Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Statistics Sources: Popular Topics


 


Aging

AgingStats.Gov (Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics)
http://www.agingstats.gov/
Presents nearly 40 indicators that deal with senior citizens concerns pertaining to population, economics, and health.


Agriculture

Agriculture (University at Buffalo. University Libraries. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/busdoc/agriculture.html
Lockwood Librarians suggest what they believe are the most useful sources.

National Agricultural Statistical Service (NASS) (U.S. Department of Agriculture)
http://www.nass.usda.gov/
NASS conducts hundreds of surveys and publishes reports covering all aspects of agricultural production and supply. Browse for data by subjects, such as crops, demographics, economics, the environment, livestock, and education. Additional data include state and county summaries, links to news releases and publications, and the Census of Agriculture.

USDA Economics and Statistics Division (Cornell University. Albert R. Mann Library)
http://usda.mannlib.cornell.edu/
Contains nearly 300 reports and statistical datasets pertaining to agriculture.


Budget

Government Budgets, Finances, Expenditures, and Employment Government Resources (University at Buffalo. University Libraries. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/busdoc/finances.html
Lockwood Librarians suggest what they believe are the most useful sources.


Business

Economics-current data

Economics-historical data


 

Children and families

Bureau of the Census
http://www.census.gov/
Select "Children" and "Families/Household and Families Data" under the Subjects A - Z option to view statistics about day care; child support; poverty; health insurance; living arrangements; and marital status.

ChildStats.gov (Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics)
http://childstats.gov/
A collaboration of information from nearly 20 federal agencies that collect and analyze data relevant to children and families.


Crime and justice

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) (U.S. Department of Justice)
http://bjs.ojp.usdoj.gov/
BJS is the primary statistical source for criminal justice in the U.S. It collects, analyzes, and describes data about crime, victims, and justice at all levels of government.

Criminal Justice Statistics (New York State. Division of Criminal Justice Services)
http://criminaljustice.state.ny.us/crimnet/ojsa/stats.htm
Measures adult arrests; dispositions of adult felonies, and crime indexes by counties. Links lead to the Crime and Justice Annual Reports that include data about crimes reported; arrests and arrest processing; felony indictments; and law enforcement personnel.

Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice: Selected Resources (University at Buffalo. University Libraries. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/busdoc/law_justice.html
Lockwood Librarians suggest what they believe are the most useful sources.


Demographics

American FactFinder (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
http://factfinder2.census.gov
Reproduces data from the 1990 and 2000 Censuses of Population and Housing; the American Community Survey; and the Annual Population Estimates program.

Census Resources: Government Resources (University at Buffalo. University Libraries. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/busdoc/census.html

Lockwood Librarians suggest what they believe are the most useful sources.


Economics-current data

Economic Statistics: Government Resources (University at Buffalo. University Libraries. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/busdoc/econdocs.html
Lockwood Librarians suggest what they believe are the most useful sources.

International Economic and Social Statistics


Economics-historical data

Historical U.S. Data (Time Series) (University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/busdoc/econhist.html
Lockwood Librarians suggest what they believe are the most useful sources.


Education

Education: Government Resources (University at Buffalo. University Libraries. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/guide/guide.asp?ID=6
Lockwood Librarians suggest what they believe are the most useful sources.

National Center for Education Statistics (U.S. Department of Education)
http://nces.ed.gov/
The statistical producing agency within the Education Department. Examples of key reports are at http://nces.ed.gov/surveys/AnnualReports/.

Use the NCES Electronic Catalog and On-line Library (http://nces.ed.gov/pubsearch/) to locate publications and data products through customized searches.

NYS School Report Cards (New York State Department of Education. Office of Elementary, Middle, Secondary, and Continuing Education)
http://www.emsc.nysed.gov/repcrd2002/home.html
School District Report cards describe student performances on standardized tests. Data are summarized by districts and individual schools.

School District Information (New York State Department of Education. Office of Elementary, Middle, Secondary, and Continuing Education)
http://www.emsc.nysed.gov/resources/
Topics include directories to superintendents, charter schools, and public and non-public schools; district budgets; school report cards, state aid by school districts, and live births by school districts.

 


Energy

Energy: Government Resources (University at Buffalo. University Libraries. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/busdoc/energy.html
Lockwood Librarians suggest what they believe are the most useful sources.

Energy Information Administration (EIA) (U.S. Department of Energy)
http://www.eia.doe.gov
EIA is the US Department of Energy office charged with developing and analyzing energy statistics. Data include an overview of trends, plus specific topics, such as petroleum; natural gas; coal; nuclear power; electricity; renewable and alternate fuels; the environment; and forecasts. Although most information deals with the US, tables and comprehensive essays also analyze trends in countries throughout the world. Additional sections deal with energy users; finance; historical statistics; prices; state data; children's resources; press releases; and links to related Web pages. Current EIA Publications are listed at http://www.eia.doe.gov/bookshelf.html.

Energy A-Z: Energy Topics (U.S. Department of Energy. Energy Information Administration)
http://www.eia.gov/tools/a-z/index.cfm
Provides quick reference statistics and facts on over 100 topics.


Foreign Countries

Current National Statistical Compendiums (Congressional Information Service, Inc.)
Capen Multimedia Center Ref HA 154 C8 (Bibliographic Guide)
Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche HA 154 C8
Statistical Compendiums are excellent sources of social, economic and demographic data for the countries. These sources are comparable to the US Statistical Abstract. The microfiche collection includes more than 150 countries. The time coverage varies from country to country, some going back to the late 70's and early 80's, though reports may not be available for every year.

The Libraries Catalog indexes this collection. Do a keyword search for the country name and the phrase statistical compendiums to determine if a particular country is part of the collection. (i.e., Kenya and statistical compendiums)

International Economic and Social Statistics (University at Buffalo. University Libraries. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/busdoc/econintl.html
An extensive guide to statistical resources covering nations throughout the world.


Foreign trade

International Trade: Government Resources (University at Buffalo. University Libraries. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/busdoc/intl_trade.html#stat
Lockwood Librarians suggest what they believe are the most useful sources.

International Trade Statistics Yearbook (United Nations)
Lockwood HF 91 U473 (1983+; most recent in Reference)
Presents summarized foreign trade data for countries throughout the world by nations and by commodities.

UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade) (UN Statistics Division)
http://comtrade.un.org/
Provides trade statistics for all nations and their trading partners.

USA Trade Online (U.S. Department of Commerce. Economics & Statistics Administration)
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/USA_TradeOnline.html
Provides detailed import and export statistics for American trade with the rest of the world. This database is password protected. Consult a librarian at Lockwood Library's reference desk for access.


Health

Health: Selected Resources (University at Buffalo. University Libraries. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/busdoc/health.htm

Lockwood Librarians suggest what they believe are the most useful sources.

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/
NCHS is the nation's primary agency for compiling and publishing health statistics.

Vital Statistics of New York State (New York State. Department of Health)
http://www.health.state.ny.us/nysdoh/vital_statistics/index.htm
Contains statistical tables, many broken down to the county level, for population; births; pregnancies; abortions; causes of death; marriages; and divorces. Also includes county, city, and village profiles.


History

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online (Cambridge University Press)
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=206
Reproduces over 37,000 statistical series from over 1,000 sources.

International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, & Oceania, 1750-1993. 3rd ed. New York: MacMillan Reference, 1998.
Lockwood Reference HA 4675 M552 1998

International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-1993. 4th ed. New York: Macmillan Reference, 1998.
Lockwood Reference HA 1107 M5 1998

International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750-1993. 4th ed. New York: Macmillan Reference, 1998.
Lockwood Reference HA 175 M55 1998


Labor

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) (U.S. Department of Labor)
http://www.bls.gov
BLS is the federal government primary agency that collects and disseminates data about the labor force and prices.

Labor: Selected Resources (University at Buffalo. University Libraries. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/busdoc/labor.html
Lockwood Librarians suggest what they believe are the most useful sources.

Labor Statistics (New York State. Department of Labor)
http://www.labor.ny.gov/stats/index.shtm
Links to wage statistics; jobs in demand; employment and unemployment; affirmative action for the entire state and regions; publications; and an A-Z index.


Public Opinion Polls and Surveys

PollingReport.com (POLLING REPORT, INC.)
http://www.pollingreport.com/
Summarizes trends in American public opinion.  Browse for information by topics or search keywords. 

Rasmussen Reports (Rasmussen Reports, LLC)
http://www.rasmussenreports.com/
An independent media group that collects, publishes, and distributes public opinion research.  Daily presidential approval numbers, commentary, videos, and press releases are gratis.  Subscribers have access to additional information.


Prices

ACCRA Cost of Living Index: Comparative Data for 300 Urban Areas (American Chamber of Commerce Researchers Association)
Lockwood Reference HD 6983 I58 (1992+ with gaps; most recent in reference)
Provides retail prices paid for goods. Data prepared by the Bureau of Labor Statistics are indexes, not actual prices. For example, suppose today's consumer price index for rent is 125. People are paying 25% more for rent today as compared to the base period (100). This reflects neither what people are actually paying for rent today, nor during the base period.

Overview of BLS Statistics on Inflation and Consumer Spending (U.S. Department of Labor. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
http://www.bls.gov/bls/inflation.htm
Links to Bureau of Labor Statistics programs that measure inflation; and consumer, producer, import and export prices.