Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Physician Directories



American Medical Association's DoctorFinder

Online at: https://apps.ama-assn.org/doctorfinder/home.jsp

DoctorFinder is a comprehensive directory of United States physicians published by the American Medical Association.

Through the patient portal, search by name and location or specialty and location to find:

  1. Basic contact and office information of AMA-licensed physicians
  2. Self-designated specialties of AMA-licensed physicians
  3. Licensure, certification, medical education and hospital admitting privileges of AMA-licensed physicians

New York State Physician Profile

Online at: http://www.nydoctorprofile.com/welcome.jsp

A great resource, New York State Physician Profile is a directory of physicians licensed in New York State published by the New York State Department of Health (NYSDOH).

New York State Physician Profile searches for information about:

  • A physician's medical education
  • A physician's board certifications
  • A physician's practice information
  • Translation services at a physician's office
  • Legal actions taken against a physician

ABMS Directory of Board Certified Medical Specialists (BoardCertifiedDocs)

Online at: http://www.boardcertifieddocs.com/abms/search.htm?searchType=quicksearch (Subscription access through HUBNET)

A directory published by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS).

ABMS Directory lists a physician's:

  • Certification information from the 24 approved medical specialty boards in the United States
  • Basic contact and practice information
  • Biographical information
  • Medical education
  • Professional memberships

Print version: HSL Stacks W22.AA1 D5982 44th ed. (2012)


Directory of Physicians in the United States

Health Sciences Library Stacks W22.AA1 A512 2011

This print directory lists over 875,000 practicing physicians, residents, administrators, teachers, researchers and retired physicians.

4 volumes compiled from primary sources only

  • Volume 1: alphabetical index
  • Volume 2-4: geographical register arranged alphabetically by state and city

America's Top Doctors

Health Sciences Library Reference W22 AA1 A653 2010 (9th ed.)

A specialized print directory that identifies and provides information on:

  • select leading medical centers and specialty hospitals in the US
  • TOP specialists for care and treatment of more than 1,700 diseases/medical conditions, 60 medical specialties and subspecialties
  • Organized by region

Information provided:

  • Name
  • Special Expertise
  • Address / Phone
  • Medical school attended
  • Residency
  • Fellowship
  • Faculty appointment

Canadian Medical Directory

Health Sciences Library Reference W22.DC2 C22 2013 (59th ed.)

A print directory of Canadian physicians that includes a physician's:

  • Name
  • Hospital appointment and/or university appointment
  • Contact information
  • University and year of graduation, medical degrees, fellowships, and certifications
  • Languages spoken
  • Field of practice

Sections are organized as follows:

  • Physicians in Canada, listed alphabetically by last name
  • Languages Spoken by Physicians
  • Physicians by Province
  • Specialists by Province

Medicare Physician Compare

Online at: http://www.medicare.gov/Physician/Search/PhysicianSearch.asp?CookiesEnabledStatus=True

A directory of Medicare participating physicians who have agreed to accept assignment on all Medicare claims and covered services.

Search by state, county, city, zip code or last name for:

  • Names
  • Addresses
  • Phone numbers
  • Specialties
  • Other important information of Medicare participating physicians

Find a DO

Online at: http://www.osteopathic.org/osteopathic-health/Pages/find-a-do-search.aspx

An online directory of osteopathic physicians courtesy of the American Osteopathic Association.