Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

ENG 610 Shakespeare in the 21st Century: Research Guide



For questions regarding class assignments, contact:
Professor Carla Mazzio
Associate Professor of English
University at Buffalo
513 Clemens Hall
Email: cjmazzio@buffalo.edu


Full Text Resources and Primary Resources

  • Early English Books Online (EEBO) (ProQuest)

    From the first book published in English through 1700, EEBO will provide the full texts of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). Titles in the collection are presented as online images, as well as downloadable PDF documents. Not all 125,000 books are yet included.

  • Renascence Editions

    An Online Repository of Works Printed in English between the Years 1477 and 1799.

  • First Folio (eds. John Heminge, Henry Condell), hosted by Tufts University
  • Internet Shakespeare Editions and Resource Guide
  • Google Books

    Search and preview millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide using Google Book Search.

  • Global Shakespeares

    The Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive at MIT is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata by scholars and educators in the field.

  • Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare

    Contains eleven major historical editions (First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6), twenty-eight contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha, and more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques (17th-19th centuries).

    Access through Literature Online under Individual Literature Collections: http://catalog.lib.buffalo.edu/vufind/Record/001996401

  • Renaissance: The Elizabethan World

    A collection of various Elizabethan-related texts and links, most notably the home for Life in Elizabethan England: A Compendium of Common Knowledge, 1558-1603.

  • Sixteenth Century Ballads

    A full-text database of pre-1600 ballads.


Internet Resources

1. Selected Resources for History of Science and History of the Environment

2. Visual Archives, Backgrounds, and Historical Context

3. Resources on Shakespeare

4. Gateways to Renaissance and Early Modern literary resources

  • ITER Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

    Includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).

  • Early Modern Web Resources

    A selective and well organized page from the University of Michigan; a good starting point for research on the web.

  • Early Modern Resources

    A Gateway for finding electronic resources related to the early modern period. Brings together a wide range of online resources for the period.

  • Literary Resources on the Net

    Comprehensive listing of "Literary Resources on the Net," organized by period. One of the best places for scholarly research on the Internet. Many resources on this page were taken from the Renaissance section.

  • Sixteenth Century Renaissance English Literature (1485-1603)

    Provides a number of full text resources for authors of the period, as well as a very useful list containing links to Background Information (with sections on Renaissance science and medicine, dance, costume, music, and more).

  • Renaissance: The Elizabethan World

    A collection of various Elizabethan-related texts and  links, most notably the home for Life in Elizabethan England: A Compendium of Common Knowledge, 1558-1603.

  • Sixteenth Century Ballads

    A full-text database of pre-1600 ballads.

5. Shakespeare Films and Adaptations


Databases, Collections, and Journals

1. Databases and Collections

  • Project MUSE

    Provides full-text online editions of over 300 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published by The Johns Hopkins University Press and other scholarly publishers. Searchers can conduct queries across all included journals, or choose selected or individual journals. Leads to full-text articles in the project journals, largely in the disciplines of Cultural Studies, History, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion and Theater.

  • JSTOR

    Full-text of the most important journals in the social sciences, humanities, general sciences as well as in the fields of mathematics, botany & ecology

  • Selected Electronic Journals

    Selected list of electronic journals in the field of Modern Literatures received at the Library.

  • MLA

    MLA International Bibliography, which is compiled by the Modern Language Association of America, contains citations to books, journal articles and dissertations published on literature, modern languages, linguistics, and folklore.

  • Periodicals Index Online

    Periodicals Index Online (PIO) , formerly PCI - Periodicals Content Index, indexes over 5,000 academic and popular periodicals published from as early as the late 17th century through 1995 (or last date of publication) in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

  • World Shakespeare Bibliography Online

    An online database with access to citations to articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and reviews published on Shakespeare from 1960 to present.

  • ITER

    Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).

  • Film Reviews

    Literature Online

    Humanities Source

    Academic Search Complete

2. Journals of Particular Interest


Dictionaries

  • Early Modern English Dictionary

    This site from the University of Toronto provides a search engine to several electronic early modern English dictionaries. Designed to make accessible the English-language content of bilingual (English and other languages) and monolingual (English-only) dictionaries, glossaries, grammars, and encyclopedias published in England from 1500 to 1660.

  • Middle English Dictionary

    Provides a comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500, based on the analysis of a collection of over three million citation slips. Part of the Middle English Compendium, which also provides access to a HyperBibliography and the Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.

  • Oxford English Dictionary

    Provides the history and development of English words through the last 800 years.

  •  Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) Provides full-text access to over 9,000 critical and biographical essays
    on British and American authors from all eras and genres.  
                                 

UB Catalog, Citation Help, and Delivery+


Selected Sources

Examples of Sources in Special Collections Library (420 Capen Hall)

  1. Bacon, Francis. Sylva sylvarum: or, A naturall history. In ten centuries. London: Printed by J. Haviland for William Lee, 1639.
  2. Bartholomaeus. Batman uppon Bartholome: his booke De proprietatibus rerum, newly corrected, enlarged and ammended: with such additions as are requisite, unto every several booke: taken foorth of the most approved authors, the like heretofore not translated in English. Profitable for all estates, as well for the benefite of the mind as the bodie. London: Thomas East, 1582.
  3. 3. Brathwait, Richard. Essaies upon the five senses: revived by a new supplement; with a pithy one upon detraction. Continued with sundry Christian resolves, and divine contemplations ... London: Printed by Anne Griffin, and to bee sold by Henry Shephard, 1635.
  4. Burton, Robert. In three maine partitions with their seuerall sections, members and svbsections. Philosophically, medicinally, historically, opened and cvt vp…The anatomy of melancholy, vvhat it is. vvith all the kindes, caveses, symptomes, prognostickes, and severall cvres of it… By Democritvs Iunior [pseud.] With a satyricall preface, conducing to the following discourse. Macrob. omne meum, nihil meum. Oxford: Printed by Iohn Lichfield and lames Short, for Henry Cripps, 1621.
  5. Church of England. Certaine sermons or homilies appointd to be read in chvrches: in the time of the late Queene Elizabeth of famous memory. And now thought fit to bee reprinted by authority from the Kings most excellent Maiestsie. London: Printed by Iohn Bill, printer to the Kings most excellent Maiestsie, 1623.
  6. Cleland, James. Hero-paideia: or The institution of a young noble man. Oxford: Printed by Joseph Barnes, 1607.
  7. Cowell, John. The interpreter, or, Booke containing the signification of words : wherein is set foorth the true meaning of all, or the most part of such words and termes, as are mentioned in the lawe vvriters, or statutes of this victorious and renowned kingdome, requiring any exposition or interpretation. A worke not onely profitabel, but necessary for such as desire thoroughly to be instructed in the knowledge of our lawes, statutes, or other antiquities. Cambridge: Printed by Iohn Legate, 1607.
  8. Crooke, Helkiah. Mikrokosmographia: A description of the body of man ... Collected and translated out of all the best authors of anatomy, expecially Gaspar Bauhinus and Andreas Laurentius. London: Printed by W. Iaggard, 1618.
  9. Daniel, Samuel. The Whole Workes of Samvel Daniel Esquire in Poetrie. [Ornament] London, Printed by Nicholas Okes, for Simon Waterson, and are to be sold at his shoppe in Paules Church-yard, at the Signe of the Crowne, 1623.
  10. Descartes, René. Renatus Des-Cartes Excellent compendium of musick: with necessary and judicious animadversions thereupon…By a person of honour. London: Printed by T. Harper, for H. Moseley, 1653.
  11. Drayton, Michael. Poly-Olbion, or A chorographicall description of tracts, riuers, mountaines, forests, and other parts of this renowned Isle of Great Britaine : with intermixture of the most remarquable stories, antiquities, wonders, rarityes, pleasures and commodities of the same… London: Printed by H.L. for Mathew Lownes, I. Browne, I. Helme, and I. Busbie, 1613-1622.
  12. Foxe, John. The ecclesiasticall historie : conteyning the acts and monvments of martyrs, with a generall discourse of these latter persecutions, horrible troubles and tumultes, stirred vp by Romish prelates in the church, with diuers other things incident, especially to this realme of England and Scotland, as partly also to all other forreine nations appertaining, from the time of King Henry the VIII to Queene Elizabeth our gracious ladie now reigning. London: Printed by P. Short, 1597. 2 vols.
  13. Gainsford, Thomas. The glory of England: or, A trve description of many excellent prerogatiues and remarkable blessings, whereby she triumpheth ouer all the nations in the world: with a justifiable comparison betweene her selfe, and the eminent kingdomes of the earth, plainely manifesting the defects of them all in regard of her sufficiency, and fulnesse of happinesse. London: Printed for Thomas Dewe,1622.
  14. Gesner, Konrad. The practise of the new and old phisicke, wherein is contained the most excellent secrets of phisicke and philosophie, deuided into foure bookes. In the which are the best approued remedies for the diseases as well inward as outward, of al the parts of mans body: treating very amplie of al distillations of waters, of oyles, balmes, quintessences, with the extraction of artificiall saltes, the vse and preparation of antimony, and potable gold gathered out of the best & most approued authors…London: Peter Short, 1599.
  15. Guillemeau, Jacques. Child-birth; or, The happy deliverie of women: Together with the diseases, which happen to women ... and the meanes to helpe them. To which is added, a treatise of the diseases of infants ... with the cure of them ... London: A. Hatfield, 1612.
  16. J. B. (John Bulwer). Anthropometamorphosis: man transform'd: or, The artificiall changling. London: Printed by W. Hunt, 1653.
  17. Lowe, Peter. A discourse of the whole art of chyrurgerie… Wherein is exactly set downe the definition, causes, accidents, prognostications, and cures of all sorts of diseases, both in generall and particular, which at any time heretofore have been practized by any chirurgion: according to the opinion of all the ancient professors of that science ... London: Printed by Thomas Purfoot, 1612.
  18. May, Thomas. The tragedie of Cleopatra queen of Ægypt. London, Printed by the Thomas Harper for Thomas Walkly, 1639.
  19. Nicolay, Nicolas. The nauigations, peregrinations and voyages: made into Turkie by Nicholas Nicholay Daulphinois, lord of Arfeuile ... conteining sundry singularities which the author hath there seene and obserued: deuided into foure bookes, with threescore figures, naturally set forth as well of men as women, according to the diuersitie of nations ... London: Imprinted by T. Dawson, 1585.
  20. Palmer, Thomas. An essay of the meanes hovy to make our trauailes, into forraine countries, the more profitable and honourable. London: Imprinted, by H. [umphrey] L. [ownes] for Mathew Lwones, 1606.
  21. Plutarch. The lives of the noble Grecians and Romains, compared together by that grave learned philosopher and historiographer Plutarch of Chæronea: Translated out of Greeke into French by Iames Amiot ... with the lives of Hannibal and Scipio African: translated out of Latine into French by Charles del' Escluse, and out of French into English, by Sir Thomas North knight. Hereunto are also added the lives of Epaminondas, of Philip of Macedon, of Dionysius the elder, tyrant of Sicilia, of Augustus Cæsar, of Plutarch, and of Seneca: with the lives of nine other excellent chieftaines of warre: collected out of Æmylius Probus, by S.G.S. and Englished by the aforesaid translator. London, Printed by G. Miller, and are to be sold by R. Allott, 1631.
  22. Prynne, William. Histrio-Mastix: The Players Scovrge, or, Actors Tragædie, Divided into Two Parts. Wherein it is largely evidenced, by divers Arguments, by the concurring Authorities and Resolutions of sundry texts of Scripture, of the whole Primitive CHurch, both under the Law and Gospell; of 55 Synodes and Councels; of 71 Fathers and Christian Writers, before the yeare of our Lord 1200 ... London: Printed by E.A. and W.I. for Michael Sparke, and are to be sold at the blue Bible, in Greene Arbour, in little Old Bayly. 1633.
  23. Purchas, Samuel. Pvrchas his Pilgrimage. Or, Relations of the world and the religions observed in all ages and places discouered, from the creation unto this present. In foure partes. This first containeth a theologicall and geographicall historie of Asia, Africa, and America, with the ilands adiacent. Declaring the ancient religions before the flovd, the heathnish, Jewish, and Saracenicall in all ages since... By Samuel Pvrchas. 1st ed. London, Printed by W. Stansby for H. Fetherstone, 1613.
  24. Rainolds, John. The overthrow of stage-playes: by the way of controversie betwixt D. Gager and D. Rainoldes, wherein all the reasons that can be made for them are notably refuted; the objections answered, and the case so cleared and resolved, as that the judgement of any man, that is not froward and perverse, may easilie bee satisfied… Oxford: Printed by Iohn Lichfield for E. Forrest and W. Webbe, 1629.
  25. Remmelin, Johann. A survey of the microcosme; or, The anatomy of the bodies of man and woman. Wherein the skin, veins, arteries, nerves, muscles, viscera, bones, and ligaments thereof are accurately delineated, and so disposed by pasting, as that all parts of the said bodies, both internal and external, are exactly represented in their proper site. Useful for all physicians, chyrurgeons, statuaries, painters, &c… London: D. Midwinter and T. Leigh, 1702.
  26. Rosselli, Giovanne de. Epulario, or, The Italian banquet: wherein is shewed the maner how to dresse and prepare all kind of flesh, foules or fishes: as also how to make sauces, tartes, pies, &c., after the maner of all countries with an addition of many other profitable and necessary things. London: Printed by A.I. for William Barley, 1598.
  27. Tomkis, Thomas. Lingva: or, The combat of the tongue, and the fiue senses for superiority: A pleasant comœdie. London: Printed by Nicholas Okes, for Simon Waterson, 1617.
  28. Vesalius, Andreas. De humani corporis fabrica libri septem. Basileae: [Ex officina I. Oporini, 1543].

For Additional Research help, see Shakespeare- A Research & Reference Guide