Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Shakespeare - A Research & Reference Guide


This guide lists sources that will help you begin research in the University at Buffalo Libraries and on the Internet. For additional assistance, Ask a Librarian.


Finding Books

Search UB Libraries Catalog to locate books on your topic

There are four basic ways to search the Catalog:

Keywords (use the Boolean operator "AND" to connect key terms)
Sample search: hamlet AND criticism

Title (omit initial articles such as ‘the' and ‘a')
Sample search: Cambridge companion to Shakespeare on film

Subjec (use Library of Congress subject headings)
Sample search: shakespeare , william , 1564-1616 -- adaptations

Author (last name, first)
sample search: bono , barbara

To browse in the book or reference collections for titles focusing on Shakespeare, look for call numbers within the range: PR 2750+

For more help searching the Catalog, see the Help section or Ask a Librarian for assistance.


Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Companions

All Things Shakespeare: An Encyclopedia of Shakespeare's World
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Reference:PR2892.O56 2002

Print Resource

The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare Studies
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Reference:PR2976.C29 1986

Print Resource

A Companion to Shakespeare's Works
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Reference:PR2976.C572 2006

Print Resource

Dictionary of the Characters and Proper Names in the Works of Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2892.S76

Print Resource

Dictionary of Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection: PR 2892. M398 2000

Print Resource

The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2892.O94 2001

Print Resource

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

UB ONLY

Pronouncing Shakespeare's Words: A Guide from A to Zounds
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR3081.C87 1998

Print Resource

The Riverside Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2754.E9 1997

Print Resource

Shakespeare A to Z
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Reference:PR2892.B691990

Print Resource

Shakespeare: A Study and Research Guide
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2894.B4 1987

Print Resource

Shakespeare Lexicon and Quotation Dictionary;a Complete Dictionary of all the English Words, Phrases, and Constructions in the Works of the Poet
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2892.S4 1971

Print Resource

The Shakespeare Name Dictionary
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Reference:PR2892.D33 1995

Print Resource

A Shakespeare Thesaurus
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2892.S63 1993

Print Resource

Shakespeare's Life and Times: A Pictorial Record
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2893.F78

Print Resource

Shakespeare's Words: A Glossary and Language Companion
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Reference:PR2892.C78 2002

Print Resource

Shakespeare's World and Work:an Encyclopedia for Students
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Reference:PR2892.S56 2001

Print Resource

Who's Who in Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2989.Q4 1995

Print Resource

Who's Who in Shakespeare's England
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Reference:DA317.W49 1981

Print Resource

Biographical Resources

The Genius of Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2937.B38 1998

Print Resource

Shakespeare: The World as a Stage
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR 2895.B79 2007

Print Resource

Who's Who in Shakespeare's England
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Reference:DA317.W49 1981

Print Resource

William Shakespeare: His Life and Times
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2894.K33 1995

Print Resource

Dictionary of Literary Biography

UB ONLY

Also do a subject search in the Libraries Catalog: Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Biography


Concordances

A Complete and Systematic Concordance to the Works of Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2892.S62

Print Resource

A Complete Concordance or Verbal Index to Words, Phrases, and Passages in the Dramatic Works of Shakespearewith a Supplementary Concordance to the Poems
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2892.B34 1966

Print Resource

Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare
http://collections.chadwyck.com/eas/htxview?template=basic.htx&content=frameset.htx

UB ONLY

The Harvard Concordance to Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Reference:PR2892.S62 1973

Print Resource

The Plays of William Shakespeare (Electronic Literature Foundation (ELF))
http://www.theplays.org/

PUBLIC

Finding Literary Criticism (Online Resources)

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)

UB ONLY

Literature Online

UB ONLY

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online

UB ONLY

Project MUSE

UB ONLY

JSTOR

UB ONLY

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

UB ONLY

Periodicals Index Online

UB ONLY

Finding Literary Criticism (Print Resources)

A Classified Shakespeare Bibliography, 1936-1958
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2892.S6

Print Resource

A Companion to Shakespeare's Works
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Reference:PR2976.C572 2006

Print Resource

The Essential Shakespeare : an Annotated Bibliography of Major Modern Studies
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2894.C53 1986

Print Resource

A Selective Bibliography of Shakespeare : Editions , Textual Studies , Commentary
LIBRARIES ANNEX/General Collection:PR2894.M23

Print Resource

Shakespeare: A Bibliographical Guide
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection PR2894.S43 1990

Print Resource

Shakespearean Criticism : Excerpts from the Criticism of William Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry, from the First Published appraisals to Current Evaluations
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Reference:PR2965.S43

Print Resource

Annual Surveys

Shakespeare Quarterly
LIBRARIES ANNEX/Non-Circulating Collection:PerPR2885.S63
Available electronically through Project Muse & JSTOR.

Print Resource

Shakespeare Studies
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2890.S42

Print Resource

Shakespeare Survey
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2890.N42

Print Resource

Electronic Editions/Primary Resources

Early English Books Online (EEBO)

UB ONLY

Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare
http://collections.chadwyck.com/eas/htxview?template=basic.htx&content=frameset.htx

UB ONLY

The First Folio of Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2751.A15 1995

Print Resource

The Riverside Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Book Collection:PR2754.E9 1997

Print Resource

Shakespeare Bookshelf

PUBLIC

Renascence Editions Shakespeare

PUBLIC

William Shakespeare, First Folio (hosted by Tufts University)

PUBLIC

Shakespeare Resources

PUBLIC

Plot Summaries

Masterplots
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY/Reference:PN44.M3 1996

Print Resource

Mr. William Shakespeare

PUBLIC

Production History

For information on the performance history of a play or on film adaptations, search the Libraries Catalog using a keyword search. Use the name of the play and the words production or stage history or adaptations

Sample keyword search : Macbeth AND (production OR stage history OR adaptations)


Additional Web Resources

The Folger Shakespeare Library

PUBLIC

Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet

PUBLIC

The Plays of William Shakespeare (Electronic Literature Foundation (ELF))

PUBLIC

Shakespeare Illustrated

PUBLIC

Voice of the Shuttle– William Shakespeare

PUBLIC

Sixteenth Century Renaissance English Literature (1485-1603)

PUBLIC

Shakespeare: Literature Online Reference Page

UB ONLY

Encyclopedia Britannica’s Guide to Shakespeare

UB ONLY

Selected Sources

Examples of Sources in the Special Collections Research Library, 420 Capen Hall

1. Bacon, Francis. Sylva sylvarum: or, A naturall history. In ten centuries. London: Printed by J. Haviland for William Lee, 1639.

2. Bartholomaeus. Batman uppon Bartholome: his booke De proprietatibus rerum, newly corrected, enlarged and ammended: with such additions as are requisite, unto every several booke: taken foorth of the most approved authors, the like heretofore not translated in English. Profitable for all estates, as well for the benefite of the mind as the bodie. London: Thomas East, 1582.

3. Brathwait, Richard. Essaies upon the five senses: revived by a new supplement; with a pithy one upon detraction. Continued with sundry Christian resolves, and divine contemplations ... London: Printed by Anne Griffin, and to bee sold by Henry Shephard, 1635.

4. Burton, Robert. In three maine partitions with their seuerall sections, members and svbsections. Philosophically, medicinally, historically, opened and cvt vp…The anatomy of melancholy, vvhat it is. vvith all the kindes, caveses, symptomes, prognostickes, and severall cvres of it… By Democritvs Iunior [pseud.] With a satyricall preface, conducing to the following discourse. Macrob. omne meum, nihil meum. Oxford: Printed by Iohn Lichfield and lames Short, for Henry Cripps, 1621.

5. Church of England. Certaine sermons or homilies appointd to be read in chvrches: in the time of the late Queene Elizabeth of famous memory. And now thought fit to bee reprinted by authority from the Kings most excellent Maiestsie. London: Printed by Iohn Bill, printer to the Kings most excellent Maiestsie, 1623.

6. Cleland, James. Hero-paideia: or The institution of a young noble man. Oxford: Printed by Joseph Barnes, 1607.

7. Cowell, John. The interpreter, or, Booke containing the signification of words : wherein is set foorth the true meaning of all, or the most part of such words and termes, as are mentioned in the lawe vvriters, or statutes of this victorious and renowned kingdome, requiring any exposition or interpretation. A worke not onely profitabel, but necessary for such as desire thoroughly to be instructed in the knowledge of our lawes, statutes, or other antiquities. Cambridge: Printed by Iohn Legate, 1607.

8. Crooke, Helkiah. Mikrokosmographia: A description of the body of man ... Collected and translated out of all the best authors of anatomy, expecially Gaspar Bauhinus and Andreas Laurentius. London: Printed by W. Iaggard, 1618.

9. Daniel, Samuel. The Whole Workes of Samvel Daniel Esquire in Poetrie. [Ornament] London, Printed by Nicholas Okes, for Simon Waterson, and are to be sold at his shoppe in Paules Church-yard, at the Signe of the Crowne, 1623.

10. Descartes, René. Renatus Des-Cartes Excellent compendium of musick: with necessary and judicious animadversions thereupon…By a person of honour. London: Printed by T. Harper, for H. Moseley, 1653.

11. Drayton, Michael. Poly-Olbion, or A chorographicall description of tracts, riuers, mountaines, forests, and other parts of this renowned Isle of Great Britaine : with intermixture of the most remarquable stories, antiquities, wonders, rarityes, pleasures and commodities of the same… London: Printed by H.L. for Mathew Lownes, I. Browne, I. Helme, and I. Busbie, 1613-1622.

12. Foxe, John. The ecclesiasticall historie : conteyning the acts and monvments of martyrs, with a generall discourse of these latter persecutions, horrible troubles and tumultes, stirred vp by Romish prelates in the church, with diuers other things incident, especially to this realme of England and Scotland, as partly also to all other forreine nations appertaining, from the time of King Henry the VIII to Queene Elizabeth our gracious ladie now reigning. London: Printed by P. Short, 1597. 2 vols.

13. Gainsford, Thomas. The glory of England: or, A trve description of many excellent prerogatiues and remarkable blessings, whereby she triumpheth ouer all the nations in the world: with a justifiable comparison betweene her selfe, and the eminent kingdomes of the earth, plainely manifesting the defects of them all in regard of her sufficiency, and fulnesse of happinesse. London: Printed for Thomas Dewe,1622.

14. Gesner, Konrad. The practise of the new and old phisicke, wherein is contained the most excellent secrets of phisicke and philosophie, deuided into foure bookes. In the which are the best approued remedies for the diseases as well inward as outward, of al the parts of mans body: treating very amplie of al distillations of waters, of oyles, balmes, quintessences, with the extraction of artificiall saltes, the vse and preparation of antimony, and potable gold gathered out of the best & most approued authors…London: Peter Short, 1599.

25. Guillemeau, Jacques. Child-birth; or, The happy deliverie of women: Together with the diseases, which happen to women ... and the meanes to helpe them. To which is added, a treatise of the diseases of infants ... with the cure of them ... London: A. Hatfield, 1612.

26. J. B. (John Bulwer). Anthropometamorphosis: man transform'd: or, The artificiall changling. London: Printed by W. Hunt, 1653.

27. Lowe, Peter. A discourse of the whole art of chyrurgerie… Wherein is exactly set downe the definition, causes, accidents, prognostications, and cures of all sorts of diseases, both in generall and particular, which at any time heretofore have been practized by any chirurgion: according to the opinion of all the ancient professors of that science ... London: Printed by Thomas Purfoot, 1612.

28. May, Thomas. The tragedie of Cleopatra queen of Ægypt. London, Printed by the Thomas Harper for Thomas Walkly, 1639.

29. Nicolay, Nicolas. The nauigations, peregrinations and voyages: made into Turkie by Nicholas Nicholay Daulphinois, lord of Arfeuile ... conteining sundry singularities which the author hath there seene and obserued: deuided into foure bookes, with threescore figures, naturally set forth as well of men as women, according to the diuersitie of nations ... London: Imprinted by T. Dawson, 1585.

30. Palmer, Thomas. An essay of the meanes hovy to make our trauailes, into forraine countries, the more profitable and honourable. London: Imprinted, by H. [umphrey] L. [ownes] for Mathew Lwones, 1606.

31. Plutarch. The lives of the noble Grecians and Romains, compared together by that grave learned philosopher and historiographer Plutarch of Chæronea: Translated out of Greeke into French by Iames Amiot ... with the lives of Hannibal and Scipio African: translated out of Latine into French by Charles del' Escluse, and out of French into English, by Sir Thomas North knight. Hereunto are also added the lives of Epaminondas, of Philip of Macedon, of Dionysius the elder, tyrant of Sicilia, of Augustus Cæsar, of Plutarch, and of Seneca: with the lives of nine other excellent chieftaines of warre: collected out of Æmylius Probus, by S.G.S. and Englished by the aforesaid translator. London, Printed by G. Miller, and are to be sold by R. Allott, 1631.

32. Prynne, William. Histrio-Mastix: The Players Scovrge, or, Actors Tragædie, Divided into Two Parts. Wherein it is largely evidenced, by divers Arguments, by the concurring Authorities and Resolutions of sundry texts of Scripture, of the whole Primitive CHurch, both under the Law and Gospell; of 55 Synodes and Councels; of 71 Fathers and Christian Writers, before the yeare of our Lord 1200 ... London: Printed by E.A. and W.I. for Michael Sparke, and are to be sold at the blue Bible, in Greene Arbour, in little Old Bayly. 1633.

33. Purchas, Samuel. Pvrchas his Pilgrimage. Or, Relations of the world and the religions observed in all ages and places discouered, from the creation unto this present. In foure partes. This first containeth a theologicall and geographicall historie of Asia, Africa, and America, with the ilands adiacent. Declaring the ancient religions before the flovd, the heathnish, Jewish, and Saracenicall in all ages since... By Samuel Pvrchas. 1st ed. London, Printed by W. Stansby for H. Fetherstone, 1613.

34. Rainolds, John. The overthrow of stage-playes: by the way of controversie betwixt D. Gager and D. Rainoldes, wherein all the reasons that can be made for them are notably refuted; the objections answered, and the case so cleared and resolved, as that the judgement of any man, that is not froward and perverse, may easilie bee satisfied… Oxford: Printed by Iohn Lichfield for E. Forrest and W. Webbe, 1629.

35. Remmelin, Johann. A survey of the microcosme; or, The anatomy of the bodies of man and woman. Wherein the skin, veins, arteries, nerves, muscles, viscera, bones, and ligaments thereof are accurately delineated, and so disposed by pasting, as that all parts of the said bodies, both internal and external, are exactly represented in their proper site. Useful for all physicians, chyrurgeons, statuaries, painters, &c… London: D. Midwinter and T. Leigh, 1702.

36. Rosselli, Giovanne de. Epulario, or, The Italian banquet: wherein is shewed the maner how to dresse and prepare all kind of flesh, foules or fishes: as also how to make sauces, tartes, pies, &c., after the maner of all countries with an addition of many other profitable and necessary things. London: Printed by A.I. for William Barley, 1598.

37. Tomkis, Thomas. Lingva: or, The combat of the tongue, and the fiue senses for superiority: A pleasant comœdie. London: Printed by Nicholas Okes, for Simon Waterson, 1617.

38. Vesalius, Andreas. De humani corporis fabrica libri septem. Basileae: [Ex officina I. Oporini, 1543].

Citing Resources

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
LOCKWOOD Reference LB2369.G53 2003

Print Resource

How to Create an MLA Works Cited Page

PUBLIC

How to Create MLA Parenthetical Citations

PUBLIC

Frequently Asked Questions about MLA Style

PUBLIC

Citation Style Software

EndNote Citation Management Software

UB ONLY