Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

French and Francophone Resources


All of the sources listed can be found in the University at Buffalo's Arts & Sciences Libraries (ASL), or on the World Wide Web.

Databases

Indexes

Primary Sources and Digtal Collections

Newspapers

Dictionaries

Print Resources

Francophone Resources


Databases

ARTFL Project

The ARTFL Project is a collection of full-text French writings ranging from novels and poetry to biology and mathematics. It is designed to be used for advanced linguistic and literary analysis of French texts. Also included are Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopedie as well as a reference collection.

Humanities International Complete includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,200 journals and 2.71 million records) plus some unique full-text content. Major emphases are literature and the literary arts, international and multi-disciplinary resources. The database also includes original creative works. This is an unusually good source for francophone critical material. Most content is fairly recent.

JSTOR presents the full text, in facsimile form, of the complete back files of 510 important scholarly journals, generally lacking only the most recent three years. JSTOR includes about 160 titles in literature and language, and many area studies and multi-disciplinary journals.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses 

Provides title, author, and subject access to virtually every U.S. dissertation; the database also provides access to thousands of Canadian dissertations and U.S. master's theses, and since 1988 selected access to British and European dissertations. Contains leads to citations to over 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses from more than 1,000 North American and European graduate schools. Abstracts to doctoral dissertions from 1980 forward & for master's theses from 1988 forward. 

Persée, a French university and governmental database, publishes online, open access scholarly journals in the humanities. There are six linguistics titles and eight literature titles, all full-text and complete, as well as journals in many other disciplines.

Project Muse provides full-text access to over 300 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published by The Johns Hopkins University Press and other scholarly publishers, largely in the disciplines of Cultural Studies, History, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion and Theater.

Athena

Extensive numbers of full-text French literary works.

L'Association des Bibliophiles Universels

"L'accès libre au texte intégral d'oeuvres du domaine public francophone sur Internet depuis 1993." Provides access to a number of public domain French literary texts.

Periodicals Archives Online 

Full text access to hundreds of scholarly journals is provided through Periodicals Archive Online (PAO). PAO may be searched directly through Periodicals Index Online (PIO). In PIO select Article Search and then Search citations with linked full text on the upper far right. Periodicals are in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and other Western languages.

 

Indexes

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is part of the Web of Science, a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals. Because the information about each article includes the cited reference list (i.e., the bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a particular author or work; this often locates relevant articles that cannot be found through traditional searching techniques.

MLA International Bibliography is a venerable and extensive source of literary history and criticism as well as linguistic studies. It indexes books, journal articles and dissertations, and covers literatures in major European languages. Its directory of periodicals provides information on more than 3,000 journals and book series. Publication dates from 1926 to the present.

 

Primary Sources and Digital Collections

Gallica 

"Gallica est la bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de ses partenaires. En ligne depuis 1997, elle s’enrichit chaque semaine de milliers de nouveautés et offre aujourd’hui accès à plus de 2 millions de documents."

LiTgloss 

This site was developed in 1999 by the University at Buffalo's Department of Modern Languages and Literatures. It contains a collection of texts written in languages other than English including various full-text French materials. Some materials require UB/password access.

 

Dictionaries

Dictionnaire de l’Académie française

The ninth edition of this magnum opus by the Académie française, the pre-eminent French learned body on matters pertaining to the French language.

Dictionnaires d'autrefois

French dictionaries of the 17th, 18th, 19th and 20th centuries, from the ARTFL project at the University of Chicago.

Robert, Paul, Josette Rey-Debove, and Alain Rey. Le Nouveau Petit Robert: Dictionnaire Alphabétique Et Analogique De La Langue Française, Nouvelle Édition Du Petit Robert De Paul Robert. Paris: Dictionnaires Le Robert, 2001.
Lockwood Reference PC2625 .R554 2001

Websites

Bibliotheque Nationale française

Two million pages of online text and images in "Images et textes du XIXe siècle francophone" (http://gallica.bnf.fr/) . Includes the full text versions of many 19th century works.

ClicNet: Littérature francophone virtuelle

Provides links to various French literature resources including bibliographies, biographies and poetry.

Femmes Ecrivains et littérature africaine francophone

Produced by the French studies Department at The University of Western Australia, this site gives an overview of African women writing in French. Offers excepts from novels, short stories, plays and poetry.

 

Newspapers

Le Monde

Electronic version of major French newspaper. Provides daily french and francophone news coverage.

Le Monde Diplomatique

Monthly French review, covering mainly geopolitical, economic and social issues.

L’Express

1953-1962 on microfilm; 1963-2003, Per. AP20 .E926. From 07/25/2002 to present in LexisNexis Academic; from 08/01/2002 to present in Factiva

Le Figaro

Electronic version of one of the oldest and largest newspapers in France. Le Figaro is France's first national daily newspaper and one of the most widely read and respected French daily publications. Considered the French equivalent of Newsweek.

Le Liberation

Electronic version of major French newspaper providing interesting articles on national, international, economic and social issues.

Nouvel Observateur

From 08/05/2004 to 06/14/2007 in Factiva


Print Resources

Reference Books

Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métiers, par une Société de Gens de lettres was published under the direction of Diderot and d'Alembert, with 17 volumes of text and 11 volumes of plates between 1751 and 1772. Containing 74,000 articles written by more than 130 contributors, the Encyclopédie was a massive reference work for the arts and sciences, as well as a machine de guerre which served to propagate the ideas of the French Enlightenment. 

 

Guide to French Literature

LOCKWOOD Reference PQ 41 .L49 1994.

2 large volumes. Vol. 1 "Beginnings to 1789," vol. 2 "1789 to the Present." Entries on groups and trends as well as on individual writers. Only covers France.

New Oxford Companion to Literature in French

LOCKWOOD Reference PQ 41 .N48 1995

Entries of over 3000 writers and works. Includes essays on literary movements and genres. Includes coverage of Francophone writers. Includes some major francophone writers.


Specific Geographic Areas outside France

Dictionnaire des Oeuvres Littéraires du Québec

LOCKWOOD Reference PQ 3901 .D54 1978

5 volumes, from 1978 to 1987.

Dictionnaire Québècois d'Aujourd'hui

LOCKWOOD Reference AG 25 .D53 1993

Dictionnaire du Français Acadien

LOCKWOOD Reference PC 3645 .M37 C67 1999

Dictionnaire Québècois Français "pour mieux se comprendre entre francophones."

LOCKWOOD Reference PC 3643 .M45 1999.

Dictionnaire des Oeuvres Littéraires Negro-Africaines de Langue Française des Origines a 1978

LOCKWOOD Reference PQ 3980 .A52 D53 1983.

Litteratures Nationales d'Ecriture Française: Afrique Noire Caraibes, Ocean Indien : Histoire Littéraire et Anthologie

LOCKWOOD Book Collection PQ 3809 .R68 1986.

Voix de Madagascar : Anthologie de Littérature Francophone Contemporaine

LOCKWOOD Book Collection PQ 3985.5 .E5 V65 2002.

Dictionnaire des auteurs de langue française en Amérique du Nord

LOCKWOOD Reference PQ3900.2 .H36 1989

Dictionnaire des auteurs maghrebins de langue française 

LOCKWOOD Reference PQ 3988 N6 D38 1984