Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Entrepreneurship


Determining Your Industry’s Classification Code

The first step in conducting research for your proposed business is to determine the codes used by the government to categorize your industry.


Sample Business Plans

  • Business Plans Handbook
    available online as part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library
    http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=176
    A collection of representative business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses.
  • Bplans.com
    http://www.bplans.com/
    Most plans here can be purchased from the publisher, but 50 sample plans are freely available on the Web.
  • Business Plans and Profiles Index
    http://www.carnegielibrary.org/subject/business/bplansindex.html
    A subject index to sample business plans, including those published in book form and those available from Web sites such as Bplans.com.  Compiled by the Pittsburgh Public Library (Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh).
  • Mplans.com
    www.mplans.com
    A small collection of sample marketing plans are available at no charge (approximately 25 of them); users can also purchase additional plans for a fee.

Market Research and Industry Reports

 


Trade Associations

  • Encyclopedia of Associations (annual)
    available online as part of Business & Company Resource Centerhttp://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=73
    (Select “Advanced Search,” then choose “Associations” from drop-down box.)
    A searchable directory covering tens of thousands of trade associations and other membership organizations.

Journal Articles and News Stories

  • Entrepreneurial Studies Source http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=528
    Full-text resources with current insight, advice, case studies, and research relating to small business and entrepreneurship. Provides articles from 125 business periodicals, over 100 reference books, and 600 videos from respected sources such as the Harvard Business School faculty.
  • Business Source Complete http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=77
    This EBSCOhost database provides full text articles from several thousand business journals, magazines, newsletters, and local business newspapers.  Database also includes a variety of market research reports, industry profiles, and SWOT analysis reports.
  • Factiva http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=164
    World news service from Dow Jones and Company, covering thousands of business news providers, including wire services, press releases, newspapers, trade journals, and broadcast transcripts.
  • LexisNexis Academic http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=432
    Click on the News option to search for articles from local, national, and foreign newspapers, wire services, press releases, business magazines and trade journals.

New York State and WNY Resources


Other Resources

  • U.S. Small Business Administration http://www.sba.gov
    Includes a diversity of resources and toolkits, including tips on creating a business plan, SBA publications, and links to outside resources.
  • Kauffman Foundation Entrepreneurship Research Portal http://www.kauffman.org/Section.aspx?id=Research_And_Policy
    Extensive collection of resources relating to small business.  “Data Sets” section has links to statistical reports on economic trends for small business, business bankruptcies, and analyses of IRS income tax returns for small businesses.
  • Kauffman Foundation Entrepreneurship Homepage http://www.entrepreneurship.org/
    Tips and advice from successful entrepreneurs on a variery of topics, including financing, human resources, and marketing.
  • NFIB Tools and Tips http://www.nfib.com/
    Articles and other resources on a wide range of relevant topics from the National Foundation of Independent Business.
  • Entrepreneur Magazine Startup How-To Guides http://www.entrepreneur.com/howto/startyourbiz.html
    Practical tips from the editors of Entrepreneur magazine.  Covers a broad spectrum of topics from choosing a business name to obtaining local permits.   Click on the home page to view additional resources, including a directory of franchise opportunities.
  • Business Know-How http://www.businessknowhow.com/
    News, articles, tips, and links to useful resources.