Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Early English Books, 1475-1640 (Microform Collection)


Description

This collection consists microfilm copies of books printed in English from the advent of printing in England in 1475 through 1640.

In addition to the monographs, the collection includes military, legal, Parliamentary and other public documents as well as original almanacs, calendars, broadsides, liturgies and popular pamphlets.


Location

Early English Books, 1475-1640 is located at call number MicFilm PR1121 .U6. Check the library catalog for location.

They are also available online as Early English Books Online.


Access

Individual titles are not all located in the library catalog.

Access is available through:

Items for this collection are taken from the following bibliographies:

Indexes to the collection:

  • Early English books, 1475-1640: Cross Index to Reels. This material provides cross-indexing of STC (Short Title Catalog) numbers with reel numbers for items filmed.  PR1121 .U6 Cross Index Check the library catalog for location.
  • Early English books, 1475-1640: A Guide to the Microform Collection. This guide lists the contents of each “subscription unit” by reel. PR1121 .U6 Index Check the library catalog for location.

 

A Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland, and of English Books Printed Abroad, 1475-1640.  Z2002 .P77  (also at  Z2002 .J3) Check library catalog for locations.

English Short Title Catalogue 1473-1800. This CD-ROM includes the Eighteenth Century Short-Title Catalog (ESTC) and the two print short-title catalogs covering 1475-1700.   Z699.4 .E17 1998  Check the catalog for location.