Key Library Links:
- Libraries' Catalog – to locate any item that is available in our libraries, including books, journals, newspapers, and audio/visual materials.
- Call Number Arrangement – information on how to read call numbers
- Articles + (MultiSearch)- a federated search engine for searching across the library’s electronic resources in one simple interface. Multi Search provides citations and abstracts, as well as linking opportunities to full-text articles, electronic books, and records in the library’s catalog.
- Research Tips - an online guide designed to help you perform research in the University at Buffalo’s University Libraries, includes citation help.
- Annotated Bibliography - An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.
- UB Green Library
220 Winspear Ave., Buffalo, New York 14215 phone: (716) 829-3535
Open to the campus and community, the UB Green library contains a unique collection of environmental resources and media. Topics include sustainable lifestyles, environmental politics and economics, energy, vegetarianism, and an extensive section on green building design materials which appeal to the do-it-yourselfer and architect alike.
- University Facilities: Document Library - The Document Library houses North, South, Downtown and Off-site property information which includes architectural prints, specifications and related documentation for the University at Buffalo’s projects. The Document Library provides support to Facilities Planning and Design staff, Facilities Operations staff; approved vendors, contractors, and students. We are a division of University Facilities located within the John Beane Center, Buffalo, NY 14260-7300, P: (716) 645-5286. Student request for floor plans (form to fill out)
Best Starting Points:
- GroverArt Online - covers all aspects of art worldwide, including architecture and planning, painting, sculpture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography. Provides background information on artists, architects, cities, buildings, periods, styles, and more. Contains bibliographies and links to pertinent definitions and images.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - includes subject encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference works in broad subject areas, including issues related to architecture.
Key Planning Databases:
- Academic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary coverage of a broad range of scholarly areas, including the arts, humanities, social, and general sciences; literature, language, and linguistics; education and ethnic studies; computer sciences, engineering, physics, biology, chemistry, medical sciences, and more. Provides full text for approximately 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. Full-page images and color embedded images included.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals - comprehensive index to national and international architectural journals, both professional and popular. Covers architecture, urban planning and design, historic preservation, art, and related topics. Lists reviews for books, exhibitions, audiovisuals, websites, and citations for obituaries. Comprehensive coverage 1930 to the present; selective coverage from 1860 – 1830. Updated weekly.
- CQ Electronic Library - provides in-depth reporting on major, controversial issues in society. Includes complete summaries, histories, pros/cons, bibliographies for more information, and more.
Useful Reference Books:
- Encyclopedia of Community: from the Village to the Virtual World. Vol. 1-4. (APL Ref HM756 .E53 2003)
Arranged from A-Z, an interdisciplinary format of “compare and contrast” among topics such as types of communities, social capital, technology, urban life, politics and law, community design, and global studies.
- Planning and Urban Design Standards. (APL Ref TH2031 .P55 2006)
Provides specification and detailed information for various types of plans, environmental factors and hazards, building types, transportation planning, mapping and GIS. Also, provides advice on practical and graphical skills, such as mapping, plan types, and transportation planning.
- Planner’s Use of Information. (APL Ref TH391 .P54 2003)
Summarizes basic methods and information resources essential to planners. Provides detailed, useful discussion of field methods of collecting information; survey methods; information from secondary sources, analytical methods; working with small groups; public participation; computers and planning; speaking skills; written communications; graphic communication; and planning in the political context. Many chapters contain applications and bibliographies.
- Time Saver Standards for Urban Design. (APL Ref HT166 .T47 2003)
Covers significant topics such as design issues and principles, analysis, methodology, and technical details essential for planning, as well as case studies. Also includes classic writings by the leading thinkers in urban planning and discussions of cities considered exemplars in urban planning and design.
- Urban Design Handbook. (APL Ref NA9105 .U73 2003)
A guide that offers an introductory course in urbanism as well as an operations manual for architects, planners, developers, and public officials.
Statistical Information & Maps:
- American FactFinder - American Factfinder is the primary source for finding US Census data, including population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Data provided includes selected statistics from the 1990 Census of Population and Housing, such as population, education, ethnicity, and much more. Users can enter a zip code for a particular location and obtain a customized chart for the zipcode area. A text factsheet for the zipcode area can also be printed out. An outstanding place to begin a demographic profile.
- Census of Population and Housing - An informative guide created by the Census Librarian, Ed Herman.
- UB Libraries Map Collection: Buffalo & WNY Maps, Maps Librarian, David Burtuca