Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Citing Journal Articles



 

From Printed Journal

APA Style

Basic Format:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number (issue number), pages.

Welch, C. (1993). Human rights and African women: A
    comparison of protection under two major treaties. Human
    Rights Quarterly,
15, 549-564.


MLA Style

Basic Format:

Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume.Issue (Year): pages. Medium of publication.

Welch, Claude. "Human Rights and African Women: A Comparison of
    Protection under Two Major Treaties." Human Rights Quarterly 15.3
    (1993): 549-74. Print.


Chicago Style

Notes:

Claude Welch, "Human Rights and African Women: A Comparison of
   Protection Under Two Major Treaties," Human Rights Quarterly 15,
   no. 3 (1993): 550.

Bibliography:

Welch, Claude. "Human Rights and African Women: A Comparison of
   Protection Under Two Major Treaties." Human Rights Quarterly 15,
   no. 3 (1993): 549-574.

 


CSE Style

Citation-Sequence

Welch, C. Human rights and African women: A comparison of protection under two major treaties. Human Rights Quart. 1993;15(3):549-574.

Name-Year

Welch, C. 1993. Human rights and African women: A comparison of protection under two major treaties. Human Rights Quart. 15(3):549-574.

[The CSE Manual (Scientific Style and Format), 7th edition, recommends that journal titles be abbreviated. A list of authoritative sources for abbreviation can be found in Appendix 29.1 at p. 569. One source is ISI Journal Abbreviations Index found at http://library.caltech.edu/reference/abbreviations/]


Article with multiple authors

APA Style

Sommerville, M., Lampert, L., Dabbour, K., Harlan, S., & Shrader,
    B. (2007). Toward large scale assessment of information and
    communication technology literacy: Implementation considerations
    for the ETS ICT literacy instrument. RSR: Reference Services
    Review
, 35, 8-20.


MLA Style

Sommerville, Mary, Lynn Lampert, Katherine Dabbour, Sallie Harlan,
    and Barbara Shrader. "Toward Large Scale Assessment of
    Information and Communication Technology Literacy:
    Implementation Considerations for the ETS ICT Literacy
    Instrument." RSR: Reference Services Review 35.1 (2007):
    8-20. Print.


Chicago Style

Notes:

Randall M. Miller and Benjamin Filene, "Lincoln: The Constitution and the Civil War," Journal of
  American History
93 (2006): 806.

 Bibliography:

Miller, Randall M. and Benjamin Filene. "Lincoln: The Constitution and the Civil War." Journal
  of American History
93 (2006): 805-808.

 


CSE Style

Citation-Sequence

Sommerville, M., Lampert, L., Dabbour, K., Harlan, S., Shrader, B. Toward
large scale assessment of information and communication technology literacy:
Implementation considerations for the ETS ICT literacy instrument. RSR. 2007;35(1):8-20.

Name-Year

Sommerville, M., Lampert, L., Dabbour, K., Harlan, S., Shrader, B. 2007. Toward
large scale assessment of information and communication technology literacy:
Implementation considerations for the ETS ICT literacy instrument. RSR. 35(1):8-20.

[The CSE Manual (Scientific Style and Format), 7th edition, recommends that journal titles be abbreviated. A list of authoritative sources for abbreviation can be found in Appendix 29.1 at p. 569. One source is ISI Journal Abbreviations Index found at http://library.caltech.edu/reference/abbreviations/]


From online-only journal (free web/open access)

APA Style

Basic Format:

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Online Periodical, volume number(issue number if available). Retrieved from http://www.someaddress.com/full/url/

Hill, G.E., Mennill, D.J., Rolek, B.W., Hicks, T.L., & Swiston, K.A.
    (2006). Evidence suggesting that Ivory-billed Woodpeckers
    (Campephilus principalis) exist in Florida. Avian Conservation
    and Ecology
, 1(3), 121-130. Retrieved from http://www.ace-
    eco.org


MLA Style

Hill, Geoffrey, Daniel Mennill, Brian Rolek, Tyler Hicks, and Kyle
    Swiston. "Evidence Suggesting that Ivory-billed Woodpeckers
    (Campephilus principalis) Exist in Florida." Avian Conservation
    and Ecology
1.3 (2006): 121-30. Web. 20 Feb. 2007.


Chicago Style

Notes:

Robert Shrum, "Taxing Clinton's Character," Slate, June 25, 1996, http://www.slate.com/articles/news_and_politics/varnish_remover/1996/06/taxing_clintons_character.html.

 Bibliography:

Shrum, Robert. "Taxing Clinton's Character." Slate, June 25, 1996. http://www.slate.com/articles/news_and_politics/varnish_remover/1996/06/taxing_clintons_character.html.

 


CSE Style

Hill, G.E., Mennill, D.J., Rolek, B.W., Hicks, T.L., Swiston, K.A. Evidence suggesting that Ivory-billed Woodpeckers (Campephilus principalis) exist in Florida. Avian Conserv Ecol [Internet]. 2006 [cited 2007 Feb 20];1(3). Available from: http://www.ace-eco.org/articles/78.html.


Full-text article from database

APA Style

Basic Format with DOI:

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page range. doi:0000000/000000000000 or http://dx.doi.org/10.0000/0000

Basic Format with no DOI:

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number. Retrieved from http://www.journalhomepage.com/full/url/

Ku, G. (2008). Learning to de-escalate: The effects of regret in escalation of commitment. Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes, 105, 221-232. doi:10.1016/j.obhdp.2007.08.002.


MLA Style

Basic Format:

Author Surname, First Name. “Article Title: Subtitle.” Journal Title Publication Date
   (Day Month Year): page range. Database Title. Medium. Date of Access (Day Month Year).

Zizek, Slavoj. "Intellectuals, Not Gadflies." Critical Inquiry 34.5 (2008):
     21-35. MLA International Bibliography. Web. 18 Nov. 2009.

 


Chicago Style

*“Include a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) if the journal lists one. A DOI is a permanent ID that, when appended to http://dx.doi.org/ in the address bar of an Internet browser, will lead to the source. If no DOI is available, list a URL. Include an access date only if one is required by your publisher or discipline.” http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide.html

Notes:

Gueorgi Kossinets and Duncan J. Watts, “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network,”
  American Journal of Sociology 115 (2009): 411, accessed February 28, 2010,
  doi:10.1086/599247.

Bibliography:

Kossinets, Gueorgi, and Duncan J. Watts. “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network.”
  American Journal of Sociology 115 (2009): 405–50. Accessed February 28, 2010.
  doi:10.1086/599247.

Bonner, W. Nigel. “Environmental Assessment in the Antarctic.” Ambio 18,
           no.1 (1989): 83-39. http://www.jstor.org/stable/4313530


CSE Style

Einstein, A. A generalization of the relativistic theory of gravitation. Ann Math 1945 Oct;46(4):578-584. In: JSTOR [database on the Internet]. New York: JSTOR; c2000-2007 [cited 2007 Feb 21]. [about 7 pages]. Available from: http://links.jstor.org/sici?sici=0003-486X%28194510%292%3A46%3A4%3C578%3AAGOTRT%3E2.0.CO%3B2-1.