GLY 501: Elements of Geological Research--SixThings Your Librarian Wants You to Master for Success at UB
Course Resources - Fall 2015 GYL 501, Elements of Geological Research AND other undergraduate and graduate students for their road to informtion literacy in the geosciences. This class introduces beginning graduate students to successful strategies for designing and reporting on a scientific research project, including data, inforamtion, and literature search techniques using on-line data bases and reference management tools. See also:
SixThings Your Librarian Wants You to Master for Success at UB
Each of you has a special reason for wanting to be a geologist, and each of you have aspirations for your future careers, whether they be in academic, industry, government or nonprofit institutions or organizations. These resources are discovery tools to help make those aspirations become realities. The UB Career Services Office (259 Capen Hall) provides resources and services to help you, especially as you approach the end of your studies and stay here at UB. One such resource is a guide to Green Careers. The UB Office of Student Affairs has a Career Guide for Geology Majors that is also quite useful.
- On Being a Scientist: A Guide to Responsible Conduct in Research, Third Edition, published by the Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences in 2009. Should be required reading.It supplements lessons by faculty, supervisors and mentors, and describes ethical foundations of scientific practices and personal and professional issues researchers encounter throughout their careers. In the Reference Collections of the Lockwood, Silverman, and Health Sciences Liberaries: Q 180 .A1 O5 2009 and on-line, full-text at: http://www.nap.edu/catalog.php?record_id=12192
- University Libraries Home Page is your gateway for one-stop shopping for library research: searching for books, databases, news, and help for navigating the oceans of information and mountains of data. The University Libraries catalog lists of all holdings (books, reports, microforms, journals [but NOT articles], maps and other resources such as the Bulletin of the New York State Museum) are accessed from this page. Associate Librarian, Fred Stoss, is available for consultation individually or in groups for identifying the most appropriate resources and developing effective and efficient search strategies. firstname.lastname@example.org
- Resources by Subject: Geology and b. Resources by Subject Ecology & Environment locates subject-specific information within the UB Libraries (bibliographic and reference databases, electronic journal collections, reference books, library news, etc. and selectively from outside resources such as Web-based subject guides and other online resources.
- World Data Centers (WDCs) were created as the official data repositories and archives for the 1956-1957 International Geophysical Year (IGY) and served as vital resources for data and information in the geosciences. It became clear after the International Polar Year (2007–2008) that these bodies were not able to respond fully to modern data needs and they were thus disbanded by the the International Council of Science ICSU General assembly in 2008 and replaced by the ICSU World Data System in 2009. As of Jul 14 2014, the World Data System has 86 Member Organizations in four different categories. Many of the WDS Members are hosted or co-located with appropriately functional National Data Centers. Sadly, there is yet to be a universal index to the myriad of data resources managed, archived, and shared by the members of the World Data System and the various U.S.-based Naitonal Data Centers. The Global Change Maser Direcotry (GCMD) was designed by data and information managers at the Goddard Space Flight Center with funding from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, under the United States Global Change Research Program, and presently lists more than 29,000 data-generating and gathering programs worldwide, including more than 3,400 datasets from the World Data Centers/World Data System.
- Geologynet was originally created in the mid 1990's. It is now a WWW Virtual Library for the geosciences and lists more than 2000 links to geology related software, information and products, and is home to the List of Geology Databases. Click here for Virtual Libraries for other disciplines, especially Earth Science.
- Fred Stoss is YOUR librarian. He holds degrees in biology, zoology, a Master of Library Science Degree. He is an Associate Librarian for the Biological Sciences, Geology, and Mathematics. Fred is a recognized subject expert in environmental fields. Fred worked in research settings for eight years (University of Rochester Medical Center's Environmental Health Sciences Center and the Syracuse Research Corporation's Center for Chemical Hazard Assessment.) He was the Director of Library and Information Services at the Center for Environmental Information where he designed and managed the Acid Rain Information Clearinghouse. Prior to coming to UB in 1996, Fred worked in the Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. His Website provides office hours, and contact information. His advice: “Do not wait until the last minute to start your library research, which is an integral part of your learning experiences at UB. Make that experience meaningful and of high quality.” His email is email@example.com.