Finding Health Statistics: Selected Resources
The purpose of this resource guide is to assist researchers locate health statistics. The Internet resources listed are freely available online.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
- National Center for Health Statistics The country's principal health statistics agency, the site provides access to the wide range of information and data available from NCHS. The Data Collection Systems tab includes links to Population Surveys, Vital Records, Provider Surveys, and Historical Surveys. Find interactive data tools in the Data and Tools tab and locate statistics by topic by using FastStats. FastStats provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically in an A to Z list.
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report Contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments and reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries, and intentional and unintentional injuries.
- National Vital Statistics System Birth and mortality data.
National Institutes of Health
- MedlinePlus Health Statistics Links to government statistics sites and latest news, complications, and associated costs.
- National Institutes of Health Institutes, Centers & Offices The 27 NIH institutes and centers are listed and each have their own website. Many include statistical data and information.
Agency for Health Care Quality and Research
- Data Resources Longitudinal hospital care data, state snapshots, and survey information about the health care status of Americans and their medical expenditures. Includes Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) which provides access to hospital data at national, regional, state, and community levels. It also contains the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS), which provides data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
- American Fact Finder Source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
State and Local (including Greater Buffalo and Western New York) Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
- FastStats State and Territorial Data Quick access to individual state data.
- Stats of the States Select a state for individual state data.
New York State Department of Health
- Data and Reports
- Vital Statistics of New York State Annual statistics from 1997-2013.
- State and County Indicators for Tracking Public Health Priority Areas
Kaiser Family Foundation
- State Health Facts Health statistics by state, the site has statistics on birth rates, prenatal care, number of uninsured, incidence of certain diseases, oral health, and more.
Erie County Department of Health
- Statistics & Data Includes 2014-2017 Community Health Assessment (PDF) and Reportable Disease Statistics for Erie County (PDF).
- Leading Causes of Death in Erie County from 2002-2006
Niagara County Department of Health
World Health Organization
- World Health Organization Health Data and Statistics
- World Health Organization Global Health Observatory Includes quantitative data collected and summarized from a variety of health domains through country offices, regional offices and headquarter departments. The site covers a wide range of health topics worldwide.
Guides and Bibliographies
- Finding and Using Health Statistics Online course from the National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology
- University of Michigan Health Statistics Research Guide
- University of Chicago Health Statistics Research Guide
- The Reference Guide to Data Sources - Chapter 19 Health and Health Care. Julia Bauder. Chicago: ALA Editions, an imprint of the American Library Association, 2014. Online through Ebook Library.
- Vital Statistics of the United States. Lanham, MD: Bernan Press, c2012. HSL Ref. WA 900 .AA1 V836 2012
- American Health - Demographics and Spending of Health Care Consumers. Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications, c2005. HSL Ref. WA 900 AA1 .A445 2005. Newer editions (2nd ed. 2007 and 3rd ed. 2010) are available online to those affiliated with UB.
- Erie County Vital Statistics. Buffalo, NY. Bureau of Disease Control, Erie County Health Department, c2013. HSL Ref. WA 546 .AN6 .E6 E6 2013
- A Brief Guide to the U.S. Health Care Delivery System: Facts, Definitions, and Statistics. Sara A. Beazley, ed. Chicago: AHA Press/Health Forum, c2010. HSL Stacks. W 84 AA1 U58h 2010