Finding Images on the Web and in Print
- Starting Points
- Top Databases
- Image Search Engines
- Special Topic Image Collection Websites
- Find images in Books
Considered the most comprehensive image search on the Web, the Google search mechanism finds the most relevant quality images based on the user's search statement. Contains more than 880 million images! Advanced Image Search feature enables searchers to limit search queries by file size, file type, color, a specific Internet domain, etc.
Provides access to almost 1,000,000 digital images and metadata for teaching and research in art history, the humanities and across the disciplines, as well as the tools to make active use of these images. Among its collections are the Huntington Archive of Asian Art; the Museum of Modern Art Architecture and Design Collection ; the Mellon International Dunhuang Archive of murals and texts from Buddhist caves ; the National Gallery of Art Clarence Ward Image Collection; the Smithsonian Native American Art and Culture collection; Women in America; Hellenistic and Roman sculpture; the Art and Architecture of Islam; the Image of the Black in Western Art; the Andrew Dickinson White Collection (Cornell) of Architectural Photographs; and much more.
Funded by the Mellon Foundation, Artstor provides access to a large collection of digital images and data for teaching and research in art history, the humanities, and other disciplines. Currently includes almost 1,000,000 digital images and associated curatorial data, as well as the tools to make active use of these images. Among its outstanding collections are the Huntington Archive of Asian Art ; the Museum of Modern Art Architecture and Design Collection ; the Mellon International Dunhuang Archive of murals and texts from Buddhist caves ; and the Smithsonian Native American Art and Culture collection. Also included are Women in America; Hellenistic and Roman sculpture; the Art and Architecture of Islam; the Image of the Black in Western Art, and more.
Currently contains approximately 700,000 photos, since late 1995. Consists of several databases: Searchable by subject, date and location and sortable by relevancy or recency. Includes the International Photo Archive, Euro/Asian Photo Archive, Audio Database, Text Database , and Graphics Database.
Search by keyword AND "reproduction," or "illustration".
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is an international, multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals. Search by artist in or keyword in "cited reference".
In addition to image links to the Bridgeman Art Library , many articles in Grove Online are now illustrated with links to Art Resource , a fully searchable collection of significant images in art history and twentieth-century art. Grove also features related art image links to museum and gallery websites selected by the editors.
WorldCat is a mega-library catalog containing more than 55 million records contributed by 20,000 libraries around the world. It contains full bibliographic descriptions and cataloging information for books, serials, manuscripts, sound recordings, audiovisual materials, Helps to identify print sources that contain specific images. Contains over 55 million records of books and other materials held by more than 20,000 libraries worldwide. Search by keyword and "Illustration or photograph, etc.
Image Search Engines
Special Topic Image Collection Websites
- American Memory: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog( Library of Congress )
Contains images from US history and culture.
- LIFE photo archive hosted by Google
Searches the incredible millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive from the 1750s to the present, covering a wide range of topics and images from contemporary life. Most were never published and are now available through the joint work of LIFE Magazine and Google.
- Louvre: ATLAS: Database of works exhibited
Contains over 30,000 images including European paintings, sculpture, and objets d'Art, as well as Egyptian, Etruscan, Greek, Islamic, Asian, and Roman antiquities.
- George Eastman House Online Photography Collection
Includes more than 400,000 photographs and negatives dating from the invention of photography to the present day. Embraces landmark processes, objects of great rarity, and monuments of art history that trace the evolution of photography as a means of scientific and historical documentation, and as a potent and accessible means of personal expression. Represents more than 14,000 photographers, including virtually all the major figures in the history of photography.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art
Enables searching of the Met's online collection, which includes the entire Department of European Paintings, entire Department of American Paintings and Sculpture, the Provenance Research Project, and highlights from each of the Museum's other curatorial departments, as well as highlights from the Museum's libraries and from the database of the Antonio Ratti Textile Center.
- National Gallery of Art
Searchable by artist, title, subject. Location information is available for the objects on public display. Images may also include curatorial comments, details, and often bibliographies.
- New York Public Library (NYPL) Digital Gallery
Provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of NYPL, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more." Searchable by collection, such as art and literature, cities and buildings, industry and technology, and nature and science.
- Digital Collections
University at Buffalo interdisciplinary multi-media digital collections.
To Find Images in Books
The Libraries' Catalog is the catalog of materials in the University at Buffalo library collections, including books, videotapes, DVDs, audiotapes, audio CDs and other media.
To find images (illustrations, photographs, drawings, etc) in books, you can search the Libraries' Catalog or Worldcat and combine your topical keywords with words or phrases such as “pictorial works”, illustrations or ill, photographs, images, etc.:
New York and pictorial works (or photography or architecture, depending on what type of image you want). (This should follow keyword)
Subject phrase: New York (N.Y.)--Pictorial works
- picture dictionaries
New York and photography
New York and architecture
Finding Images on the Web
This outstanding guide by Boston University's Ruth Thomas helps users find pictures on the Internet and in print. It provides information on finding and capturing images; copyright; and search engines. Tips and links to images related to advertisements, arts, photography, sciences are also included.