This list is designed as a starting point for searching for pharmacy and drug-related information, and has been broken into several categories for your convenience. If you have suggestions for this page, please contact Deborah Chiarella.
- EMBASE.com – International coverage of the drug literature, with excellent support for searching by drug administration routes and by specific drug-related filters. Includes MEDLINE database as well. Top pick.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) – Primary biomedical database. Ovid’s search interface allows for powerful, flexible command-line searches.
- Web of Science – Citation searching to find what articles have been cited, how frequently, and where. An excellent option for searching uncommon or unusual topics, especially when one or two “seed” articles have been located already.
- HUBNET – HUBNET serves as our consortium buyer for several major drug databases, including:
- Clinical Pharmacology
- Clinical Key
- Natural Standard
- Lexi-Comp Drug
- Physicians Desk Reference
- STAT!Ref which includes AHFS, Goodman & Gilman’s, and the USPDI Advice for the Patient
All these resources should be accessed directly through HUBNET. Click the Go To HUBNET button on the main page and follow the links:
Off-network access to these resources varies. Check the “Availability” link next to each resource for more information.
- Basic and Clinical Pharmacology – A general pharmacology textbook from Rittenhouse Digital LIbrary.
- Goodman & Gilman's Pharmacologic Basics of Therapeutics - Access Medicine textbook
- Trissel's Handbook of Injectable Drugs – A Rittenhouse title chronicling all injectables. Use the “Index” on the left-hand column to navigate this e-book.
- Rittenhouse R2 Digital Library - Contains an A-Z drug index.
- Rx Times – Drug-related news and announcements.
- Eye on FDA – Covers the approval and marketing of pharmaceutical drugs.
- Medworm Pharmaceuticals News – Keep up with all the pharmacy news via this custom RSS feed.
- NLM Drug Information Portal - This resource provides the public, healthcare professionals, and researchers with a gateway to current and accurate drug information from the National Library of Medicine and to other key government agencies.
- Pharmacy Law Resources - A collection of resources related to pharmacy and the law.
- PharmGuide - A list of reliable, vetted internet resources for drug information. Compiled and updated by pharmacy librarians.