Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Children's and Young Adult Literature: Selected Sources



Starting Points

Literature Resource Center
An excellent first stop for identifying books or authors, or finding critical information. Includes full articles from journals and reference books, and links to suggested websites. Search by a specific title or author, of browse the "Authors by Type" feature and then limit to genres for children or young adults. Select "Research Guide" to learn more about the literary research process.

UB ONLY


Libraries' Catalog
Search the Catalog by keyword or subject to identify materials in the UB Libraries. Sample searches:

Subject: childrens literature
Subject: young adult literature
Subject: young adult fiction
Subject: children-books and reading
Subject: teenagers-books and reading
Subject: preteens-books and reading
Keyword: juvenile and criticism

Browse the subheadings and related subjects to locate additional information. Subheadings like "Bibliography" and "History and Criticism" are very useful.

UB ONLY


The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English
LOCKWOOD Reference PR 990 .C36 2001

An A-to-Z Reference of children's books written in English from pre-Norman times to 2000. Entries are included for authors, titles, topics and technical terms.

PRINT RESOURCE


The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
LOCKWOOD Reference PN 1008.5 .O94 2006

Includes over 3,200 entries covering all aspects of children's literature from the Medieval period to the 21st century on an international scale.

PRINT RESOURCE


Something About the Author (SATA)
LOCKWOOD Reference PN 451 .S6 1971 to present
PRINT RESOURCE


Best Books for Children: Preschool Through Grade 6
LOCKWOOD Reference Z 1037 .G48 2010

PRINT RESOURCE


Best Books for Middle School and Junior High Readers: Grades 6-9
LOCKWOOD Reference Z 1037 .G482 2009

PRINT RESOURCE


Best Books for High School Readers: Grades 9-12
LOCKWOOD Reference Z 1037 .G4816 2009
PRINT RESOURCE


Popular Series Fiction for K-6 Readers: a Reading and Selection Guide
LOCKWOOD Reference Z 1037 .T4654 2009
PRINT RESOURCE


Beyond Picture Books: Subject Access to Best Books for Beginning Readers
LOCKWOOD Book Collection 1037 .B278 2008

Browse in the PN 1008, PR 990, Z 1037 and Z 1200 sections of the LOCKWOOD Reference collection to locate additional materials.


Books

The majority of UB Libraries' books selected for children and young adults are located in the LOCKWOOD Juvenile Collection on the Basement level of Lockwood Memorial Library. Award-winning books are added to the collection regularly and are available for browsing by all library users, and for borrowing by UB students, faculty and staff. Search UB Libraries Catalog by author or title to locate specific books or try keyword searches to identify titles. Sample searches:

Title: goodnight moon
Author: hodgson frances burnett
Subject: picture books
Keyword: and juvenile, Examples:
biography and juvenile
anne frank and juvenile
Keyword: picture books and juvenile
Keyword: juvenile fiction

The Goldsman Collection of Literature for Boys - Special Collections, University Libraries

A gift to Special Collections from Beverly Goldsman, this collection contains approximately 550 monographic and serial publications issued in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Included in the collection are the Frank Merriwell, Nick Carter, Rover Boys and Ted Strong adventure stories; the Horatio Alger, Jr., series; and long runs of many adventure story publications issues in serial format. Search UB Libraries Catalog by author using "Goldsman Collection of Literature for Boys" to see the complete list of titles in the collection. Materials are available in the University Libraries Special Collections department for in-house use. See the University Archives website for hours and other information.

 

Books about Children's and Young Adult Literature

UB Libraries Catalog
Search by subject or keyword to locate books of criticism or about the history of children's and young adult literature. Most of the books are located in the LOCKWOOD Book Collection.


Articles and Reviews

Literature Resource Center

UB ONLY


Library Literature & Information Science Full-Text

UB ONLY


Book Review Index
LOCKWOOD Reference (Index Area) Z 1219 .B6 1965 to present

PRINT RESOURCE


Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
LOCKWOOD Periodicals Z 1037 .A1 C4 Cancelled 9/09+ v.38 (1984)-v.44 (1990/1991), v.45:no.1 (1991:Sept.)-
v.45:no.6 (1992:Feb), v.45:no.8 (1992:Apr.)-v.45:no.11 (1992:July/Aug.), v.46 (1992/1993)-v.62 (2008/2009)
LIBRARIES ANNEX Non-Circulating Per Z 1037 .A1 C4 v.12 (1958)-v.17 (1963/1964), v.20 (1966)-v.37 (1983/1984)

Online through Project Muse: 2005 to present

PRINT RESOURCE


Children's Bookwatch Index (Midwest Book Review)
http://www.midwestbookreview.com/cbw/index.htm

PRINT RESOURCE


Additional Websites

These websites offer a wide range of information about children's and young adult literature, including award winners, criticism, compilations, recommendations, reviews and commentaries.