- MEDLINE via OVID
Largest comprehensive medical database of scientific articles. Partial full-text, NOT recommended for general knowledge questions
A freely accessible database open to the public but maintained by the National Library of Medicine covering articles in all aspects of the health sciences field.
Database and website for consumer health information that brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in easy-to-understand language.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of the people of the United States. Their “spotlights” section includes the latest information on emerging diseases.
- Erie County Works Department
Your information resource from the government of Erie County, New York”, offering links to over 12 different emergency agencies including FEMA, the FBI, the White House, NYS Police, and Homeland Security’s Ready.gov site, as well as a wealth of information on county happenings.
- WNY 2-1-1
The online version of the WNY 2-1-1 database, which lists every government program, nonprofit organization and support group serving Erie County. WNY 2-1-1, a private nonprofit corporation, offers individuals free and confidential referrals to Western New York health and human service providers.
- New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
The DEC page has links to their 9 regional offices (this area is Region 9, Niagara, Erie, Wyoming, Chautauqua, Cattaraugus and Allegany counties (716) 851-7000), as well as information about environmental regulations, licenses, permits, information about campgrounds, environmental notices, maps, pollution prevention, household hazardous waste, pest management, and forestry.
- New York State Department of Health
The basic homepage with generalized information for citizens of New York State. Includes a continuous scrolling news alert, as well as basic information about the state situation concerning current public health threats such as SARS and West Nile Virus. Links in the Public Health Forum section include notices of meetings and conferences, links to the Official Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regulations (NYCRR) titles 10 (Health) and 18 (Social Welfare) with full text search capability.
- New York State Department of Mental Health
Operates psychiatric centers across the state, and also regulates, certifies and oversees more than 4,500 programs which are operated by local governments and nonprofit agencies. These programs include various inpatient and outpatient programs, emergency, community support, residential, and family care programs.
- Western New York Poison Center
Based at Children’s Hospital, the Western New York Regional Poison Control Center offers immediate treatment advice through a 24-hour telephone hotline. The web site also offers background information on substances commonly involved in poisoning and prevention.
Public Health is classified under WA; WA1-106 covers general public health, WA108-245 covers preventive medicine, WA670-847 covers sanitation and environmental control, and WA900-950 covers statistics an surveys. Relevant works are also classed under QV (Toxicology), and W1-96 (general Health Professions). Selected entries Include basic public health information, as well as works specific to Erie County and the State of New York. Titles selected as examples of data available.
- Air pollution and lung cancer in Erie County, New York / by John Edward Vena. Thesis (Ph.D.) State University of New York at Buffalo, 1980.
– HSL Thesis Section, 3rd Floor.
- Emerging infections 8 / edited by W. Michael Scheld, Scott M. Hammer & James M. Hughes. Publisher: Washington, D.C. : ASM
– HSL: WA 110 E534 (2008)
- Encyclopedia of pestilence, pandemics, and plagues / edited by Joseph P. Byrne ; foreword by Anthony S. Fauci. Publisher: Greenwood Press.
– Lockwood: RA652 .E535 (2008 - v.1-v.2)
- Erie County vital statistics. Selected ... data by zip codes and five year average incidence of [disease] ..., by census tracts. Buffalo, NY : Bureau of Disease Control, Erie County Health Dept.
– HSL: WA 546 .AN6 .E6 E6 (2006/2008)
- Essentials of public health / Bernard J. Turnock. Publisher: Jones & Bartlett Learning.
– HSL: WA 540 AA1 T956 (2012)
- Evaluating public and community health programs / Muriel J. Harris. Publisher: Jossey-Bass.
– HSL: W 84.41 H315e (2010)
- Evidence-based public health / Ross C. Brownson ... [et al.]. Publisher: Oxford University Press.
– HSL: WA 100 E93 (2011)
- HIV prevention: a comprehensive approach / edited by Kenneth H. Mayer and Hank F. Pizer. Publisher: Elsevier/Academic Press (2009)
- Online: Electronic Book
- An Integrated framework for assessing the value of community-based prevention / Committee on Valuing Community-Based, Non-Clinical Prevention Programs, Board on Population Health and Public Health Practice, Institute of Medicine of the National Academies. National Academies Press (2012)
- Onine: Electronic book
- Living weapons : biological warfare and international security / Gregory D. Koblentz. Publisher: Cornell University Press.
– Lockwood: UG447.8 .K637 (2009)
- Local planning for terror and disaster / Leonard A. Cole. Publisher: John Wiley & Sons (2012)
- Online: Electronic book
- Love Canal follow-up health study : project report to ATSDR : public comment draft / prepared by the Center for Environmental Health, New York State Department of Health, for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
– HSL: WA 788 LOVCF 206-9542 (2006)
- Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett’s principles and practice of infectious diseases / [edited by] Gerald L. Mandell, John E. Bennett, Raphael Dolin. Publisher: Churchill Livingstone/Elsevier.
– HSL: WC 100 M2713 (2010 - v.1-v.2)
- National strategy for countering biological threats / National Security Council.
– Online: Electronic Book
- New York health care in perspective Publisher: Morgan Quitno Corp. 4th ed.(1996) –
– HSL WA 16 N532 Reference Statistics Section
- Nutrition in public health : a handbook for developing programs and services / edited by Sari Edelstein. Publisher: Jones & Bartlett Learning. 3rd ed.
– HSL: RA601 .N84 (2011)
- Occupational and environmental health : recognizing and preventing disease and injury / edited by Barry S. Levy ... [et al.]. Publisher: Oxford University Press
– HSL: WA 440 O15 (2011)
- Public health ethics : theory, policy, and practice / edited by Ronald Bayer ... [et al.]. Publisher: Oxford University Press.
– HSL: WA 21 P9752 (2007)
- Social and health landscape of urban and suburban America / Dennis P. Andrulis, Nanette J. Goodman ; National Public Health and Hospital Institute. Chicago : AHA Press, Health Forum.
– HSL: WA 900.AA1 A576s 1999 Reference Statistics Section
- Social and behavioral foundations of public health / edited by Jeannine Coreil. Publisher: Sage Publications.
– HSL: WA 31 S6767 (2010)
- Step-by-step guide to delivering clinical preventive services : a systems approach. Rockville, MD : U.S., Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
– HSL: WA 108 S827 (2001)
- Terrorism and public health : a balanced approach to strengthening systems and protecting people / edited by Barry S. Levy, Victor W. Sidel. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press.
– HSL: WA 295 T3277 (2003)
Programs are located in the Media Resources Center on the lower level of HSL.
- Bevel up drugs, users & outreach nursing / [presented by] the Street Nurse Program, the British Columbia Centre for Disease Control, Canada Wild Productions, and the National Film Board of Canada. DVD
– WY 108 B5714 (2007)
How can a nurse deliver effective and compassionate health care to people who use drugs? Bevel Up: Drugs, Users and Outreach Nursing follows a team of street nurses as they reach out to youth, sex workers and street entrenched men and women in the alleys and hotels of Vancouver’s inner city.
- Got BT? the New York State Public Health Laboratory and national security / New York Network SUNYSAT ; presented by the University at Albany, School of Public Health, Center for Public Health Preparedness. VHS
– WA295 .G683 (2004)
Describes a public health biological terrorism laboratory, as well as the information available to help local health departments with design plans to handle suspect samples.
- Rx for survival the heroes : a global health challenge / a co-production of the WGBH/Nova Science Unit and Vulcan Productions, Inc. DVD
– WA 530.1 .R989 (2006)
tells the real-life stories of unsung champions who protect people worldwide from the ravages of disease. Using highlights from the acclaimed six-hour Rx for Survival-a global health challenge series, this unique program takes viewers inside the stirring campaigns that have saved countless lives and renewed hope for poor communities around the world.
- Sick around the world / written by Jon Palfreman and T.R. Reid ; produced and directed by Jon Palfreman. DVD
– W 84.1 S566 (2008)
FRONTLINE correspondent T.R. Reid examines first-hand the health-care systems of other advanced capitalist democracies – UK, Germany, Switzerland, Japan, and Taiwan – to see what tried and tested ideas might help us reform our broken health-care system.
- Surge capacity learn from a real-life drill / HCPro (Firm). DVD
– WX 185 S961 (2006)
“This detailed training video features a real-life surge capacity drill conducted at Health First in Melbourne, FL. Watch how one hospital handles a mock disaster and hear Health First’s vice president of safety and security critique what worked, what didn’t, and why. The video highlights six common areas of focus to consider during your own drills, while companion tools on the accompanying CD-ROM will help you and your staff develop or improve your own drill.”
- Update on Bioterrorism / Eric S. Toner. DVD
– QW 300 T664u (2009)
Examines the relative risks of different agents–anthrax, smallpox, botulism, the hemorrhagic fevers, and others–and discusses a course of therapy for people exposed.
- UB Public Health Journals
Public Health E-Journals that the University at Buffalo has access to.