Evidence-Based Healthcare Resources for Nurses
Evidence-Based Healthcare Resources: The Best Places to Look was created by Sharon Murphy in support of nursing faculty, staff, and students at UB's School of Nursing.
This overview covers important resources for use in the quest for high-quality, evidence-based information to answer clinical questions. This section reviews salient evidence-based practice points.
Download Video: MP4. Runtime: 13 minutes.
Nursing Reference Center - Note! The HSL home page has changed. You will still find this resource under Databases.
Nursing Reference Center is a clinically-oriented reference tool for nurses. It contains concise nursing guides (Evidence Based Care Sheets) and full-text overviews (Quick Lessons).
Content is derived from a combination of essential, authoritative resources.
Use it when you need distilled, reliable clinical nursing information fast. Search tabs help you locate information on Diseases and Conditions, Skills and Procedures, Drug Information, Patient Education, Practice Resources (guidelines, instruments, and legal cases), and Continuing Education.
Download Video: MP4. Runtime: 8 minutes.
UpToDate - Note! The HSL home page has changed. You will still find this resource by clicking on the HUBNET tab.
UpToDate is an evidence-based, peer-reviewed information resource to answer clinical questions. Remote access is not available – use it at a UB library or on-campus. Although intended primarily for physicians, advanced practice nurses and clinical specialists will find it useful.
Experts provide topic reviews that include a synthesis if the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. It contains full-text summaries with high quality references.
Download Video: MP4. Runtime: 6 minutes.
EBM Reviews - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials Note! The HSL home page has changed. You will still find this resource under Databases.
Two important databases reside within the Evidence Based Medicine Reviews resource: Most useful are the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews consists of about 4500 full-text systematic reviews of the effectiveness of health care treatments of specific clinical conditions. Use TOPIC REVIEW to view the full-text. The references are evaluated and explicitly critiqued.
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials collects trials – one of the strongest forms of evidence. Cochrane collaborators pull from this repository when creating the systematic reviews. Use it to identify trials, then use the link to HSL’s holding to see if we have the article available.
Download Video: MP4. Runtime: 11 minutes.
PubMed Clinical Queries
PubMed Clinical Queries is a public resource for finding evidence-based journal articles to answer clinical practice questions. It is a filtered database and high-quality subset of MEDLINE.
It contains some free full-text. Accessing it through our HSL homepage (Note! The HSL home page has changed. You will still find access to PubMed under Databases) conveniently links to a check of HSL’s holdings for additional full-text that may be available.
- Systematic Reviews
- Clinical Studies
- Medical Genetics
PubMed Clinical Queries simultaneously searches for 3 different categories:
Download Video: MP4. Runtime: 4 minutes.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
The National Guideline Clearinghouse is found at guideline.gov
The National Guideline Clearinghouse is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. Continually updated, it collects objective, detailed information and provides full text.
It is free and open to the public.
Practice guidelines in Nursing Reference Center come from this resource.
Download Video: MP4. Runtime: 5 minutes.