EngiNet Library Guide
Students enrolled in EngiNet TM distance education courses through the University at Buffalo are entitled to use UB Libraries resources and services for research and coursework. You can come directly to the Libraries to retrieve books, copy articles, search databases, access course reserve readings, or request interlibrary loans. You can also obtain many of these resources and services online from your home or office by following the instructions in this guide.
Connecting from Off-Campus
The UB Libraries have adopted Internet tools and technologies to provide you with convenient electronic access to a wide range of library resources and services. You can connect to our website via the Internet at http://library.buffalo.edu/. For help with making the connection from off-campus, consult our guide Log In Help - Remote Access to Library Resources. To take full advantage of the UB Libraries' resources, you will need a UBITName account.
Electronic Resources for Research
The best place to start when doing online research in engineering are the engineering resources by subject pages, which list and link to online databases, journals, and books.
To link to the full complement of research databases that the University at Buffalo Libraries provides access to, consult the Resources by Subject main page.
Electronic Course Reserves
The reserve readings for your course may be available online via the UB Libraries Course Reserves System.
For EngiNet instructors who wish to place articles online for their students' easy access, see Course Reserve Guidelines for Instructors.
Retrieving Books from Our Collections
We encourage you to first check out our various electronic book services through the following databases:
- Knovel E-Books: Science and Engineering
Full-text access to over 1000 science and engineering books. Many of the books are enhanced with interactive tables and graphs.
- CRCnetBASE - formerly ENGnetBASE
Online collection of several hundred engineering books published by CRC Press.
- Synthesis Digital Library of Engineer & Computer Science
Online collection of several hundred “born digital” books on cutting-edge topics in engineering.
- Ebook Library (EBL)
EBL provides 24/7, multi-user access to an online collection of books in a wide range of subject areas, including engineering and technology. Titles can be browsed, read online, downloaded to a PC or laptop, or transferred to a variety of devices.
You can also search the UB Libraries' Catalog to expand your search for books in our collections. The catalog record for a book will tell you which library at UB owns the book, the book's call number, and whether or not the book is currently checked out to someone.
We cannot send you books in the mail, so to retrieve these from our collections you must come to campus. Your UBCard, described above, is also your library card and you must present it to check out books. It is not enough to know your 14-digit library number. You must be able to present your UBCard at the circulation desk to charge out books.
Although you must come to campus to pick up your books, you may renew them online up to three times--as long as the book you're renewing is not overdue and no one else has placed a recall on it. To renew your books online, log-on to My Account using your UBITname and password.
It may be there is another library near you that has the book you need. UB students can use the libraries of other SUNY schools including the CUNY schools in New York City, or your local public library might have the book you need. To use other SUNY system libraries, you must have a UBCard. Before visiting another library, we recommend that you first check to see if the book you need is there by searching that library's catalog. Most libraries' catalogs are available online. To connect to the catalogs of other libraries, here are a few helpful links:
- Western & Central New York / Southern Ontario Libraries
- SUNY Union Catalog (including the catalogs of Binghamton, Albany, and Stony Brook).
- LibDex - Library Catalogs Worldwide
We encourage you to e-mail us your reference questions by sending them to firstname.lastname@example.org and we will get back to you with an answer within 24 hours, Monday through Friday.
Or log-on to the University Libraries' Instant Librarian for real-time reference assistance online available on a 24/7 basis.