- Web Resources
- Evidence Based Dentistry
- Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Government and Statistical Resources
- HSL Dentistry Blog
- Dental E-journals at HSL
- Journal of the American Dental Association
- Elizabeth Stellrecht, MLS, Clinical Librarian & School of Dental Medicine Liaison
- lizstellrecht (AIM)
- MEDLINE (Ovid) Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is the premier database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the pre-clinical sciences, indexing over 4000 journals from around the world.
- PubMed The National Library of Medicine produces MEDLINE, the premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. PubMed provides free access to all MEDLINE citations, in-process citations, out-of-scope citations from MEDLINE journals, and more.
- Web of Science is a collection of multidisciplinary databases which includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. All articles in Web of Science include the article's cited reference list (eg. bibliography). Searching for cited references often locates relevant articles that cannot be found through traditional searching techniques.
- Embase.com International coverage of the drug literature, with excellent support for searching by drug administration routes and by specific drug-related filters. Use this database to search Embase and MEDLINE simultaneously.
- Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Provides full-text article and topic reviews. EBMR is an excellent source for evidence-based dentistry researchers.
- ScienceDirect Provides access to an e-journal collection of scientific, technical and medical literature which includes dentistry journals.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text Comprehensive coverage of nursing and allied health journals, including journals of dental education, dental hygiene, and other allied dental health literature. Provides full text access to more than 560 journals.
- HUBNET Provides an array of electronic information resources in support of patient care, biomedical research, consumer health and educational programs at the University at Buffalo, area teaching hospitals and healthcare organizations throughout Western New York. HUBNET resources that may be of interest:
- Lexi-Comp Drug – Contains up-to-date drug information, dosage information, natural product information and drug toxicology information. Also provides specific drug impact information on dental treatment, including adverse effects.
- UpToDate – Designed to provide practical, concise information needed at the point of care, UpToDate provides evidence-based answers to commonly asked questions in clinical practice.
- Clinical Evidence – An evidence based support tool, that provides clinicians with access to current and most relevant medical knowledge for treatment decisions.
- Books @ Ovid – collection of 50+ e-books.
- Stat Ref – Online compilation of medical textbooks and references.
Evidence Based Dentistry
- Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Allows user to search simultaneously through seven evidence based medicine review databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, ACP Journal Club, and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects.
- American Dental Association's Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry Assists clinicians in identifying systematic reviews and provides appraisal of the evidence through critical summaries which also include implications for practice.
- Clinical Evidence Accessible through HUBNET, this is a great international source that provides evidenced based medicine information for treatment decisions and how to provide the best available care for patients.
- UpToDate Also available through HUBNET, this is a resource that has information about the most current clinical findings and is designed to answer every day questions that clinicians have about patient care. This resource does not have remote access.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse Public resource for evidenced-based clinical practice guidelines created by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, the American Medical Association, and the American Association of Health Plans. Includes links to some full text documents.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- American Dental Association Directory Public resource that lists basic information about individual dentists in the United States as well as provides information about careers in dentistry, oral health topics, and more.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
- Merck Manual Online Online medical textbook which contains several chapters pertaining to ear, nose, throat and dental disorders.
Government and Statistical Resources
- National Oral Health Surveillance System Collaboration of the Center for Disease Control and Association of State and Territorial Dental Disorders. Provides statistics of a variety of oral health indicators such as dental visits, teeth cleaning, complete tooth loss, floridation status, dental sealants and more.
- Fast Stats A to Z Oral and Dental Health Provides a quick look at national statistics for dental health
- Statistical Fact Sheet of Cancer of the Oral Cavity and Pharynx Provided by the National Cancer Institute.
- Fast Stats: Oral Cavity and Pharynx Cancer Also provided by the National Cancer Institute, this resource contains statistics on incidence, mortality, survival and state, prevalence, and lifetime risk. Statistics are broken down by age, race, and gender.
- National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research Statistics and Data
- New York State Oral Health Data Provides data concerning amount of oral health visits as well as occurrence of oral cancer in New York State.
- Synopses of State and Territorial Dental Health Programs Breaks down information and statistics by state concerning demographics, infrastructure, dental workforce, administration, and programs.
- World Health Organization Oral Health Resources Provides international data concerning oral health including oral health profiles by country and region, significant caries index, oral diseases and related factors, and more.
- American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry
- American Academy of Periodontology
- American Association of Endodonists
- American Association of Public Health Dentistry
- American Dental Association
- American Dental Student Association
- Holistic Dental Association
- National Dental Association
- New York State Dental Association