Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Energy Information


This guide lists sources of information to assist students who are researching prospective employers. All of the sources listed can be found in the University at Buffalo's Arts & Sciences Libraries or on the World Wide Web.


Introduction

UB's Energy for the Future

UB Green, the university's environmental stewardship office, released a report detailing how UB's operations impact global warming and how the university might harness resources to reduce that impact. The result of two years of intensive data collection and analysis by UB Green, UB's environmental stewardship office, the 160-page "UB Green Climate Action Report" (26MB PDF) is chock-full of statistics about how UB's operations impact global warming, how that impact has changed during the past decade and how the university might harness resources on campus to dramatically reduce that impact.

Library Support

The major component of the UB Libraries commitment to energy information and data is featured here-a Resources by Subject compilation of information found in the UB Libraries. These library resources identify books, technical reports, journal and magazine articles, statistics, and other data related to the topics of Energy from its exploration, to research and development, delivery, use, and impacts to the environment. Resources are in the UB Libraries collections. Information includes the full scope of topics highlighted in the "Energy for the Future" Web portal: global warming and climate change, energy conservation and efficiency, photovoltaics, solar homes and passive solar design, solar hot water, wind energy, biomass and biofuels, hydroelectricity, geothermal energy, and hydrogen.

UB Green: An Initiative of the Office of Sustainability is the University at Buffalo's major gateway to campus-oriented resources and activities related to energy, sustainability and environmental research.


Public Access to UB Libraries

Members of the public are welcome at any of the University Libraries during hours of operation to read, study, use research materials on-site, and access computers, subject to the individual policies of each library.

All members of the public are eligible to use library research computers in order to access the Internet, subscription databases, and electronic journals. Present a photo ID at any circulation desk to obtain a Library Research Station Access Card. Eligible borrowers may also use their Courtesy Borrower / Library Research Station Access Card to log into library research computers.

Cards provide access to "UB-only" electronic resources inside the libraries. Off-campus access is UNAVAILABLE to alumni and guest users. Due to licensing restrictions, word processing and productivity software are NOT available on library research computers.

In order to borrow library books and other materials with a Courtesy Borrower / Library Research Station Access Card, you must meet one of the following criteria:


Everything

The University Libraries features the “Everything” search engine with an efficient and effective way for identifying information across many separate resources from a single search box, now the default finding tool on the UB Libraries Home Page. “Everything” is a useful tool in your library research arsenal. Users have access to a powerful information-finding tool that answers most, if not all, of their needs. However, there are circumstances where digging deeper into a subject and with the Libraries “subject-specific databases” is the appropriate enhanced strategy. (See the Library News post about “New Discovery Search Service”.)


Classic Catalog

BISON ( B uffalo I nformation S ystem ON line) is the catalog of holdings of University at Buffalo Libraries. Use BISON to identify and locate books, journals (titles only, not individual articles), government documents, music scores, maps, manuscripts, audiovisual materials, microforms and electronic resources in the UB Libraries and on the Internet. BISON is available 24 hours a day. BISON works best with the current version of Internet Explorer on a PC platform. Using other browsers and operating systems may result in some loss of functions. For a detailed guide to effective and efficient use of BISON go to the Searching Tips site.


Bibliographic Databases

The University at Buffalo Libraries subscribes to, or provides access to more than 200 bibliographic, reference, and other databases. The following lists are bibliographic utilities providing access to the literature related to energy: journals, trade and general interest magazines, newsletters, patents, technical reports, government documents, and conference proceedings.

Scientific & Technical

Academic Search Premier
For academic institutions--updated monthly. Multidisciplinary coverage of a broad range of scholarly areas, including the arts, humanities, social, and general sciences; literature, language, and linguistics; education and ethnic studies; computer sciences, engineering, physics, biology, chemistry, medical sciences, and more. Topics related broadly to energy are included in this convenient first-stop on the road to finding information in the periodical literature. Provides full text for approximately 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. Full-page images and color embedded images included .

UB ONLY


AGRICOLA
AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) is the U.S. National Agricultural Library's bibliographic database to identify journal articles, government documents, technical reports, books, patents, and audiovisual resources from agricultural sources, including botany, ecology, environmental science, freshwater and marine sciences, and forestry from 1970 to the present. With the agricultural sector representing a major energy consumer, and whose products are implicated with potential ecological impacts form energy exploration and use, this is a good resource.

PUBLIC


Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Outstanding and comprehensive index to national and international architectural journals, both professional and popular. Covers architecture, urban planning and design, historic preservation, art, and related topics. Lists reviews for books, exhibitions, audiovisuals, websites, and citations for obituaries. Comprehensive coverage 1930 to the present; selective coverage from mid-19th Century. Updated weekly.

UB ONLY


BIOSIS Previews
Provides reference plus abstract as well as selected full text of journal articles, conference papers, books, patents, and technical reports in all areas of biological research including environmental science and ecology related to energy. Coverage is for the years 1990-present. To determine if the article you want is available online, click on External Link Resolver.

UB ONLY


Compendex*Plus (Engineering Index)
References plus abstracts (as well as selected full text) to journal articles and conference papers in all areas of engineering including environmental engineering and environmental technologies. Various technical and environmental aspects of energy research are included in this database Available online for the years 1980-present. To determine if the article you want is available online, click on External Link Resolver.

UB ONLY


DOE Information Bridge
This public website provides access to the full-text and bibliographic records of DOE research and development reports in the sciences, including multidisciplinary coverage of environmental and energy sciences.

PUBLIC


Energy Citations Database
Publicly accessible database providing references plus abstracts to reports related to energy and energy-related research sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) for the years 1948-present. Coverage spans the fields of chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science, and other energy-related disciplines.

PUBLIC


GEOBASE
GEOBASE is a multi-disciplinary database that focuses on social geography, physical geography, ecology, biology, oceanography, and earth science, including those sciences related to energy. The database provides current coverage of over 1,800 journals and archive coverage of several thousand additional titles.

UB ONLY


GeoRef
Citations plus abstracts to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses in the geosciences, covering all aspects of geology and geography including geotechnical engineering, all having applications in the areas related to energy exploration, delivery, and use. Available online going back as far as 1785 for some sources.

UB ONLY


Knovel E-Books: Science and Engineering
Hundreds of applied & materials science and engineering reference books including those related to energy and engineering aspects of energy. Tables can be searched permitting rapid retrieval of specific data values for substances.

UB ONLY


NTIS
Provides citations and abstracts for technical reports describing government-sponsored research from 1964-present.

UB ONLY


ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Indexes and abstracts doctoral and selected masters theses in all disciplines from 1861-present. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses offers free downloading of University at Buffalo dissertations published after January 1997, as well as the full-text of many non-UB digital dissertations published since 1997. To download dissertations, click on "Free Download" and follow the instructions.

UB ONLY


SciFinder Scholar
Provides access to citations plus abstracts (and selected full text) for journal articles, conference papers, patents, dissertations, books, and technical reports in chemistry and chemical technology for the years 1907-present. Extensive coverage of topics related to energy research and development, and the ecological consequences of energy exploration and use. Located at dedicated terminal in HSL, LML, and SEL/UGL. You must download software that will allow you to search this database from your desktop.

UB ONLY


Web of Science
Web of Science contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index , the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Science Citation Index from 1973 to the present and allows for users to search for papers citing previously published works. In addition to outstanding coverage of the scientific and technical aspects of energy from a multidisciplinary perspective, the Web of Science addresses various socioeconomic, policies, legal, and ethical aspects related to energy. To determine if the article you want is available online, click on the S-F-X icon.

UB ONLY


Business & Management

ABI/Inform Global
The growth and development of energy industries is significant and rapidly evolving. This resource provides access to business-related periodicals, and is particularly useful for locating articles from academic journals in all areas of management, including general business magazines, professional journals, and selected trade journals.

UB ONLY


Factiva
Factiva is a powerful database system which provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, trade news, and financial data from thousands of sources worldwide, including extensive coverage of various disciplines in the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industries.

UB ONLY


Government & Policy

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (U.S. Government Printing Office)
Indexes U.S. government publications in all formats issued since 1976. GPO intends to add earlier documents in the future. The GPO Monthly Catalog, published by OCLC (called GPO Access), is a commercial edition of the same. Includes Congressional hearings and related documents as well as agency and department documents and reports. Technical reports on energy research and development are available from NTIS.

PUBLIC


GPO Access
The public gateway to federal government publications and websites. Find the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications in the A-Z Resource List. This includes access to all energy-related publications from all branches of the Federal government, including Congressional hearings, policy documents, consumer resources, etc.

PUBLIC


PAIS International Online
Covers all areas of the social sciences, especially public and social policy. In addition to journal articles and books, also indexes government documents, statistical directories, gray literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material worldwide, and more. An excellent resource produced by the Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS).

UB ONLY


UB Regional Institute
Intended for researchers, students, government officials, regional leaders, community activists, and the general public, provides socioeconomic and political information, including maps, data, and other information on Western New York area and southern Ontario. Covers such topics as demographics, government, economy, planning and land use, public health, and public safety.

PUBLIC


Education

ERIC
The largest education database in the world. Selective indexing with abstracts for over 800 periodicals plus ERIC documents. Includes coverage of energy, environmental, outdoor, nature, and conservation education.

UB ONLY


 Energy Education Resources: Kindergarten Through 12th Grade
This Department of Energy publication is the most comprehensive compilation of energy education resources. Most items are free or very low cost.

PUBLIC


Energy Education
On this Department of Energy site you'll find links to educational and training resources on energy, particularly energy efficiency and renewable energy, including K-12 Energy Lesson Plans & Activities links to more than 350 lesson plans and activities on energy efficiency and renewable energy for grades K-12, Kids Saving Energy, Energy Games and Facts for Kids, A Consumer's Guide options for saving energy and using renewable energy at home, at work, in your community, and while driving, all from the Department of Energy's Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy site.

PUBLIC


The NEED Project: Putting Energy into Education
The National Energy Education Development Project promotes an energy conscious and educated society by creating effective networks of students, educators, business, govenrment and community leaders to design and deliver objective, multi-sided energy education programs. 

PUBLIC


 New York State Energy Research and Development Authority
This is New York's primary supporter of basic and applied energy research, which has a number of resources on energy education, the search box for education and teacher resources.

PUBLIC


Florida Solar Energy Center

PUBLIC


American Solar Energy Society

PUBLIC


Wind Energy Education
Resources from National Wind Coordinating Collaborative.

PUBLIC


Selected Web Resources

BuildingGreen
Designed to help building-industry professionals design and build construction projects from a whole-systems perspective and take an integrated design approach that minimizes ecological impact and maximizes economic performance.

UB ONLY


CDIAC - Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center
CDIAC's data holdings include records of the concentrations of carbon dioxide and other radiatively active gases in the atmosphere; the role of the terrestrial biosphere and the oceans in the biogeochemical cycles of greenhouse gases; emissions of carbon dioxide to the atmosphere; long-term climate trends; the effects of elevated carbon dioxide on vegetation; and the vulnerability of coastal areas to rising sea level. Resources are provided free, and many are directly available via the Internet.

PUBLIC


National Council for Science and the Environment
Provides a link to the full-text, online Congressional Research Service reports on the environment, summaries of its national conferences, plenary speeches, and other documentation from NCSE programs.

PUBLIC


National Environmental Publications Information System
Publicly accessible database providing full text access to over 10,000 U.S. Environmental Protection Agency publications. Dates of coverage vary.

PUBLIC


Science.gov: Energy & Energy Conservation
Provides links to a wide variety of federal government sites on energy, alternatives sources of energy, and energy conservation

PUBLIC


The WWW Virtual Libraries are major Internet Gateways to specific Web-based data and information resources. These provide access to energy information:

PUBLIC


Selected Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change
SEL/UGL Ref This print resource provides detailed treatment of topics related to human impacts on the environment, such as acid rain, climate change, ozone depletion and much more.


Encyclopedia of Energy
SEL/UGL Reference TJ163.2 E394 2004. This 6-volume, print compendium is a major, comprehensive work covering all aspects of energy research, development, and applications. A glossary of terms, a 67-page chronology of energy-related events and developments, a brief annotated bibliography, and an inventory of energy-related tables (conversions, measures, parametrics, etc.) are included


Encyclopedia of World Environmental History
SEL/UGL Ref GF10 .E63 2004


Energy Efficiency Manual
SEL/UGL Reference TJ163.3 W85 1999 . This handbook is a treatise on finding, evaluating, and installing efficiency improvements for retrofitting, renovating, and reconstruction, as well as for new construction projects for small to mid-size installations. Many engineers, architects, remodelers and builders consider this an essential information resource for understanding and implementing appropriate energy efficiency technologies in buildings.

Environmental Encyclopedia
A comprehensive treatment of environmental issues with an emphasis on the social, historical, and cultural aspects of environmental studies.

UB ONLY


Macmillan Encyclopedia of Energy
SEL/UGL Reference TJ163.28 M33 2001. This is a 3-volume reference work of energy-related articles from acid rain to Z-pinch. A brief chronology is appended.


Related Resources by Subject

These are compilations of subject specific websites produced by UB's librarian subject specialists. Each of the following deals with some aspect of energy. They can be used as launching sites for additional information and Web-based data and information resources:

  • Architecture
    http://libweb1.lib.buffalo.edu/infotree/resourcesbysubject.asp?subject=Architecture
  • Ecology & Environment
    http://libweb1.lib.buffalo.edu/infotree/resourcesbysubject.asp?subject=Ecology+%26+Environment
  • Energy
    http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/busdoc/energy.html
  • Engineering: Environmental
    http://libweb1.lib.buffalo.edu/infotree/resourcesbysubject.asp?subject=Environmental+Engineering
  • Government Information
    http://libweb1.lib.buffalo.edu/infotree/resourcesbysubject.asp?subject=Government+Information
  • Planning
    http://libweb1.lib.buffalo.edu/infotree/resourcesbysubject.asp?subject=Planning