Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Technical Reports in Western New York



Overview

This Western New York Technical Reports site was created by the UB Silverman Library with a grant awarded to UB in 1998 by the Western New York Library Resources Council (WNYLRC).

It provides general information about technical reports as well as specific information about technical report collections in Western New York including a directory of local area technical report collections, links to web resources for accessing technical reports, a bibliography of technical reports about Western New York, and the full-text of selected individual reports. Visit the Technical Reports Collection web page for information about University at Buffalo Libraries collection.

Marilyn Moody served as project director on the grant. Research & web design members included Carole Ann Fabian, David J. Bertuca, Nancy Frazier Giardino, & Peggy Dryden.


Finding Reports

What Are Technical Reports?

Technical reports are used typically to report the progress of research and development activities. They are used most extensively for communicating scientific and technical information, but are also used to distribute a broad range of information across disciplines. Many technical reports are the result of government sponsored research, and federal, state, and international agencies are large publishers of this type of material. Government contractors and grantees (such as universities, research organizations or corporations) produce a large percentage of the technical research literature. Technical reports are also produced independently by educational institutions, research institutes, research and development units of corporations, societies, and other types of agencies and entities.

Identifying Technical Reports

Two approaches may be used in locating technical reports. First, you may want to search for technical reports held in local library collections, including the Silverman Library. See the Directory section below for information on using local collections or go to the UB Libraries' Technical Reports Collection web page for information about UB's collection as well as a listing with links to the specialized databases that indexing the technical report literature.

Directory of Reports in WNY

This directory, compiled in 1998, lists institutions with substantial discrete collections of technical reports. It should be noted that many area libraries contain "random" technical reports that have been catalogued, classified, and integrated into their general collections. These documents can usually be identified by author or subject searches in local library catalogs.

Current contact information as well as information about accessing the collections of the libraries listed below can be obtained from the WNYLRC Member Libraries Directory.


Buffalo & Erie County Public Library
Central Library
Lafayette Square
Buffalo, NY 14203

Collection strengths:  BECPL Central Library has a large collection of technical reports which may come in one of three formats: paper, microform, or CD-ROM. Technical reports are shelved according to their SuDocs (U.S. Superintendent of Documents) number or their LC (Library of Congress) call number.

Performing Organizations represented in collection:

  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
  • National Research Council
  • New York State Department of Transportation (NYSDOT)
  • Rand Corporation
  • U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)
  • U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
  • U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)
  • U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)
  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
  • West Valley Demonstration Project (contractor generated reports)
  • Worldwatch Institute

Buffalo Museum of Science
Research Library
1020 Humboldt Parkway
Buffalo, NY 14211

Collection strengths:  Selectively collects technical reports of regionally significant topics; cataloged by author/title. Gift & exchange repository for some government and academic reports.

Performing Organizations represented in collection:

  • U.S. Department of the Interior - Fish & Wildlife Service (biological research reports)
  • West Valley Demonstration Project - West Valley Nuclear Services Co., Inc. (site environmental reports)

Ecology and Environment Inc.
Library
368 Pleasantview Drive
Lancaster, NY 14086

Collection strengths: Collection of approximately 7,000 technical reports, purchased or acquired as individual project-related documents. Subject interests include: environmental management, health, and occupational safety.

Performing Organizations represented in collection:

  • EPA (1970's - present)
  • USGS
  • State (various) geological surveys
  • ATSDR
  • DHHS
  • NIOSH
  • OSHA
  • US Army Corps of Engineers

Research Institute on Addictions
Library
1201 Main Street
Buffalo, NY 14203

Collection strengths: 
Highly selective collection. Subject interests include: addictions.

Performing Organizations represented in collection:

  • Rand Reports
  • National Institute on Drug Abuse
  • National Institute on Alcoholism
  • NIH

University at Buffalo, State University of New York
Silverman Library
University Libraries
Capen Hall
Buffalo, NY 14260-2200

Collection strengths:   The Silverman Library at the University at Buffalo has a collection of over 1.5 million technical reports, most of which are on microfiche. The majority of technical reports in the collection are from government agencies. Reports are either shelved by technical report number or SuDocs number. Some reports are listed individually or by series in the University Libraries' online catalog.

Performing Organizations represented in collection include but are not limited to:

  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
  • Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)
  • Rand Corporation
  • US Department of Energy (DOE)
  • US Department of Transportation (DOT)
  • US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
  • US Geological Survey (USGS)

US Army Corps of Engineers
Technical Library
1776 Niagara Street
Buffalo, NY 14207-3199

Collection strengths:  US Army Corps of Engineers repository collection of 12,000+ technical reports. On-line catalog supports search of all US Army Corps libraries or selected repositories. Subject interests include: engineering, geology, environment, and energy.

Performing Organizations represented in collection:

  • US Army Corps of Engineers
  • EPA
  • DOE

Bibliography of WNY Reports

The following selected topical bibliography includes references to technical reports about the Western New York region and some of its unique research interests. This bibliography is not intended to be comprehensive in nature, but provides an indication as to the breadth of research documentation available through technical reports.

Citations were selected from a search of the NTIS database from 1980-1997. Both geographic descriptors and research topics were chosen to provide this overview of the Western New York region. Entries are arranged chronologically and alphabetically by title within each subject heading.

Some of these technical reports are available as full-text documents from this page (click on "FULL TEXT" option, when available, in each entry).


Ordering Reports

The directory litsinbg above gives information about technical report collections available for use on-site at selected Western New York libraries. Some of the libraries in the region also provide photocopying services and have microfiche reader/printers available for use for a fee. Many technical reports in Western New York Libraries are also available for loan to individuals through the interlibrary loan system. See your local library (school, university, or public) for information on how to request an interlibrary loan.

Most U.S. government and many other technical reports can also be ordered for a fee directly from NTIS.

See the NTIS web site and go to their Ordering Information page for pricing, ordering, and payment information.