Archives and Records Administration
- Presidential Materials
- Web Archives
- US Foreign Relations Documents
- Historical Manuscripts, Texts and Places
- New York State
- Other Nations/Non-Government Sites
General Resources to First Consult
Provides information on primary source materials from over 4,800 archival and manuscript repositories in the United States. Archive Finder draws from three major information sources: the Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States (DAMRUS), the National Union Catalogue of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC), and the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS).
This database contains more than 60 million records contributed by 20,000 libraries from around the world. Define an archives and manuscript search by selecting “Archival Materials” in advanced search mode.
National Archives and Records Administration
The University at Buffalo Libraries collect selected publications from the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Locate them in the Libraries Catalog using author or keyword searches under "united states national archives," or browse the Government Documents collection under the call number Lockwood Documents US AE.
Archival Research Catalog (ARC)
ARC, formerly known as NAIL (NARA Archival Information Locator), is a searchable database of selected information about a wide variety of NARA's holdings across the country. Some of the entries are linked to text, images and recordings.
Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States
Lockwood Documents US AE 1.108: G 94
Individual entries are to collections of materials produced by a particular committee or relating to a specific event. Each entry has been assigned an accession number within a record group based on agency. Access to the entries is provided by a subject index which is part of this publication.
Links to catalogs of National Archives microfilms. UB does not own many films, but the Libraries' Delivery + service could likely borrow for you from another library.
NARA Main Page
The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is an independent federal agency that preserves our nation's history and defines us as a people by overseeing the management of all federal records. The web site includes exhibits of a few items (some highlighted on this page) and a number of bibliographic tools for identifying collections they hold.
Presidential Materials: Selected Resources
A guide to official and unofficial presidential documents and materials, with both print and Internet resources.
Internet Archive Wayback Machine
A non-profit group that attempts to provide permanent access to internet sites for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public. Separate sections deal with the Web; movies; images; text; audio; and software.
U.S. Foreign Relations Documents
Emerging Nation: Foreign Relations of the United States 1780-1789
Lockwood Documents US AE 1.114/3: N21
Law General Collection E303.E44 1996
The volumes in this series contain reprints from a variety of sources of diplomatic dispatches, treaties, private letters, and other material from the early years of U.S. diplomacy.
Foreign Relations of the United States 1932-
http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ho/frus/ (1945- )
Lockwood Book Collection JX233 .A3 (1932-1954)
Lockwood Documents US S 1.1: (1945-1976)
Capen Multimedia Center US MicFiche S 1.1 (1952-1968)
Law General Collection INT 21.98 U65 (1932-1976)
Law Koren MicFiche INT 21.98 U65 (1952-1968)
The volumes in this series contain the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
Office of the Historian of the Department of State
Foreign Relations of the United States is only one of the publications from this office. This site includes Historical Background Papers, Visits to the US by Foreign Heads of State and Government, and other publications.
Papers Relating to the Foreign Relations of the United States 1861-1931
Lockwood Book Collection JX233 .A3
Law General Collection INT 21.98 U65
Under varying titles, these volumes are similar to Emerging Nation.
Historical Manuscripts, Texts and Places
American Memory Project
The Library of Congress is making a growing number of items from its collection available online. Use the search or browse features to identify the photos, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings and other formats made available here.
Avalon Project (Yale University. Lillian Goldman Law Library)
The Yale Law School digitizes and posts online key documents in law, history, and diplomacy from beginnings of time through the present.
Buildings, Landmarks and Historic Sites
This site brings together a variety of links relating to historic sites in the U.S.
Constitution of the United States
Search and download text and interpretations of the Constitution, the 1992 edition and 1996-2000 supplements.
Exhibit Hall of the National Archives
This site has images with explanatory text for historic documents, like the Constitution and Emancipation Declaration, and other less well known items of interest.
Historical Congressional Resources
A guide to print and electronic resources that pertain to historical Congressional documents.
National Register of Historic Places
This site allows users to search the Register by state and county, offers tips on the use of historic places for teaching, and contains an exhibit about the Underground Railroad.
National Security Archive
The National Security Archive is an independent non-government research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Some of the materials they have obtained are available at the site and some in the Libraries collection; search the BISON Catalog using a keyword search for the terms national security archive.
U.S Serial Set Digital Collection
The Congressional Serial Set is a compilation of reports and documents published by Congress since 1817. See the text of the descriptive link for complementary resources.
Genealogy Research in the UB Libraries
Genealogical Sources in the New York State Library
This site describes the scope of information in the New York State Library and gives instruction on how to use it. See also Genealogical Records in the New York State Archives at http://www.archives.nysed.gov/a/research/res_topics_genealogy.shtml.
New York State
New York State Archives
New York State Newspaper Project
Identifies, describes, preserves, and makes available to researchers the significant newspapers in all communities in New York State since the first publication in 1725.
New York State Census of Population
Capen Multimedia Center MicFilm F 127 E6B8
Reproduces manuscript schedules for New York State population censuses of Erie County conducted in 1855, 1965, 1875, 1892, 1805, 1915, and 1925. Included are schedules for the towns in the county and the city of Buffalo by wards. Specific information recorded varies over the years, but generally the following types of data can be found: type and value of residence, names of all household residents, age, sex, race and relationship to the head of the household, place of birth, marital status, number of years of residence in the city or town, occupation, citizenship, literacy, property ownership, and handicaps. Prior knowledge of the household address is useful. There are no aids in the University Libraries that directly assist in locating a particular household on the reels. The Special Collection section of the central (downtown) branch of the Buffalo and Erie County Public Library has a collection of ward maps. In addition, Lockwood Library holds several Buffalo city directories:
- City Directories of the United States through 1860 (segment I)
Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche E 154.5 D4
All U.S. directories, including Buffalo, up to 1860.
- City Directories of the United States, 1860-1901
Lockwood Reference E154.5 .C42 1983
A guide to the microform collections.
- City Directories of the United States, 1861-1881 (segment II)
Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche E154.5 D41
Includes only Albany, NY; Brooklyn, NY; Buffalo, NY; New York, NY; Philadelphia, PA; Pittsburgh, PA; Rochester, NY; Syracuse, NY; and Troy, NY.
- City Directories of the United States, Buffalo N.Y. 1861-1935
Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche E154.5 D412
Tax Rolls of the City of Buffalo
Capen Multimedia Center MicFilm 7 127 E6C4
Reproduces tax rolls for the city of Buffalo for certain years between 1846 and 1866 from the Erie County Treasurer's Office. Includes information on the location of property, owner's names, lot size, assessed valuation, and amount of tax paid. Records for the various years are filmed in an irregular order. The reel numbers and their contents are as follows: 6 (1866-65); 7 (1864-65); 12 (1861-60); 13 (1860-59); 16 (1856, 55, 54); 18 (1852, 51, 46)
Other Nations/Non-Government Sites
Canadian Archival Resources on the Internet
This is a meta-site for archives at all levels of government and resources related to archival work.
European Union Historical Archives (European University Institute)
The EU stipulates that all documents and files which have been "closed" for thirty years must be made freely available to the public. References deal with research tools, finding aids, news, and useful links and publications. Search ARCHISplus, the European Commission's historical archives database, at http://ec.europa.eu/historical_archives/archisplus/arcp_central.cfm
National Archives: Records of the UK Government
In addition to public materials, The National Archives is the “clearing-house for information about the location of non-public records and manuscripts relating to British history kept . . . in the UK and overseas.”
National Library and Archives of Canada
This site is similar in scope and mission to that of the United States' NARA. Images and documentation for selected Indian Treaties are available online.
Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5,000 Web sites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
University Archives @ UB
The University Archives collect and maintain historically significant records of the University at Buffalo. Guides to materials describe people at UB, historical collections, university records, a biographical database, and online finding aids.