Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Newspaper Indexes



Contemporary Newspaper Indexes

Most newspapers do not have printed indexes; the ones we own are listed here. Online databases allow you to locate articles with a keyword search; see Newspapers Online.

  • New York Times Index
    Lockwood Reference AI21 N44 (Index Area) 1851-
  • The Times Index (London, England) (titles varies)
    Lockwood Reference AI21 .T46 (Index Area) 1906-
  • Wall Street Journal. Index
    Lockwood Reference HG1 W26 (Index Area) 1961-
  • National Newspaper Index

    Provides indexing only (1977 to present) of: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. Available online to NYS residentsfrom the New York State Library More information.


Historical Newspaper Indexes

Most newspapers do not have printed indexes; the ones we own are listed here. Online databases allow you to locate articles with a keyword search; see Historical News Online.

United States

  • Antislavery Newspapers and Periodicals
    Lockwood Reference AI3 .B55 (Index Area)
    A five-volume set indexing letters appearing in newspapers and periodicals representing the antislavery movement of the 19th century.
  • Black Newspapers Index (title varies)
    Lockwood Reference AI3 .I46 (Index Area) 1977-91
  • Chicago Tribune Index (title varies)
    Lockwood Reference AI21 .C45 C47 (Index Area) 1976-93
  • Christian Science Monitor, Index to the (title varies)
    Lockwood Reference AI21 .C47 (Index Area) 1960-84
    Coverage continued through 1990 by National Newspaper Index
  • Index to the Newspapers Published in Geneva, New York
    Lockwood AI3 .I58 Covers 1806-1829.
  • Los Angeles Times Index (title varies)
    Lockwood Reference AI21 .L65 L6 (Index Area) 1976-84
    Coverage continued through 1990 by National Newspaper Index
  • National Newspaper Index
    Silverman Multimedia Center MicFiche AI3 .N37 1979-1990
    This title indexes The Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.
  • New Orleans Times-Picayune Index
    Lockwood Reference AI21 .T66 N49 (Index Area) 1976-78
  • New York Times Index
    Lockwood Reference AI21 N44 (Index Area) 1851-
    Also indexed by National Newspaper Index.
  • New York Times Obituaries Index
    Lockwood Reference CT213 N47 1858-1978
  • New York Daily Tribune Index 1875-1906
    http://www.loc.gov/rr/news/news_research_tools/nytribindex.html
    Online access to the printed index.
  • NewsBank Index 1982-1991
    Index to NEWSBANK, a microfiche collection of selected articles from major U.S. newspapers.
    Lockwood Reference Index Area AP2 .N67682
  • Personal Name Index to the New York Times Index
    Lockwood Reference CT104 .F28
    Lockwood Reference CT104 .F28 Suppl. 1851-1989
  • Virginia Gazette Index 1736-1780
    Lockwood Reference AI21 .V5 (Index Area)
  • Wall Street Journal. Index
    Lockwood Reference HG1 .W26 (Index Area) 1961-
    Also indexed by National Newspaper Index.
  • Washington Post. Newspaper Index (title varies)
    Lockwood Reference AI21 .W33 W38 (Index Area) 1976-79
    Lockwood Reference AI21 .W33 O54 (Index Area) 1979-84
    Coverage continued by National Newspaper Index
  • Western New York Index
    Lockwood Reference AN256 .B84 W4 (Index Area) 1983-1996
    Covers several local sources, including the Buffalo News. Coverage for some sources continued by Factiva.

Canada

  • Canadian Index
    Lockwood Reference AI3 .C24 (Index Area) 1993- 1997
    Formed by the merger of:
    • Canadian Business Index (title varies) LML Ref Z7164 .C81 C24 (Index Area) 1975 – 92, and
    • Canadian News Index (title varies) Lockwood Reference Z6954 .C2 C22 (Index Area)1977- 92.

France

  • Le Monde. Index Analytique
    Lockwood Reference AI21 .M6 (Index Area) 1944-47, 1950, 1958, 1965-68
  • Index of Le Monde
    Lockwood Reference AI21 .M63 (Index Area) Oct. 1968-Aug. 1970 (Incomplete)
  • Tables du Journal Le Temps
    Lockwood Reference AI21 .T375 (Index Area) 1861-1900

Germany

  • Zeitschriften-Index 1750-1815
    Silverman Multimedia Center Reference AI9 .I45 1990

Great Britain

  • The Times Index (London, England) (titles varies)
    Lockwood Reference AI21 .T46 (Index Area) 1906-
  • The Times Literary Supplement is indexed by The Times Literary Supplement Index Lockwood Reference AP4 .T45 Index (Index Area) for the years 1902-1980. From 1973, The Times Literary Supplement is indexed in The Times Index.
  • Palmer's Index to The Times Newspaper (London, England) Palmer's is less detailed than The Times Index , but it covers a longer time period.
    Lockwood Reference AI21 .T5 (Index Area) 1790-1941
    Supplemented retrospectively by The Times (Daily Universal Register) Index Lockwood Reference AI21 .T45 (Index Area) 1785-1790

Soviet Union

  • Letopis' Gazetnykh Statei
    Lockwood AI15 .L35 1965-70 (Incomplete)
  • Pravda Index
    Lockwood Reference AI21 .P73 (Index Area) 1986-87