Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

nur370



Welcome!

I am the librarian at the Health Sciences Library that works with the Nursing School. I am happy to provide library support during the course and the rest of your time here at UB.

You can email ASKHSL or email me when you need library help. Or call the reference Desk at 829-5683 or my direct number at 829-5750.  Our also have an Instant Librarian Chat Service.


Two Databases You Need to Know About

CINAHL and MEDLINE (or PubMed/MEDLINE)

For finding articles suitable for your Future Trends Article and Group Debate assignments you might find these short videos helpful.  They provide an excellent introduction if you are new to searching or review if your skills are rusty.

PLEASE NOTE THE INTERFACES HAVE CHANGED SINCE THESE WERE RECORDED - contact me if you run into trouble!


Professional References

You need professional references.  Wondering how to tell the difference between scholarly and popular articles?

92 second YouTube video -  APOLOGIES in ADVANCE for the 10 second commercial that may display

or look at another readable and printable summary to tell the difference between popular and scholarly articles.

  • Tip: Nursing Research, ANS: Advances in Nursing Science, and Cardiovascular Nursing are scholarly nursing journals.
  • These are not: AAOHN (American Association of Occupational Health Nurses) News, Hospital and Nursing Home Week, Nurse Practitioner World News, Nursing Bulletin.

By the way, do you know what "Peer Reviewed" or "Refereed" Mean?  Here's an excellent and easy read.  

Use the Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to find out if a journal is refereed. Or look at the journal’s website.


All of the following searchable subject terms have trends as a subheading in CINAHL:

  • genetic counseling
  • genetic screening
  • advertising
  • consumer participation
  • emigration and immigration

Try these terms limiting to TITLE in CINAHL:

  • personalized medicine
  • deep sedation
  • Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act
  • hospital at home
  • medical home
  • health literacy
  • emerging infectious diseases

Try these subject terms on their own

  • genetic privacy
  • cultural competence
  • social marketing
  • sedation (combined with) terminal care
  • bioterrorism
  • special populations
  • transients and migrants
  • CPR (combined with) family (with) presence

All of the following searchable subject terms have trends as a subheading in Medline:

  • individualized medicine
  • pharmacogenetics
  • genetic privacy (interested in the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008?)
  • genetic counseling
  • genetic testing
  • advertising as topic
  • healthcare disparities
  • consumer participation

Try these terms limiting to the TITLE in Medline:

  • hospital at home
  • medical home

Try these subject terms on their own

  • cultural competency
  • social marketing
  • bioterrorism
  • health status disparities
  • health literacy
  • emigration and immigration
  • transients and migrants

Electronic Journals

When you already have the citation information for a journal article that you would like (if you need to identify articles on your topic - use the databases):

Click on the E-Journals link on the Health Sciences Library's main page
OR
bookmark the HSL Electronic Journals page directly

As a rule-of-thumb, most e-journals began around 1995. Check our library catalog to see if we have a print copy for earlier years, or if we only have a print copy of a journal and not an electronic one. If it is in our collection, we will make a copy for you and email it via Delivery+ (formerly known as ILLiad).


APA

You need to use the APA 2010 manual (6th edition) for proper formatting.

A complete online copy is not available but maybe these links will answer most of your APA formatting questions. If you happen to visit the Health Sciences Library, we have two print copies - one on reserve at the Circulation Desk and one in the Reference Writing section.

APA's Tutorial - the Basics of APA Style

Need a visual? Here’s a sample step-by-step paper prepared by APA using the 6th edition.

APA's Frequently Asked Questions

Another source for quick answers - Purdue OWL - Online Writing Lab


Other Handy Things to Know

Many More Databases

The library has many more biomedical databases for you. Here is a list of nursing databases I compiled for you, with links.  Also, consult our more comprehensive biomedical database list.

Database Limiters

Databases have ways to limit or refine your search.

In CINAHL, good limiters to keep in mind include:

  • English language
  • last 5 years
  • journal article (eliminates opinion pieces, editorials...)
  • research article
  • peer-reviewed
  • journal subset Nursing or Core Nursing

Delivery+ (formerly known as ILLiad)

Oh, no! Did you find a great article and UB does not have it? We’ll get it for you - fast and at no charge to you.

Presenting Your Stuff

Evaluating Health Websites - a one page sheet from the National Library of Medicine covering what you should notice

EndNote

Find out what this software does and how it can help you with writing and citing. (runtime 90 seconds)

Download EndNote - no charge

Here’s how to Export references from EBSCO (CINAHL) into EndNote (EndNote software must be on your computer):

  • Conduct search
  • Click on the “Add to Folder” link for each item you want
  • When you have added all of your desired citations to your folder, click on “Folder has items” (located above your search results or on the right hand side “Go to: folder view”)
  • Check items to export
  • Click on Export

Select Direct Export to EndNote, ProCite, CITAVI, or Reference Manager and then click on Save.

Even if EndNote is closed, this action will launch EndNote. Choose your EndNote library.

The citations you selected will automatically be exported to your EndNote library.

Contact me if you would like a copy of the EndNote handout we use when teaching classes.

BYE!