To search for books and conference proceedings on bridge engineering, use the University Libraries Catalog, which provides information on the location and availability of over three million books and other materials owned by the UB Libraries. You can connect to the catalog at http://catalog.lib.buffalo.edu.
The Libraries' Catalog can be searched by author, title, and subject. You can also search by keyword, combining words and phrases, for example:
You will be able to see at a glance where the books are located and whether or not they are available for you to check out.
After searching or catalog, you can expand your search for books using WorldCat, a mega-catalog with 40+ million records for books and other materials owned by more than 20,000 libraries that we can borrow from. If you find a book in WorldCat that isn't available at UB, you can request that we borrow it for you from another library using Delivery+, our document delivery and interlibrary loan service.
We Also Have Access to Electronic Books - The UB Libraries subscribe to several e-books services, including:
ENGnetBASE via CRCnetBASE
Electronic access to over 800 engineering books published by CRC Press including the Bridge Engineering Handbook; Earthquake Engineering Handbook; and Handbook of Structural Engineering, among others. You can browse an alphabetical listing of titles or search by keywords and phrases.
Full text access to over 1,000 science and engineering books published by ASME, Wiley, Industrial Press, Elsevier, and others. Many of the books are enhanced with interactive tables and graphs.
To search for journal articles by topic, use a database, such as those listed below. These databases will provide you with a list of references to journal articles (as well as, in some cases, conference papers, technical reports, dissertations, government documents, etc.). In addition, many of these databases also provide full text - see descriptions below.
COMPENDEX (Engineering Index)
Provides references plus abstracts (as well as links to selected full text ) to journal articles and conference papers in all areas of engineering. Available online for the years 1969 to the present.
Provides references to American Society of Civil Engineers' publications including books, standards, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc., for the years 1979 to the present. UB students, staff, and faculty can access the full text of articles for current years of ASCE journals via the database. Please note that this is only for the current years and only for journals and not for other types of ASCE publications listed in this database.
TRIS - Transportation Research Information Service Online
Provides access references (and some full text ) to information about journal articles, papers, and reports on transportation research covering topics such as planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors, operations, and infrastructure for all modes including air, highway, rail and maritime transport, and mass transit. Available online for the years 1960 to the present.
Web of Science
Provides citations plus abstracts and selected full text where available to journal articles 1965 to the present.
Technical reports are typically used to report the progress of research and development activities. The UB Libraries have a collection of several million technical reports, most of which are on microfiche. They are shelved in the basement of Lockwood Library. The database below will provide you with references for reports, including their report/accession number, which we use to file reports in our microfiche collection. A librarian can help you determine whether or not we have the technical report you are looking for and locate it for you.
NTIS (federally-sponsored R+D) - Provides citations and abstracts for technical reports describing government-sponsored research from 1969 to the present.
Patents are a rich source of scientific and technical information. The U.S. Patent & Trademark Office Patent Full-Text and Full-Page Image Databases at http://www.uspto.gov/patft/index.html contain the full text of U.S. patents and patent applications. The Issued Patents Database contains the full text content of U.S. patents issued from 1790 to the present. Patents from 1790-1975 can be searched by patent number and classification code only . Patents from 1976 to the present can be searched by keyword as well as patent number, classification code, inventor's name, assignee's (company's) name, primary examiner's name, issue and application date, etc. The PatentApplications Database contains the full text of patent applications from March 15, 2001, to the present.
NOTE: The full-page images available through the site, which include all of the drawings for a patent, are in a compressed TIFF format that requires special software for viewing. For more information on how to download this software, see http://www.uspto.gov/patft/help/images.htm.
For other patent databases , see http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/engineering/patents.html
Standards are detailed instructions that explain how something is to be manufactured, managed, operated designed, or otherwise handled. We have the following standards relating to bridge analysis, design, and construction in the Reference Collection located on the 1st Floor of Silverman Library in Capen Hall.
- AASHTO LRFD Bridge Design Specifications - 2012
Lockwood Science & Engineering Reference TG23 .A25 2012; also available online via our subscription to Knovel E-Books
- AASHTO Standard Specifications for Highway Bridges (17th edition, 2002)
Lockwood Science & Engineering Reference TG310 .A6
- AAHSTO/AWS D1.5-95 Bridge Welding Code
Lockwood Science & EngineeringReference TG315 .B75
- ACI Manual of Concrete Practice
Lockwood Science & Engineering Reference TA439 .A64
- ASCE Standard for the Structural Design of Composite Slabs
Lockwood Science & Engineering Reference TA 664 .S72
- ASCE Specification for the Design of Cold-Formed Stainless Steel Structural Members
Lockwood Science & Engineering Reference TA684 .A49
- ASCE Minimum Design Loads for Buildings & Other Structures
Lockwood Science & Engineering Reference TH851 .M56
- ASCE Standard Guidelines for the Design and Installation of Pile Foundations
Lockwood Science & Engineering Reference TA780 .A523
For other standards, see the our standards guide at http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/standards.html
Internet sites can be an important source for information on "cutting edge" research as well as on commercial applications of technology in business and industry.
- AASHTO Subcommittee on Bridges & Structures
Includes a collection of links maintained by the American Association of State Highway Ttansportation Officials to Internet sites containing information on bridges and other large structures.
This meta-site links to extensive listing of government and association websites as well as other meta-sites, discussuon lists and forums, a photo gallery page, and a listing of bridge software programs.
- Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Bridge Technology
- New York State Department of Transportation
- State Transportation Agencies
- American Association of State & Highway Transportation Officials (AASHTO)
- American Public Works Association
- American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC)
- Association of Iron and Steel Engineers (AISE)
- American Welding Society (AWS)
- American Society for Metals (ASM) International
- Precast/Stressed Concrete Institute (PCI)
- American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
- UB's Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research (MCEER)
- To search the Internet yourself, use a search engine such as Google.