Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Historical News Online


Historical newspapers are being digitized through a number of projects. Some of these are made freely available to the public while many are available only by institutional or individual subscription. The lists below include titles available to the UB community and titles covering Western New York. For current news, see Newspapers Online.

At the bottom of this guide are links to broader lists of digital newspapers.


Accessible Archives

UB has access to a subset of this database (titles are listed separately below). Additional coverage is available through the NYS Library to NYS employees and retirees. More information.


African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century – Accessible Archives

Ultimately this resource will include the complete transcribed text of seven 19th century African-American newspapers.

UB ONLY


America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922

Access is to selected New York newspapers published between 1733 and 1922.
Available to NYS employees and retirees. More information


American Periodical Series (APS)

Journals rather than newspapers, published between 1741-1900

UB ONLY


Brooklyn Daily Eagle 1841-1902

PUBLIC


Chicago Defender 1910-1975

The Defender is one of the most important African-American newspapers.

 UB ONLY


Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

This is an on-going project, currently covering select papers 1836-1922.

PUBLIC


Civil War, a Newspaper Perspective – Accessible Archives

Major articles from issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between 1860 and 1865.

UB ONLY


Ethnic Newswatch

Ethnic, minority and native press, some back to 1960.

UB ONLY


Foreign Language Press 1855-1938

A collection of translations of newspaper articles originally published in Chicago's ethnic press between the 1860s and the 1930s.

PUBLIC


Fulton History

Scanned images of central and northern New York newspapers from 1806 to 2007. A bit quirky but the only way to get old Buffalo papers online. Note: Considerable Buffalo content has been added in 2013.

PUBLIC


Google News Archive

Google is no longer adding content to this product.Try the box at the top of the page or try this link.. Some links results may require a fee.

PUBLIC


Harper’s Weekly (via HarpWeek)

Not a newspaper, but 19th century America's most influential periodical. Covers 1857-1883.

UB ONLY


MOA Making of America (Cornell)

MOA Making of America (U of Michigan)

Scanned journals, mostly 1840-1900.

PUBLIC


New York Heritage Digital Collections

The collection includes papers from Erie, Chautauqua, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario counties, Suffolk County, many downstate counties and Northern New York Newspapers.

PUBLIC


New York Times

New York Times Archive 1851-present
Articles from 1923-1986 incur a charge.
Pre-1923 and post-1986 articles are free but will count toward a monthly limit imposed by NYT.

Tip: Use the Archives Search; if the item you need asks for payment, take the citation to the Multimedia Center in Silverman Library and find the article on microfilm.

PUBLIC


New York Times Historic 1851-2009 with index 1851-1993

UB ONLY


Pennsylvania Civil War Newspapers

PUBLIC


Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800 – Accessible Archives

Once called the New York Times of the 18th century.

UB ONLY


Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

19th and 20th century journals, included here for the news value.

UB ONLY


Other lists of links to historical news: