Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Citing Newspaper Articles



From printed newspaper

APA

Pasciak, M. (2007, February 21). Proposed budget expands programs.
    Buffalo News,
p. B3.

Wilson, E. (2007, February 22). Bad taste is their kryptonite. New York
    Times,
pp. G4, G7.


MLA

Pasciak, Mary. "Proposed Budget Expands Programs." Buffalo News
    22 Feb. 2007: B3. Print.

Wilson, Eric. "Bad Taste is Their Kryptonite." New York Times 22
    Feb. 2007, late ed.: G4. Print.


Chicago

Notes:

Randal C. Archibold, “These Neighbors Are Good Ones without a New Fence,” New York
  Times
, October 22, 2008, sec. A.

Bibliography:

Archibold, Randal C. “These Neighbors Are Good Ones without a New Fence.” New York
  Times
, October 22, 2008, sec. A.

 


CSE

Citation-Sequence:

Pasciak M. Proposed budget expands programs. Buffalo News
2007 Feb 21;Sect B, 3.

Name-Year:

Pasciak M. 2007 Feb 21. Proposed budget expands programs.
Buffalo News;Sect B, 3.


From online newspaper

APA

Bosman, J. (2007, February 18). With one word, children's book
    sets off uproar. New York Times. Retrieved from
    http://www.nytimes.com


MLA

Bosman, Julie. "With One Word, Children's Book Sets Off Uproar."
    New York Times
18 Feb. 2007: n. pag. Web. 22 Feb. 2007. 


Chicago

Notes:

Doyle McManus, “The Candor War,” Chicago Tribune, July 29, 2010,
  http://www.chicagotribune.com/.

Bibliography:

McManus, Doyle. “The Candor War.” Chicago Tribune, July 29, 2010.
  http://www.chicagotribune.com/.


CSE Bosman J. With one word, children's book sets off uproar. NY Times [Internet].
2007 Feb 18 [cited 2007 Feb 22]: [about 2 screens]. Available from: http://www.nytimes.com/2007/02/18/books/18newb.html?_r=1&oref=slogin.


Full-text article from a database

APA

Milza, J. (2007, February 21). Eating fish during pregnancy can help
    improve baby's IQ.Staten Island Advance, C05. Retrieved from
    http://west.thomson.com/default.aspx


MLA

Milza, Jane. "Eating Fish During Pregnancy Can Help Improve Baby's IQ."
    Staten Island Advance
21 Feb. 2007: C05. Campus Research:
    News & Law
. Web. 22 Feb. 2007.


Chicago

Notes:

Carl Zimmer, “DNA Studies Suggest Emperor Is Most Ancient of Penguins,”
   New York Times
, October 11, 2005, late edition, LexisNexis Academic.

Bibliography:

Zimmer, Carl. “DNA Studies Suggest Emperor Is Most Ancient of Penguins.”
   New York Times
, October 11, 2005, late edition. LexisNexis Academic.

[According to The Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.), DOI is preferred, but if not available, use the shortest, most stable form of the URL. For library databases, if no DOI or persistent URL is available, include the name of the database and, in parentheses, any identification number provided, if present. (Section 14.271, p. 763)]

 


CSE

Milza J. Eating fish during pregnancy can help improve baby's IQ.
Staten Island Adv 2007 Feb 21;Sect C:5. In: Campus Research:
News & Law [database on the Internet]. New York (NY): West
Products; c2007 [cited 2007 Feb 22]. [about 12 paragraphs].
Available from: http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=391.


From online news service

APA Obituaries in the news. (2007, February 21). Associated Press.
    Retrieved http://news.yahoo.com/


MLA

"Obituaries in the News."Associated Press 21 Feb. 2007. Yahoo!
    New
s. Web. 22 Feb. 2007.


Chicago

Notes:

Associated Press, “Afraid of Laundry? You Will Be After Reading This,” USA Today, July 17,
  2008, http://www.usatoday.com.

*Online news service article citations are usually listed only in notes and parenthetical references and not in bibliographies or references.

 


CSE

[No example provided in current edition.]