Social Work Collection - Lockwood Library
The social work collection is made up of graduate level holdings in social policy, services, and intervention methods. Areas of strength include:
- families and children
- substance abuse
The collection is dispersed across several Library of Congress classes including:
- HM (sociology)
- HN (social history, social problems, social reform)
- HQ (social groups)
- HT (communities, classes, races)
- HV (social pathology and social welfare)
Titles in personality, life-span development, and psychotherapy are shelved in the BF and RC classes. The University Libraries provide access to the fulltext of more than 1000 journals in social work and related disciplines such as psychology, psychiatry, and policy studies. More than 400 actual and simulated therapy sessions are available in DVD and CD (Counseling and Psychotherapy Videos and Sound Recordings) in the Multimedia Center in Silverman Library, and through online streaming in the database Counseling and Therapy in Video.
Also of interest is the Tests & Measures Collection, located in the Lockwood Library Reference Department. This collection contains more than 2,000 unpublished tests and inventories, many of which can be used in practice and program evaluation. Unlike commercially published tests, which the library does not buy due to copyright and use restrictions, these instruments are readily available for research and course-related use.
Lockwood Library resources are supplemented by the collections of the Health Sciences Library in aging, community psychiatry, substance abuse, rehabilitation, and medical social work. Other holdings of interest include a vast collection of federal and New York State legislative and policy documents, which may be found through the University Libraries Government Documents Information website.