Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Guide to Library Research in Robotics



HOW TO FIND BOOKS

To search for books on robotics, use the UB Libraries Catalog, which provides information on the location and availability of the 5 million+ books and other materials owned by the UB Libraries, including electronic books.

Electronic Books

The UB Libraries are increasingly making e-books available, purchasing them on a title-by-title basis in some cases as well as subscribing to large collections of e-books on platforms that function like research databases. 

1.  Start with the online version of the Springer Handbook of Robotics

This 1611-page handbook covers all aspects of robotics. Once you have connected to the book, you can browse by chapter or you can use the search box to run keyword searches against the full content of the handbook.

2.  Search for other e-books in the UB Libraries Catalog

All of our e-books are cataloged in the UB Libraries Catalog. The records for these books link to the electronic full text.  One you have done a search using your keywords, you can limit your results to electronic books by using the left-hand panel; just click on the words "Online: Electronic Books" under the category labeled "Collection."

3.  Use one of the engineering e-book databases below, starting with ENGnetBASE:

  • ENGnetBASE (via CRCnetBase)
    Electronic access to 800+ engineering books including The Mechatronics Handbook, Multi-Agent Robotic Systems, Autonomous Mobile Robots, Robotics and Automation Hanbook, Practical and Experimental Robotics, Robot Manipulator Control, among others.
  • Knovel E-Books
    Full text access to over 1,000 science and engineering books published by ASME, Wiley, Industrial Press, Kluwer, and Elsevier, and others. Many of the books are enhanced with interactive tables and graphs. Robotics-related titles include Industrial Robotics and Open Source Robotics and Process Control Cookbook.
  • Synthesis Digital Library for Engineering and Computer Science
    Online colleciton of several hundred "born digital" books in engineering and computer science usually 50 to 100 pages long that synthesize important research and development topics. Robotics-related titles include Intelligent Autonomous Robotics.

HOW TO FIND JOURNAL ARTICLES

To search for journal articles, use one of the databases listed below. These databases will provide you with a list of references to journal articles (and often conference papers, technical reports, dissertations, government documents, etc.). Most provide an abstract, or summary, of the article and some also provide full text.

  • Compendex (Engineering Index)
    Provides references plus abstracts as well as links to selected full text to journal articles and conference papers in all areas of engineering. Available online for the years 1884-present. Click on the FULL TEXT button first to check for full text, then click on the SEARCH FOR ARTICLE button.
  • IEEE Xplore
    Provides full text access to publications of the IEEE and IEE (now known as IET), including journals, magazines, transactions, and conferences. Date coverage varies by title.  Some full text access goes back as far as the 1960s.
  • INSPEC
    Provides citations plus abstracts and full text access where available for journal articles and conference papers in computer engineering, control technology, all areas of electronics and electrical engineering, and physics for the years 1969-present.Click on the FULL TEXT button first to check for full text, then click on the SEARCH FOR ARTICLE button.
  • Dissertations & Theses Online
    Indexes and abstracts doctoral and selected masters theses in all disciplines. Available online from 1861-present. You can download the full text of UB dissertations published after January 1997 as well as the full-text of many non-UB dissertations published since 1997.
  • Web of Science
    Provides citations plus abstracts and selected full text where available to journal articles only on a wide range of scientific and technical topics. Available online for the years 1965-present.

Accessing Electronic Journals

Another way to search for articles is to browse current issues of journals and magazine. Below is a list of selected robotics-related journals.

  • Advanced Robotics

    Full text from 1998 to 18 months ago; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • Automatica

    Full text for 1995-present; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • Autonomous Robots

    Full text for 1997-2010; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics

    Full text for 1996-present; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • IEEE Robotics & Automation Magazine

    Full text for 1994-present; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • IEEE Transactions on Robotics and Automation (formerly IEEE Journal of Robotics and Automation )

    Full text for 1989-2004; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • IEEE Transactions on Robotics (continuation of above title)

    Full text for 2004-present; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering

    Full text for 2004-present; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • Industrial Robot

    Full text from 2001-2009; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • International Journal of Robotics Research

    Full text for 1999-present; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • Journal of Dynamic Systems, Measurement, & Control

    Full text for 1971-present; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • Journal of Field Robotics (continues Journal of Robotic Systems - see below)

    Full text for 2006-present; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • Journal of Robotic Systems (continued by Journal of Field Robotics - see above)

    Full text for 1984-2006; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • Mechanism and Machine Theory (formerly Journal of Mechanisms )

    Full text for 1995-present; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • Mechatronics

    Full text for 1995-present; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • Presence: Teleoperators & Virtual Environments

    Full text for 1997-present; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • Robotica

    Abstracts only for 1997+

  • Robotics & Autonomous Systems

    Full text for 1995-present; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

  • Robotics and Computer-Integrated Manufacturing

    Full text for 1996-present; go to UB's Electronic Journals Database, type in the name of the journal, and then link to the journal webpage

To search for electronic journals not listed here, go to http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/findlibrarymaterials/ejournals/


HOW TO FIND TECHNICAL REPORTS

Technical reports are typically used to report the progress of research and development activities. There are a number of full-text technical report sites on the Internet.

The UB Science & Engineering Library has a collection of several million technical reports, most of which are on microfiche. They are shelved on the second floor of the library in Capen Hall. The databases below will provide you with references for reports, including their report/accession number, which we use to file reports in our microfiche collection. A librarian can help you determine whether or not we have the technical report you are looking for and locate it for you.

  • NTIS (federally-sponsored R+D)
    Citations and abstracts for technical reports describing government-sponsored research from 1969 to the present.
  • NASA Technical Reports
    Citations (and in some instances full text) for technical reports produced by NASA's research centers. Coverage is from 1960s-present.
  • DTIC Technical Reports
    Citations to unclassified Department of Defense documents from late December 1974-present. Also contains full-text versions of unclassified technical reports from September 1998-present.

HOW TO FIND PATENTS

Patents are a rich source of scientific and technical information. We recommend you use the European Patent Office's freely accessible Worldwide Patents Database for your patent searching.

  • Worldwide Patents Fulltext at ESP@CENET
    Single, most comprehensive, free patent database available. The European Patent Office has developed a worldwide patent database of over 60 million patents from over 80 countries, many with full-text page images, available at no charge.The starting date varies greatly by country, with the earliest being 1836 for the United States.  Thes site permits downloading of the full-text of entire patents with a single command, including U.S. patents.

For other patent databases, see http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/engineering/patents.html.


PROFESSIONAL SOCIETY WEBSITES

Professional society websites can be an important source for information on "cutting edge" research as well as commercial applications of technology in business and industry.

Relevant Society Home Pages