Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

American Culture Series, 1493-1875 (Microform Collection)


Description

This collection contains American books and pamphlets from 1493-1875. These materials are basic sources for the study of the development of American civilization and culture.

Series I (1493-1806) contains selected titles dealing with early American government, printing, belles letters, travel literature, historiography, the American Revolution, and the French and Indian War.

Series II (1493-1875) major categories include history, literature and language, anthropology, sociology, art, archaeology, philosophy, psychology, religion, music, education, journalism, politics, law, military and naval history, science, and economics.


Location

American Culture Series, 1493-1875 is at call number MicFilm E169.1 .A47. Check the library catalog for location.


Access

Individual titles are located in the Libraries catalog, via title search for American Culture Series.

Additional access is available through:

American Culture Series, 1493-1875: a Cumulative Guide to the Microfilm Collection. This is an inclusive guide with author, title, and reel number indexes.  It has call number: Reference E169.1 .A47 1974 Guide. Check the library catalog for location.

Bibliography of American Culture, 1493-1875. This is a listing of basic, pre 1876 Americana on which the microform collection is based. It is arranged by topics, providing a subject approach to research. It has call number Z1215 .A585. Check the library catalog for location.