Statistics Sources: Portals, General Sources, and Indexes
Portals, General Sources, and Indexes
C-SPAN's America by the Numbers (C-SPAN)
View C-SPAN's "America by the Numbers" series that features interviews with key people who deal with federal government statistical programs. Selected topics cover the census, energy, health, agriculture, and economics.
Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR is the largest data archive in the world. It collects numeric data from researchers, governments, and other institutions throughout the world, and makes the information available to people at member institutions. This information is primarily raw data that requires knowledge of statistical software, such as SPSS or SAS. Contact Leslie McCain, UB's ICPSR representative, to access data files. (645-3102 or firstname.lastname@example.org ) Leslie will download the files and place them on a local server.
Social Science Data Search (University of California, Berkeley)
Searches over 800 academic, government, and non-profit Web sties that offer tables and datasets. Topics cover the social sciences; health; developing countries; and energy, natural resources, and the environment.
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau is the most prolific statistical publisher in the federal government. Select "Subjects AZ" or options for People, Business, and Geography to retrieve data by topics. Additional links lead to lists of online publications and the Bureau's catalog.
FedStats (Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy)
A one-stop shopping mall for statistics published by the federal government. FedStats covers agencies whose statistical activities are at least $500,000. Separate sections include:
- Topic Links A-Z: A list of hundreds of topics.
- MapStats: Provides socioeconomic profiles of states and counties.
- Agencies Listed Alphabetically and Agencies by Subjects: Both summarize key statistics and offer contact information.
- Data Access Tools: Links to selective databases.
- Press Releases.
- Kids' Pages.
FedStats also includes a search engine, but it is not a very good one. Use ProQuest Statistical Insignt for better indexing.
USA.gov: Data and Statistics General Reference Sources (U.S. General Services Administration. Office of Citizen Services and Communications. Federal Citizen Information Center)
(Formerly called FirstGov)
USA.gov is a general information portal for the federal government. Select "Data & Statistics" along the left hand bar to access relevant information. Topics pertain to aging; children and families; County and City Data Book ; economic indicators; geography; health; labor; transportation; the census; and the Statistical Abstract .
Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970 (U.S. Census Bureau)
HA 202 A385 (Available in reference areas in Lockwood, Undergraduate/Science and Engineering, Architecture and Environmental Planning, and Law Libraries)
CD-ROM available on a Lockwood Reference computer.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (U.S. Census Bureau)
(The Census Bureau discontinued publication as of 2012 edition due to budget cuts. ProQuest will continue its publication online.)
Lockwood HA 202 (1894+ with gaps; 1946+ with gaps in Reference)
Lockwood Documents US C3.134: (1970+ with gaps)
Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche HA195 .U5 1972 fiche 3095-96 (1878-1945)
The Statistical Abstract is the single most significant reference source that summarizes U.S. statistics.
- Accommodation, Food, & Other Services
- Arts, Recreation, & Travel
- Banking, Finance, & Insurance
- Births, Deaths, Marriages, & Divorces
- Business Enterprise
- Construction & Housing
- Energy & Utilities
- Federal Gov’t Finances & Employment
- Foreign Commerce & Aid
- Forestry, Fishing, and Mining
- Geography & Environment
- Health & Nutrition
- Income, Expenditures, Poverty, & Wealth
- Information & Communications
- International Statistics
- Labor Force, Employment, & Earnings
- Law Enforcement, Courts, & Prisons
- National Security & Veterans Affairs
- Puerto Rico & the Island Areas
- Science & Technology
- Social Insurance & Human Services
- State & Local Gov’t Finances & Employment
State and Local Statistics
County and City Data Book (U.S. Census Bureau)
(The Census Bureau discontinued its publication with the 2007 edition due to budget cuts.)
http://www2.lib.virginia.edu/ccdb/ (1944-2000 through the University of Virginia)
Lockwood Documents US C 3.134/ 2: C 83/ 2 (1952+)
Capen Multimedia Center US CD-ROM 198: C 3.134/ 2-1: (1994+)
Presents data for states, counties, and cities of at least 25,000 population. Topics cover population; race; household characteristics; births and deaths; education; labor and income; manufacturing; farming; wholesale and retail trades; and government programs and finances.
Consult the following for related information:
- County and City Extra in Lockwood Reference HA 203 C68 2002 (Gaquin, Deidre A. and Katherine De Brandt. Lanham:MD., 2002)
- USA Counties
MapStats: United States (Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy)
Retrieve data for the nation, states, federal judicial districts, Congressional districts, counties, and cities. Data measure population; race; education; household characteristics; income; poverty; employment; businesses; manufacturing; retail sales and construction.
Consult the following for related information:
New York Profiles: Collections of Recent Demographic, Social, Economic and Agricultural Data (Cornell University. Program on Applied Demographics)
Provides demographic and socioeconomic profiles of New York State counties, sub-county areas, and Native American areas.
New York State Statistical Yearbook . (State University of New York. Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government)
Lockwood HA 541 A27 (1967+with gaps; most recent in Reference)
Lockwood Documents NY BUD 955-3 NEWYS (1968/1969+ with gaps)
Arch/Plan Book Collection HA541 .A27 (1999+)
A compendium of statistical data about New York State. Topics pertain to population; business and economics; elections; government finance; banking and insurance; crime; housing; education; health and human services; energy and utilities; transportation; agriculture; and the environment. An appendix describes key statistical resources of major agencies. The online version, which begins with the 2002 issue, includes pdf and spreadsheet files.
Stats America (Indiana University. Kelly School of Business. Indiana Business Research Center)
Retrieve summarized data about economics, education, income, taxation, population and housing, and the workforce for states, metropolitan areas, and counties. Select the Tools tab to measure distress levels and the innovation tab to measure innovation among states and counties.
USA Counties (U.S. Census Bureau)
Provides access to over 6,600 data items pertaining to counties.
Consult the following for related information:
CANSIM (Statistics Canada)
E-STAT (Statistics Canada)
Access statistical tables covering all aspects of Canadian society.
Eurostat (European Union)
Eurostat is the European Union's centralized statistical agency. View preconfigured tables, develop customized tables, or view pdf copies of statistical publications.
International Financial Statistics (International Monetary Fund)
CD-ROM available in Lockwood Reference area.
Provides financial and economic data for nearly 200 nations throughout the world. Retrieve information covering 1948 to date by months, quarters, and or years. An annual printed version is at Lockwood HG3881 .I5762 (1979+; most recent in Reference), and a monthly printed edition is at Lockwood Per HG3881 .I626 (1948+).
International Historical Statistics
B.R. Mitchell edited 3 volumes on:
- International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, & Oceania, 1750-1993 . 3rd ed. New York: MacMillan Reference, 1998.
Lockwood Reference HA 4675 M552 1998
- International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-1993 . 4th ed. New York: Macmillan Reference, 1998.
Lockwood Reference HA 1107 M5 1998
- International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750-1993 . 4th ed. New York: Macmillan Reference, 1998.
Lockwood Reference HA 175 M55 1998
Statistics Canada is the Canadian government's centralized statistical agency. Thousands of Statistics Canada documents are cataloged in BISON.
United Nations Common Database
Reproduces socioeconomic statistics covering most nations. Selected data sources include the United Nations (UN), International Labour Office (ILO), the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), and World Health Organization (WHO).
World Development Indicators (World Bank)
Lockwood Reference- permanently loaded on a Reference Department computer.
Lockwood HC59.69 .S63 (1998+; latest in Reference)
Covers 800 statistical indicators for 152 nations and 14 regions over a 40 year time series.
Fleming, Michael C. and Nellis, Joseph G. Instat: International Statistical Sources, Subject Guide to Sources of International Comparative Statistics . New York: Routledge, 1995
Lockwood Reference Z 7551 I42 1995, 2 volumes.
A guide to reoccurring tables in journals and annual reports. Check BISON to determine if UB has current issues. If not, most will be available on microfiche through the Index to International Statistics (IIS) .
ProQuest Statistical Insight (ProQuest)
Indexes statistics in three sources: the American Statistics Index ( ASI ), the Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and the Index to International Statistics ( ISI ).
- American Statistics Index ( ASI ): 1974+2008. (Monthly with annual cumulations)
Lockwood Reference Z7554.U5 A4
ASI indexes U.S. federal government depository and non-depository statistical publications. Depository documents are available in Lockwood's government documents collection on paper, in the Capen Multimedia Center on microfiche, or online. Non-depository documents (those not distributed by GPO to depository libraries) are available in the Capen Multimedia Center at MicFiche HA195 .A8. (1978-monthly) Selected non-depository titles may also be available online.
- Statistical Reference Index ( SRI ): 1980-2009 with gaps. (Monthly with annual and quarterly cumulations)
Lockwood Reference Z7554.U5 S79
SRI indexes statistical publications produced by non-federal domestic sources. Examples include trade and professional associations, and state governments. Full texts of approximately two thirds of the items indexed are microfiched. The publisher is unable to acquire copyright clearance for the other materials. Financial considerations force UB to limit holdings to trade and professional association publications. (Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche Z7554.U5 S8) (1980-1982; 1985+2009) BISON includes analytics for selected holdings.
- Index to International Statistics (IIS): 1983+. (Monthly with annual cumulations)
Lockwood Reference HA154 .I544
IIS indexes publications of international governmental organizations, such as the UN, the World Bank, and the Food and Agricultural Organization. Selected materials are available online, and almost all are on microfiche in the Capen Multimedia Center. (MicFiche HA154 .I542 (1983+2010)
Wasserman, Steven R. Statistics Sources . Detroit: Gale, annual.
Lockwood Z 7551 S84 (1st edition, 1962+; most recent in Reference)
A subject guide to statistics on industry; business; social conditions; education; finance; economics; energy; health; transportation; and housing, plus many other topics.