Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Physics: Internet Resources


Internet Resources

This guide contains selected physics resources freely available on the Internet. For more information on Physics, visit the Physics Department here at the State University of New York at Buffalo. See also SEL's Astronomy & Astrophysics Guide.


Books, Journals, Open Access, Preprints

See also General Portals& Directories Section

  • arXiv Preprint Server (Cornell Univ.) - physics, mathematics, non-linear science and computer science
  • BookFinder.com - one of the best & largest meta-search site for new & used books.
  • CAS Source Index - current and discontinued scientific and technical serial titles worldwide including journals, online preprint servers, conference proceedings, patent document series, meeting publications, and monographs containing collections of papers. [Note: this online version is missing some information from the CD product available at the Capen Reference Area CD Workstation.]
  • Digital Library for Physics, Astrophysics, and Instrumentation Astrophysics Data System (ADS) from NASA/Harvard University.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (Lund Univ.) - Over 9,700 peer reviewed, freely available journals, the most comprehensive directory on the Web. Article level search also available.
  • Directory of Open Access Repositories -OpenDOAR (Univ. of Nottingham) - an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.
  • East Asian Gateway Service Document Delivery (Univ. at Pittsburgh) - Free, fast delivery of Chinese documents/articles to any individual researchers for research and teaching purposes where the needed item is not in any U.S. library.
  • Google Books - Over 15,000,000 books and magazine issues, with material added daily.
  • HathiTrust - Over 8.7 million scanned items, all described by precise metadata. Full-text of copyrighted items (~73%) are generally inaccessible.
  • Index Translationum (UNESCO) - 1.3 million translated books
  • Landolt-Bornstein Substance / Property Index - Keyword searchable as well as molecular formula, element system, CAS Registry Numbers, chemical name, and zeolite indicies. UB has most of the older print volumes on the Silverman (Capen) Reference shelves (QC61.L33 & QC61.L332).
  • The Online Books Page (John Mark Ockerbloom, Univ. of Penna.) - A meta-search & directory of over 800,000 freely available online books.
  • Publish or Perish (Anne-Wil Harzing) - a downloadable, free program analyzing Google Scholar citations to an author's publications. Reports statistics such as ave. cites per paper and h-index & related metrics. Disclaimer: Google Scholar citation data is very noisy & includes non-peer reviewed citing documents.  Citation variations likely inflate number of papers & citations.
  • Review of Particle Physics from Physics Review D
  • RoMEO - Over 400 publisher copyright and self-archiving policies (SHERPA)
  • SciVee (Univ. of California, San Diego) - Allows scholars to post articles along with a video presentation. Sponsored by NSF & Public Library of Science.

Career Information


Conferences and Meetings


Educational Materials & Web Courses


Elements, Nuclides, & HEP


General Portals and Directories

See also Elements, Nucleotides, & HEP Section


History of Physics


Physical Properties & Data


Software