SSC441: Wildlife and Wildland Conservation
Course Resources - Fall 2014
Six Things Your Librarian Wants You to Master for Success at UB
1.On Being a Scientist: A Guide to Responsible Conduct in Research, Third Edition, <http://www.nap.edu/catalog.php?record_id=12192#description> published by the Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences in 2009. Should be required reading. It supplements lessons by faculty, supervisors and mentors, and describes ethical foundations of scientific practices and personal and professional issues researchers encounter throughout their careers. While written for the physical, biological and life sciences, it has great use for policy science, management, and planning settings in which wildlife and wild land conservationists, ecologists, and planners will continue to study and work. Print copies are in Reference Collections in the Silverman and Health Sciences Libraries and in the Book Collection (can be borrowed) in Lockwood Library at Q180 .A1 O58 2009. It can be accessed online in full-text formats directly from the National Academy Press and via the UB Libraries Catalog.
- University Libraries Home Page is your gateway for one-stop shopping for library research: searching for books, databases, news, and help for navigating the oceans of information and mountains of data. The University Libraries catalog of all holdings is accessed from this page. Associate Librarian, Fred Stoss, is available for consultation individually or in groups for identifying the most appropriate resources and developing effective and efficient search strategies. firstname.lastname@example.org.
Resources by Subject: Biologyand b. Resources by Subject Ecology & Environment locates subject-specific information within the UB Libraries (bibliographic and reference databases, electronic journal collections, reference books, library news, etc. and selectively from outside resources such as Web-based subject guides and other online resources.
- It is important for students to become members of the professional societies and associations in which they seek careers. Being a member (students generally get greatly reduced dues and fees to join) has tremendous networking, resources sharing, and current awareness benefits. Such professional associations include the Wildlife Management Institute, the Wildlife Society, Ecological Society of America, the Society of American Foresters, Student Conservation Association (GREATresource for summer jobs, internships, etc.), Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies, Wildlands Network, Society for Ecological Restoration.
Geospatial Services of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Geospatial data and services are critical elements needed to meet the mission of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS). Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Global Positioning systems (GPS), and remote sensing are the primary elements which fall under the geospatial data and services umbrella. If you have needs for other data resources for climate change, biodiversity, land use, etc. see #6 and contact your librarian and set up an appointment for a detailed overview of your data and inforamtion needs.
- Global Change Master Directory (GCMD). Earth Systems data resources can be extremely useful for students studying wildlife and wild lands conservation and related fields and disciplines. The GCMD is supported and funded by NASA. GCMD holds more than 31,000 Earth science data set and service descriptions, which cover subject areas within the Earth and environmental sciences. The project mission is to assist researchers, policy makers, and the public in the discovery of and access to data, related services, and ancillary information. The GMCD's Primary responsibility is maintinaing a complete inventory (now at about 35,000 datasets) and catalog of all NASA Earth science data sets and services.
Fred Stoss is YOUR librarian. He holds an undergraduate degree in biology, a graduate degree in zoology, and a Master of Library Science Degree. He is an Associate Librarian for the Biological Sciences, Geology, and Mathematics, and shares responsibilities with others for Ecology and Environmental Science/Studies. His Website provides office hours and contact information. His advice: “Do not wait until the last minute to start your library research, which is an integral part of your learning experiences at UB. Make that experience meaningful and of high quality.” His email is email@example.com and his phone number: 716 645-1337.