Short Stories and Short Story Authors
A Research Guide
The H.W. Wilson Company's Short Story Index defines short stories as "a brief narrative of not more than 150 average-sized pages." This guide will enable you to locate the full-text of short stories as well as criticism and interpretation about them. This list is not exhaustive; consult a reference librarian for further help.
- Finding a Specific Short Story
- Recommend Print Resources
- Locating Criticism and Interpretation
- Recommended Print Resources
- Recommended Online Databases
- Select Internet Resources
Searching the UB Libraries Catalog
Do an author search in the Libraries Catalog
Look for the title of the short story or titles like "Collected Works," "Complete Works," or "Selected Works." Some records will list the stories contained in the collection.
Another way to locate short stories is to see if they are part of an anthology or other collection. Try a keyword search in the Libraries Catalog
edgar allan poe AND stories
tell tale heart
Recommend Print Resources
Short Story Index
Lockwood Library/Reference:Z 5917 .S5 C62 1974-
This annual publication indexes stories in periodicals and collection, and is arranged by author, title, and subject in one alphabet.
Afro-American Short Story: A Comprehensive, Annotated Index With Selected Commentaries
Lockwood Library/Reference:PS153.N39Y36 1986
This book provides both comprehensive cross-references to modern Afro-American short stories published from 1950-1982, and an analysis and commentary on modern fiction; an extensive guide to many of the stories published in anthologies, collections, and periodicals is also provided.
Chicorel Index to Short Stories in Anthologies and Collections
60,000 Short story entries from all nations throughout literary history, in English or translation, are listed.
Contemporary Chinese Novels and Short Stories, 1949-1974
Lockwood Library/Reference:PL2415.T78 1979
This annotated bibliography has author, title, and subject indexes.
Cuento Mexicano Index
Lockwood Library/Book Collection:Z1424.S54H63
Published in 1978, this index includes 7230 short stories by 490 Mexican authors born after 1870. Most of the stories are in Spanish, with a few in English.
Index to Best American Short Stories and O. Henry Prize Winners
Lockwood Library/Reference:Z1231.F4W52 1988
This is an index to two premier anthology series. Historical accounts of the origin, development, and the accomplishments of these two long-running short story anthologies are included.
Index to Spanish Language Short Stories in Anthologies
Lockwood Library/Reference:Z1609.L7 C351994
More than 200 anthologies published in Spanish America, Spain, and the United States have their contents listed here. Anthologies published from 1979 to 1994 are included, but stories written from the Middle Ages through modern times are represented.
Index to Translated Short Fiction by Latin American Women in English Language Anthologies
Lockwood Library/Book Collection:Z1609.F4I6 1997
This comprehensive volume presents listings of short stories and short fiction by Latin American women in translation; works appear in anthologies published between 1918 and 1996.
The Latin American Short Story: An Annotated Guide to Anthologies and Criticism
Lockwood Library/Reference:PQ7082.S5B35 1992
This bibliography includes anthologies of Latin American short stories. Latin America is defined as Spanish America, including the Spanish-speaking Caribbean and Brazil. Brief annotations are provided.
Locating Criticism and Interpretation
For criticism and interpretation about specific stories, do a subject search in the Libraries Catalog using the author's name and look for "Criticism and Interpretation" or "history and criticism"
poe, edgar allan
Another way to locate criticism on short stories is to do a keyword search in Libraries Catalog on the story or author:
edgar allan poe and criticism
tell tale heart and criticism
Recommended Print Resources
Short Story Criticism
This comprehensive source presents the most important published criticism of the world's major story writers. Biographical and bibliographical materials are provided.
Critical Survey of Short Fiction
Essays on important short story writers of the world from the beginnings of the short story to the present are the focus of this source. A cumulative author/title index is located in Volume 7.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Also Available online at: http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=122)
Lockwood Library/Reference:PS 128 .D5
This series contains biographical and critical essays on individual writers. Five volumes are devoted to writers of short fiction:
Vol. 74 American Short Story Writers before 1880
Vol. 78 American Short Story Writers, 1880-1910
Vol. 86 American Short Story Writers, 1910-1945 (First Series)
Vol. 102 American Short Story Writers, 1910-1945 (Second Series)
Vol. 130 American Short Story Writers Since World War II
Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism
Lockwood Library/Reference:PN 761 .N5 vol. 1-current
This multi-volume set contains excerpts from criticism of the works of creative writers who lived between 1800 and 1900, from the first published appraisals to current evaluations. Cumulative author and title indexes are located in the back of the last volume.
A Reader’s Companion to the Short Story in English
Lockwood Library/Reference:PS374.S5R43 2001
The volume begins with a detailed introduction to the short story genre and concludes with an annotated bibliography of major works on short story theory.
Reference Guide to Short Fiction
Lockwood Library/Reference:PN3373.R36 1999
Covering 376 writers of short stories and novellas, this selective guide contains biographical data and a bibliography for each writer, as well as critical essays on the entrant's short fiction.
Twentieth Century European Short Story
Lockwood Library/Reference:Z5917.S5M39 1989
General biographical and critical studies, as well as commentary on selected titles are included for each of the 32 European writers presented.
Twentieth Century Literature Criticism
Long excerpts from criticism of writers of the period 1900-1960 are presented in this set. Cumulative author and title indexes are located in the back of the last volume.
Twentieth-century Short Story explication:interpretations, 1900-1975, of short fiction since 1800
Silverman Library (Capen)/Science & Engineering Reference:Z5917.S5W33 1977
This bibliography leads to criticism of short fiction written after 1800. Supplements I-V brings the coverage to 1988. The index to this set is located at Lockwood Library/Reference:Z 5917 .S5 W332.
Twentieth Century Short Story Explication: New Series
Lockwood Library/Reference:Z5917.S5 W351993
Covering the years 1989-1994, this set leads to criticism of short fiction.
American Short-Fiction Criticism and Scholarship 1959-1977
Indexes criticism in books and journals; arranged by authors and subarranged by named work.
Black Short Story Anthology
Lockwood Library/Book Collection:PS 647 .N35 K5
Presents a collection of twenty-eight stories which reflect the thoughts of black writers on the destiny of their people.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Lockwood Library/Reference:PN 94 .C62
Also, online http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=107 Covers authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959. Each print volume in this long-standing series profiles approximately 6-8 novelists, poets, playwrights and other creative and nonfiction writers by providing full-text or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals.
Critical Survey of Short Fiction
Lockwood Library/Reference:PN 3373 .C7
Provides a list of short story author's principal collections, dates of publication, a biographical sketch, and a critical analysis of the author's works.
Reference Guide to Short Fiction
Lockwood Library/Reference:PN 3373 .R36 1999
Contains biographical and critical essays on writers of short fiction writing in English worldwide.
Short Story Writers
Lockwood Library/Book Collection:PN 3373 .S398 1997
Short story authors are covered in this three volume set. Each entry includes an illustration of the author, a list of principle short fiction, achievements, biography, analysis, and bibliography.
Recommended Online Databases
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Summaries of the lives and works of over 100,000 current writers in fiction, poetry, television, radio, general non-fiction, drama, and movies. Additional entries cover major 20th Century authors.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
Leads to full-text access to over 9,000 critical and biographical essays on British and American authors from all eras and genres.
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world; includes original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
Literature Resource Center
A complete literature reference database much of which is full text. Short story criticism is included.
MLA International Bibliography
The premier resource for locating information on topics in literature, language, linguistics and literary criticism.
A set of databases which provide access to full-text, fully searchable electronic versions of poetry, fiction, drama, and reference works, as well as links to additional relevant web resources, and selected secondary sources.
Select Internet Resources
A large collection of full text books, plays and short stories by authors such as Chekhov, Poe and Wodehouse.
Classic Short Stories
A collection of classic short fiction in English available for online reading. Includes a bibliography and a dictionary for the included stories.
Literary Resources on the Net
This award winning guide to American and English literature is an extensive jumping-off point to a wealth of literary materials on the Web. Use the simple search engine to locate your writer or browse the various categories.
IPL Online Literary Criticism Collection
Contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period.