Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

The 100 Essential Books of Planning


from the American Planning Association – http://www.planning.org/library/greatbooks/pdf/100greatplanningbooks.pdf

1900′s:

Town Planning in Practice An Introduction to the Art of Designing Cities and Suburbs
(Sir) Richard Unwin, 1909
A masterful exposition on the fine points of site planning—such as the arrangement of buildings and streets, squares, and other public places—this book is one of the foundations of the field. Lushly illustrated with town plans and photos, Unwin’s book demonstrated how to plan cities at the human scale. This is an excellent book to share with local civil engineers.
Call number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection : NA9030 .U6 1971
Google Books – Online

An Introduction to City Planning Democracy’s Challenge to the American City
Benjamin Marsh, 1909
Marsh was one of the first and most vociferous leaders of the movement to use coordinated governmental action to address public health crises. “A city without a Plan,” he wrote, “is like a ship without a rudder.” Marsh became one of the major early advocates for zoning and planning in New York.
Call number: Libraries Annex: Non-Circulating: MicCard E169.1 .L4 LAC 10897
Google Book -Online


1910′s:

The Principles of Scientific Management
Frederick Winslow Taylor, 1911
Taylor’s highly influential argument was that both business and government should “functionalize work.” It gave support to the idea of separating politics from the administration of work, giving credence to rise of a professional class of planners, city engineers, city finance officers, and the like.
Call number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HD2353 .T19
Google Books – Online

Wacker’s Manual of the Plan of Chicago
Walter D. Moody, 1912
The first publication geared to elementary-school children on the subject of planning, this manual taught
children about Daniel Burnham’s The Plan of Chicago of 1909.
Call number: Libraries Annex: Non-Circulating: MicCard E169.1 .L4 LAC 10905
Google Books – Online

Carrying Out the City Plan
Flavel Shurtleff, Frederick L. Olmsted, 1914
Instigated by Olmsted, this was the first study of state planning law. Undertaken by landscape architect Flavel Shurtleff, the work became an indispensable tool for planners, planning commissioners, and attorneys as they developed the legal foundations and the practice of planning.
Google Books – Online

Cities in Evolution: An Introduction to the Town Planning Movement and to the Study of Civics
Patrick Geddes, 1915
Linking social reform and the urban environment, Geddes looked at cities comprehensively. All planning should preserve the unique historic character of the city and involve citizens in the planning of its development, he reasoned, sounding two themes that would reemerge in the 1950s and 1960s.
Call number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection & Lockwood Library Book Collection: NA9030 .G4 1968
Archive.org – Online

The Planning of the Modern City: A Review of the Principles Governing City Planning
Nelson P. Lewis, 1916
Focused on the physical city, Lewis viewed the problems of city planning as engineering problems. From
transportation systems to parks and recreation, this book took a systems approach and inspired engineers to
consider planning their concern and planners to consider physical problems.
Call number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: NA9030 .L4
Google Books – Online

City Planning With Special Reference to the Planning of Streets and Lots
Charles Mulford Robinson, 1916
Charles Mulford Robinson was among first writers to meld knowledge of 18th and 19th century design with the
growing effects of motorized travel and “modern” American living. This book springs from a period of great creative ferment and experimentation in city planning, particularly in the areas of street design and platting. Many of his observations remain relevant today.
Call number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: NA9030 .R75 1916
Google Books – Online


1920′s:

The City Robert E. Park, Ernest W. Burgess, Roderick D. McKenzie, Louis Wirth, 1925
Burgess introduced the concept of human ecology by investigating the spatial patterns of urban development.
His concentric zone theory connected the distance one commutes from the central business district to a
socioeconomic zone of the city; hence residents are sorted by economic and social class into zones.
Call number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HT151 .P3 1967
Google Books – Preview Online

The Suburban Trend
Harlan Paul Douglass, 1925
Douglas’s survey of suburban communities was written just as suburbs were first developing in large
numbers—and at a time when many believed that the suburbs would somehow fuse the best of the city and
the countryside in harmony. His work exemplifies the ongoing tug between urban and suburban in planning.
Call number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HT351 .D6 1970
Google Books – Preview Online

New Towns for Old Achievements in Civic Improvement in Some American Small Towns and Neighborhoods
John Nolen, 1927
A pioneer in the profession of city and regional planning, Nolen was a landscape architect responsible for
the design of many innovative town plans, such as Venice, California. His book comprehensively examined the
economic, social, and physical aspects of planning and argued for the place of natural beauty in urban design. Like his contemporaries, he was a city reformer. The book highlights several of his planned communities, including Mariemont, Ohio.
Call number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: NA9105 .N6 2005
Google Books – Preview Online

Major Economic Factors in Metropolitan Growth and Arrangement: A Study of Trends and Tendencies in the Economic Activities within the Region of New York and its Environs
Robert Murray Haig, Roswell C. McCrea, 1927
An economic view of cities, Haig’s book introduced the concept of economic base analysis. He viewed land use as a function of accessibility and wrote extensively on the taxation and the urban economics.
Call number: Libraries Annex General Collection: HC108 .N7 H3 1974

Toward a New Architecture Le Corbusier, French 1923; English 1927
Le Corbusier’s books offered a vision of a rational, man-made city in which large housing blocks of high rise dwellings faced or were set in parks. Residential areas were separated from other activities and organized in rigorous grids of new development. His work and belief in the functional city is often invoked as the source idea for multi-story housing blocks in America.
Call number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: NA2520 .J4 1927
Google Books – Preview Online

The New Exploration A Philosophy of Regional Planning
Benton MacKaye, 1928
Co-founder of The Wilderness Society, Benton MacKaye advocated in this work for land preservation for
recreation and conservation. MacKaye linked planning to conservation.
Call number: Lockwood Library Book Collection, Silverman Library [Capen] SCI/ENGR Book Collection, Libraries Annex General Collection: GF51 .M3
Google Books – Preview Online

Middletown: A Study in Contemporary American Culture
Robert Staughton Lynd, Helen Merrell Lynd, 1929
A monumental and very popular anthropological study of Muncie, Indiana, the book helped define the
character of the American community. The authors examined work, class divisions, nuclear family, and play
among other key organizing principles of American life.
Call Number: Lockwood Book Collection: HN57 .L8

Neighborhood Unit: A Scheme of Arrangement for the Family-Life Community
Clarence Perry, 1929
Perry developed the concept of the neighborhood unit and believed cities should be aggregates of smaller units that serve as a focus of community. He promoted public neighborhood space and pedestrian scale.
Available through Worldcat using ILLiad


1930′s:

The Disappearing City Frank Lloyd Wright, 1932
In this publication Wright introduced Broadacre City, his visionary community form divorced from the city and suburban in concept. His was one of many conceptual new towns that were primarily architectural in character.
Call number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: NA9030 .W7

CIAM Manifesto Congrès International d’Architecture Moderne 1933
Members of the congress presented their analysis of comparative town planning at the famous 1933 congress.
They were committed to a belief in collective action to create a thoroughly new and modern city that would
replace the old and outdated.
CIAM conferences from 1928- 1959 Call number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: NA680 .I475 M86 2000
Google Books – Preview Online

Final Report Status of City and Regional Planning in the United States
National Planning Board, 1934
The National Planning Board was a short-lived attempt at a national planning program with a focus on buttressing infrastructure, the economy, and creating jobs. This report was a based on a study “to determine what the role of the urban community is in national life.”
Available throughWorldcat using Illiad

Modern Housing Catherine Bauer, 1934
Both an assessment and a political demand for a housing movement to support low rent housing, this book
helped rally interest and concern in housing needs in America. It advocated for the role of government in assuring housing for all.
Call Number: Lockwood Library HD7287 .B18

Regional Factors in National Planning and Development
National Resources Committee, 1935
A major study of regions in America, this work detailed how federal, state, and local government could
undertake coordinated planning. The report addressed political frameworks, interstate cooperation, economic
issues, regulations, waters rights, and examined the Tennessee Valley Authority as a model for regional
planning.
Call Number: Libraries Annex General Collection: HC106.3 .A5 1935 and Lockwood Library Book Collection: Oversize HC106.3 .A35 1935
Internet Archive – Online

Outline of Town and City Planning
Thomas D. Adams, 1935
Did the profession of planning arise in response to traffic congestion? Certainly, the automobile put
tremendous pressure on the existing form of cities. This core idea and many more were consolidated into this book which served as one of the first textbooks on planning in America. The books was based on 11 years of lectures Adams gave at MIT.
Call Number: Libraries Annex General Collection and Lockwood Library Book Collection: NA9030 .A257

Our Cities Their Role in the National Economy
National Resources Committee, Urbanism Committee, 1937
This was in the words of the committee the “first major national study of cities in the United States … where a large portion of the Nation’s wealth … and problems are concentrated.” The work links urban planning to the economy.
Call Number: Libraries Annex General Collection: HT123 .A5 1937 and Lockwood Library Documents Collection: US Y 3.N 21/ 12: 2 C 49
Internet Archive – Online

The Structure and Growth of Residential Neighborhoods in American Cities
Homer Hoyt, U.S. Federal Housing Administration, 1939
From his experience in real estate, Hoyt examined how the structure of residential neighborhoods
developed. He also explored how the real estate market worked to shape neighborhoods. His is known for the
sector theory in urban development.
Call Number: Libraries Annex General Collection: HD7293 .A5 1939
1972 edition: Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HD7293 .A5 l972
Internet Archive – Online


1940′s:

Local Planning Administration
Ladislas Segoe, Walter H. Blucher, Institute for Training in Municipal Administration, 1941
Planning pioneer Ladislas Segoe advocated for planning’s integration into government in order to gain
respect in administrative and legislative circles. This was a manual for administrative practice and came out within months of Walker’s book.
1959 edition: Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT167 .P7 1959 and Law Library General Collection: http://catalog.lib.buffalo.edu/vufind/Record/000537999

The Planning Function in Urban Government
Robert Walker, 1941
A controversial but influential book which argued that planning needed to move away from association with
independent commissions and gain a place closer to the local legislative body, the chief executive, and
administrative agencies. In short, Walker argued for fully integrated planning agencies within local government.
Call Number: Libraries Annex General Collection: NA9105 .W3

American Housing Problems and Prospects: The Factual Findings
Miles Colean, Twentieth Century Fund, Housing Committee, 1944
Colean had worked for the Federal Housing Authority and advocated for housing finance reform and public
housing. His analysis of American housing concluded that there were not enough innovative housing
products on the market to address need. He also advocated for strong coordination between war production
and housing—an opportunity missed during World War I.
Call Number: Law Library General Collection: HD9715.U52 T9 1947
Internet Archive – Online

The Road to Serfdom
Frederick A. von Hayek, 1944
Nobel Prize winner Hayek argued that central economic planning led to serfdom. His influential theories
reinforced libertarian views that hands-off approaches by government were needed to avoid tyranny. His
work re-emerged as an influence on governmental policy makers in the 1980s.
Call Number: Libraries Annex General Collection and Lockwood Library Book Collection: HD82 .H38 1944
Google Books – Preview Online

Communitas Means of Livelihood and Ways of Life
Paul Goodman, Percival Goodman, 1947
This book jump started the post-war rebellion that reached its pinnacle in the 1960s. The Goodmans posed
three models of community based on consumption, art, or liberty. They spoke out against religious and government coercion. Paul Goodman’s later works encouraged a radical rethinking of major social institutions and their roles in individual lives.
Reprint of 1947: Call Number: Libraries Annex Book Collection:NA9030 .G6 1990
Google books – Preview Online(Reprint of 1947)
2nd Edititon: Call Number: Libraries Annex General Collection and Lockwood Library Book Collection: NA9030 .G6 1960

A Sand County Almanac and Sketches Here and There
Aldo Leopold, 1949
Aldo Leopold was a co-founder of The Wilderness Society and the originator of the concept of wildlife management. In this popular book he put forward the ethical premise that views land not as a commodity to be possessed but an obligation to be preserved. He helped develop the scientific concept of ecology.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: QH81 .L56 1987
Call Number: Lockwood Library General Monographs Collection: QH81 .L56 1968


1950′s:

Toward New Towns for America
Clarence S. Stein, 1951
Stein was a co-founder of the Regional Planning Association of America, a co-designer of the iconic planned town of Radburn, and an advocate for the federal new town planning program. His book highlights his pedestrian friendly, greenbelt-influenced designs for neighborhoods and towns.
3rd Edition:Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: NA9108 .S8 1966
1957 Revised EditionCall Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: NA9108 .S8 1957
Online – Brittle Books Project, Univ. at Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Urban Traffic A Function of Land Use
Robert B. Mitchell, Chester Rapkin, 1954
This book pioneered the concept that urban traffic patterns resulted from land uses and their resulting activities. Although the link had been made between traffic and planning quite early, Mitchell and Rapkin showed how it could be measured and studied. Their concept became accepted thinking throughout the profession.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HE353 .M5 1974

Politics, Planning, and the Public Interest: The Case of Public Housing in Chicago
Martin Meyerson, Edward C. Banfield, 1955
Meyerson and Banfield saw planning as firmly enmeshed within politics and urban management. Gary Hack
explains that Meyerson believed “making the plan has to be inherently a process that organizes public and
political support.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HD7304.C4 M4

The Heart of Our Cities: The Urban Crisis, Diagnosis and Cure
Victor Gruen, 1955
The father of the mid-20th century shopping mall, architect and planner Gruen wrote this treatise on how to
approach the redevelopment of cities. He viewed malls as the center pieces of new urban towns.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: NA9108 .G76

The Organization Man
William H. Whyte, 1956
“Recognized as a benchmark, Whyte’s book reveals the dilemmas at the heart of the group ethos that emerged in the corporate and social world of the postwar era.” This is Nathan Glazer’s assessment. The book examines the impact of large scale organization on society, including planned suburban
communities and the belief in the endless perfection of life and society. Whyte revealed the cost to the
individual in terms of initiative and creativity.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: BF697 .W47
Google Books – Preview Online

Education for Planning City, State, and Regional
Harvey S. Perloff, 1957
This book became the foundation for planning education as Perloff gave intellectual coherence to the
field. He outlined what he called “the integrated set of learning experiences which would permit the student … to rediscover … principles … and learn to apply them in a problem-solving setting.”
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: NA9012 .P4 1958

Standard Industrial ClassificationBureau of the Budget, 1957
The standard classification project began in 1937 and in the 1950s a broader project was undertaken to
classify both manufacturing and non-manufacturing in the United States. This massive effort integrated diverse statistical data that allowed planners, researchers, and communities to access wide ranging data in standardized classifications such as types of employment.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HA40.I6 U62 1957 Suppl

Urban Land Use Planning
F. Stuart Chapin, 1957
Accepted as one of the standard texts on planning practice, the book describes planning as a “big stakes
game in a multi-party competition.” Therefore, the book continues the tradition of looking at planning within a political and local governmental context, but also as a competition among interests.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Book Collection: NA9108 .C53


1960′s:

The Image of the City Kevin Lynch, 1960
A book that appears on almost every planner’s list of essential books, this work is still in use almost 50 years later. Lynch argued that people create mental maps of their surroundings with five key features: paths, edges, districts, nodes, and landmarks. He also introduced the terms wayfinding and imageability into the discourse, influencing the way people think and talk about urban space.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: NA9108 .L9
Google Books – Preview Online

The Citizen’s Guide to Planning Herbert H. Smith, 1961
One of the first books addressed to planning commissioners and their role. Smith helped both citizens and
appointed officials understand the basics of planning. He untangled the different roles of planning commissioners and professionals and examined topics such as the master plan, capital improvement programs,
zoning, and the regulation of land subdivision. In this classic, he offers a highly personal insider’s account of the real world of the planning process.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HT123 .S58
Hathi Trust – Online
1979 Revised Edition: Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT123 .S58 1979

The City in History: Its Origins, Its Transformations, and Its Prospects
Lewis Mumford, 1961
Winner of the 1961 National Book Award, Mumford’s book traces the development of cities from ancient
Greece and Rome to the modern forms of suburb and megalopolis. Mumford describes the genesis of cities and
analyzes their purpose in a sweeping narrative that proposes a more “organic” and humane relationship between people and their environment. Mumford helped popularize planning for the general public through his
Skyline feature in The New Yorker.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT111 .M8
Google Books – Preview Online

The Death and Life of Great American Cities Jane Jacobs, 1961
A writer with no formal training in architecture or planning, Jacobs dared to write what she called “an attack on current city planning and rebuilding” that set out new, more human, principles for city planning. The result has become one of the must-read books of the planning profession. Empirical and highly readable, this book is based on Jacobs’s observations about city life. She observed what made streets safe or unsafe, what constituted a neighborhood, and what function a neighborhood served within the larger organism of a city. She analyzed why some neighborhoods remained impoverished while others regenerated.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: NA9108 .J3
Google Books – Preview Online

Silent Spring Rachel Carson,1962
Carson brought environmental concerns into the mainstream with this book on the harmful effects of
pesticides on mosquitoes and birds. Widely credited for spurring the environmental movement, Carson’s
work inspired planners to consider the importance of environmental protection in their daily lives and in
urban development projects.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: SB959 .C3
Google Books – Preview Online

The Urban Villagers: Group and Class in the Life of Italian-Americans
Herbert Gans, 1962
Gans, a sociologist and city planner, told the story of Boston’s West End working-class Italian-American community. He illustrated the importance of family and neighborhood, taking a captivating anthropological view of a distinctly urban environment. The sociology of how people live in cities and interact with their environment was an influential thread in planning literature.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HN80.B7 G2
Google Books – Preview Online

The Federal Bulldozer A Critical Analysis of Urban Renewal, 1949-1962
Martin Anderson,1964
This book signaled a turn away from the idealistic “tear down and build new and better” approach to city planning. Anderson’s early history of urban renewal detailed the mechanisms and legislation used to push the program forward, showing how its idealistic goals quickly gave way to destruction for its own sake. Anderson became a domestic policy adviser to Presidents Nixon and Reagan.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Book Collection: HT175 .U6 A84

The Urban General PlanT. J. Kent, Jr., 1964
In a contemporary review of the book, Kenneth L. Kraemer noted that the philosophy of planning had evolved. Planning was now more comprehensive and seen as “multilayered matrixes.” The goal of planning was no longer an ideal state, but “an activity stream relating to problems and goal definition, program design … and evaluation.” Kent exemplified the change and provided a history of the use, characteristics, and purpose of the urban comprehensive plan, and how it was currently being applied.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: NA9108 .K4
Internet Archive – Online

The Making of Urban America: A History of Planning in the United States
John Reps, 1965
Over the years, Reps’s expansive studies have looked at the original plans of all types of communities in the United States. In addition, he examined how key cities and towns developed in their first decades and followed up with more intensive regional studies. This comprehensive history of early American town and city development is filled with detailed drawings and maps outlining how America urbanized.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: NA9105 .R45
Google Books – Preview Online

The Zoning Game: Municipal Practices and Policies
Richard Babcock, 1966
A. Dan Tarlock writes: “The Zoning Game caught the crest of the emergence of local land-use controls from a marginal subject of interest … to a major national issue in the 1970s.” It was twice cited by the U.S. Supreme Court. The book proposes sensible reforms to one of the earliest tools of planning and also provides a critique, asking whether zoning as it is practiced really promotes its stated goals. Babcock believed that zoning, when done correctly, was a critical means of implementing land use decisions that
benefited the community as a whole.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: KF5698 .B2

Design of Cities Edmund Bacon, 1967
Bacon’s powerful urban design concepts shaped Philadelphia, where he had as much influence as Daniel Burnham in Chicago and Robert Moses in New York. A planner, architect, architectural historian, and theorist, Bacon relates the international work of great city designers through the ages to the contemporary city, with illustrative examples.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: NA9050 .B22

Design with Nature Ian McHarg, 1969
This pioneering, inspirational work on environmental planning was notable for its use of map overlays to identify land development constraints. An influential landscape architect who spoke to planners, McHarg showed how to achieve the ideal fit between built environments and natural surroundings.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HC110.E5 M33

American City Planning Since 1890: A History Commemorating the Fiftieth Anniversary of the
American Institute of Planners

Mel Scott, 1969
Not only was this book invaluable in developing this essential books list, it is the standard text on American city planning history up to 1969. Scott helped illuminate the intellectual as well as the practical develops in the field drawing clear paths from the Progressive and sanitary movements to
the planning in the postwar eras.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HT167 .S3
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT167 .S3 1971
Google Books – Preview Online
Internet Archive – online


1980′s:

The Uses of Disorder Personal Identity and City Life
Richard Sennett, 1970
Influential urban sociologist Sennett examines how excessive order produced dull urban life, but was
socially destructive and led to the cultivation of violent, narrow, repressed societies. His appreciation of the complexity and essential unregulated nature of good urban life challenged planners to do more than impose solutions.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HT151 .S44
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HT151 .S44 1971
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Book Collection: HT231 .S46 1992

Learning from Las Vegas Robert Venturi, Denise Scott-Brown, Steven Izenour, 1971
A landmark work filled with wit and insight into how people actually use and enjoy landscapes of pleasure.
The book challenged architects and planners to consider the overlooked vernacular and understand how it
created an order and form of its own, and responded creatively to the people who inhabited commercial landscape. It was the first book to examine the phenomenon of the strip in the American city.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Book Collection: Oversize NA735 .L3 V4

Site Planning Kevin Lynch, Gary Hack, 1971
This thorough work on all the technical aspects of site planning is infused with a deep understanding on how humans inhabit their environment, the need to avoid ugliness, and the importance of understanding the consequences of design. The book remains a standard in the field of planning.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Reserve and Book Collection: NA9031 .L94 1971
3rd Edition Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: NA9031 .L94 1984
3rd Edition Google Books – Preview Online

A Reader in Planning Theory
Andreas Faludi, 1973
These essays covered the full complement of 20th century planning theory, including rational planning, advocacy planning, and incrementalism. Each one challenged the utility and methods of planning in determining the public interests and the role of the planner. Of particular note are Paul Davidoff’s “Advocacy and Pluralism in Planning” and Martin Meyerson’s “Building the Middle-Range Bridge for Comprehensive Planning.”
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection & Lockwood Library Book Collection: HT391 .F27

Urban Design as Public Policy: Practical Methods for Improving Cities
Jonathan Barnett, 1973
Barnett discussed how to bridge the gap between the design and planning professions. An architect, planner, and teacher, Barnett focused on how to actually bring about the qualities of urban life that Jane Jacobs and others espoused.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT166 .B375

Close Up: How to Read the American City
Grady Clay, 1973
Clay is one of the great proponents of close observation of landscapes and built environments, and in his first book he introduced a new taxonomy and vocabulary for describing where we live, what we see, and how we feel about places. Importantly for planners, he stressed the subjective and perceptual nature of places rather than grand, abstract plans for them.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HT153 .C585
1980 Call Number: Libraries Annex Book Collection: HT153 .C585 1980
1980 Google Books – Preview Online

Small Is Beautiful: Economics as if People Mattered
E.F. Schumacher, 1973
Schumacher was an early proponent for the concept of sustainability. He examined how it applied to
economics and planning for human organizations and communities. His essays on “Buddhist Economics,” the
limits of natural resources, and scale are essential to modern planning thought. The book had a large popular audience.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection and Lockwood Library Book Collection: HD82 .S3789 1975
Google Books – Preview Online

The Power Broker: Robert Moses and the Fall of New York
Robert Caro, 1974
Journalist Caro grapples with the motivation, methods, and impacts of Moses, a builder of New York public
works who abjured planning as a discipline but understood how to “get things done.” This book was especially influential in how it crystallized the change in values that had taken place over the 20th century, with large-scale patriarchal Modernist planning falling out of favor.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection and Lockwood Library Book Collection: NA9085.M68 C37 1974
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library book Collection and Lockwood Library Book Collection: NA9085 .M68 C37 1975

Urban Planning Analysis: Methods and Models
Donald A. Kruekeberg, Arthur A. Silvers, 1974
This clearly written introduction to basic quantitative techniques of urban planning and policy analysis includes solid chapters on survey research and analysis, population forecasting, transportation modeling, and program analysis and management, including time-sequence scheduling.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection & Lockwood Library Book Collection: HT166 .K78

A Pattern Language: Towns, Buildings, Construction
Christopher Alexander, Sara Ishikawa, Murray Silverstein, 1977
This timeless and detailed accounting of the patterns of urban architecture illuminates the populist turn in urban design in the wake of Jane Jacobs’s work. These patterns are the composition of a distinct language invented and used by everyday people. Planners can learn about place and its people by interpreting the details of its form.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection & Lockwood Library Book Collection: NA2750 .A425
Google Books – Preview

The Fiscal Impact Handbook
Robert Burchell, David Listokin, et al., 1978
A planning classic on the important topic of assessing development impact on the fiscal condition of the local government. This is a comprehensive treatment of cost-revenue analysis and the limitations of different approaches.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HD4431 .B85

Making City Planning Work
Allan Jacobs, 1978
As San Francisco’s planning director, Allan Jacobs faced a memorable fight with developers and commissioners who proposed to build three high rise towers on the waterfront Embarcadero Center property. One of the first planning books of its kind, Jacobs’s memoir is both practical and political; he offers case studies illustrative of typical planning issues and intersperses these with more personal “behind the
scenes” stories of what city planning was really like in San Francisco.
Call Number: Libraries Annex Book Collection: HT168 .S2 J3

The Practice of Local Government Planning
Frank So, et al., 1979
The “green book” has served as core text of planning since its inception. Produced in partnership with ICMA
the book comprehensively covers American city planning history, planning functions, and, most important, the public administrative aspects of planning, including agency management and budgeting. The book has been updated in several new editions and is still in use.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library, Libraries Annex, & Lockwood Library Book Collection: HT167 .P7
2nd Edition: :>Call Number: Architecture & Planning Book Collection: HT167 .P7 1988
3rd Edition:


1980′s:

The Social Life of Small Urban Spaces
William H. Whyte, 1980
Whyte’s careful examination of small spaces and how people behave in them revealed the moral dimension
of planning––the responsibility to create healthy public spaces. Whyte’s observations were fascinating enough to draw a public readership for his studies.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection & Lockwood Library Book Collection: HT153 .W49
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT153 .W49 2001
DVD Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Audio Visual Collection: DVD 1910: HT153 .S63 2005

A Theory of Good City Form
Kevin Lynch, 1981
A philosophical classic, the book calls attention to all that we take for granted as normative urban life. In this third of Lynch’s influential books, he relates humanist priorities to the actual form of cities, while trying to illuminate what our best and worst physical environments say about us as well as what we can learn from them.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection & Lockwood Library Book Collection: HT166 .L96
1984 Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT166 .L96 1984
1984 Google Books – Preview Online

Livable Streets Donald Appleyard, 1981
Appleyard was a precise observer of street conditions and traffic qualities. His analysis of streets and their traffic patterns demonstrated the link between urban design and social relationships. The book provided quantitative data to support traffic calming policies and established taxonomies of street use, now employed in traffic calming programs.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection & Lockwood Book Collection: HE333 .A65 1981
Google Books – Preview Online

The Granite Garden Urban Nature and Human Design
Anne Whiston Spirn, 1984 Spirn applied design with nature techniques to an urban setting. Her analysis touched off ecological urbanism movement. Scientific research and urban case studies reveal how familiar natural processes (such as water cycles and photosynthesis) occur in cities and how this should inform
planning.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection & Lockwood Library Book Collection: HT166 .S638 1984
Google Books = Preview Online

Land, Growth, & Politics John M. DeGrove, 1984
As states began to assert their right to control and direct growth, John DeGrove played an active role in creating the Florida growth management act as well as assessing the ongoing evolution of growth management throughout the country. This early analysis set the stage for ongoing efforts and appraisals of this
important movement.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HD105 .D44 1984

Discovering the Vernacular Landscape
John Brinckerhoff Jackson, 1984
Jackson, a geographer, focused on the everyday experience of places and how people became invested in them.
Like Learning from Las Vegas, the book regards everyday life ahead of theory or utopian ideals. His style was proactive and engaging for all audiences.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: GF91.U6 J315 1984

Redesigning the American Dream: The Future of Housing, Work, and Family Life
Dolores Hayden, 1984
The development of the American urban landscape seen through a domestic lens. Examining the “architecture of gender,” Hayden provided insight into the relationships between household life, social policies,
and the development of cities. Her analysis of the gender implications of different housing and land use
strategies led to a greater awareness of the connections between physical environments and constructed social roles.
Call Numbers: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HD7293 .H39 1984
1986 Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HD7293 .H39 1986
1986 Internet Archive – Online

Crabgrass Frontier The Suburbanization of the United States
Kenneth T. Jackson, 1985
Perhaps the definitive history of 20th century suburbanization, Jackson’s work drew together the many forces––economic, governmental, and social––that went into the creation of suburbia. It is among the earliest histories of the American suburbs.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection & Law Library General Collection: HT384.U5 J33 1985
Google Books – Preview Online
1987 Architecture & Planning Book Collection & Lockwood library Book Collection: HT384.U5 J33 1987

Comprehensive City Planning: Introduction and Explanation
Melville C. Branch, 1985
Branch focused on the development of cities and their planning and management. The tie between land
use and municipal administration is explored throughout. The book was written to appeal to both a professional and general interest reader.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT167 .B66 1985

Home A Short History of an Idea
Witold Rybcznski, 1986
Rybcznski’s widely read book traces the evolution of domestic living. His focus on influences and ideas that shape the concept of comfort and home set this work apart from more technical discussions of architectural history and won a broad popular audience.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: NA7125 .R9 1986
1987 Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library & Lockwood Library Book Collection: NA7125 .R9 1987

Basic Methods of Policy Analysis and Planning
Carl Patton, David S. Sawicki, 1986
Often required reading, the book lays out the paradigm for policy analysis and integrates policy analysis and planning. The authors explored the complex challenges in urban life and the decisions about how to address them. They examine what sorts of information get used, and by whom, in what contexts.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: H97 .P38 1986
2nd Edition: Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: H97 .P38 1993

Life Between Buildings Using Public Space
Jan Gehl, 1987
An important influence on urban designers, Gehl created a comprehensive discussion of how to design good places and spaces, at all scales. Profusely illustrated, the photos and captions carry much of the thesis.
Like William Whyte, Gehl focused on the social lives that unfold in public spaces and their importance for
planners.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT166 .G4413 1987

Cities of Tomorrow: An Intellectual History of Urban Planning and Design in the Twentieth Century Peter Geoffrey Hall, 1988
Hall provided a comprehensive examination of all the major European and American planning movements starting from the late 1800s towards the end of the 20th century. He illuminates the philosophic
underpinnings of each movement, and also the key actors, background, and the results. A focused discussion looked at the tension between the ideals of “anarchists,” such as Howard, Geddes, and Wright, and those of strict order, represented by Le Corbusier.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT166 .H349 1988
Updated Edition: Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT166 .H349 1996
3rd Edition: Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT166 .H349 2002
Google Books – Preview Online

Mastering Change Winning Strategies for Effective City Planning
Bruce McClendon, Ray Quay, 1988
One of the few books devoted to planning management and strategy, this practical guide provides a wide
array of tactics for understanding how the public reacts to change and what planners should do to increase their effectiveness.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT167 .M385 1988

Small Town Planning Handbook
Tom Daniels, John W. Keller, Mark B. Lapping, 1988
Small town planning has received less attention than city planning. This book succinctly organizes helpful strategies for the small town planner with limited in staff and budget. The authors provided guidance on the nuts-andbolts work of small town planners. The book has continued in new editions.
Call Numbers: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT166 .D36 1988
2nd Edition: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT167 .D36 1995

Land Use and the Constitution: Principles for Planning Practice
Brian Blaesser, Alan Weinstein, 1989
The legal challenges to planning and the regulatory tools of planning have shaped the field profoundly.
This practical guide explains eight constitutional principles and applies them to real-world planning situations. The authors provided detailed summaries of more than 50 U.S. Supreme Court cases.
Call Number: Law Library General Collection: KF5698.A5 L35 1989


1990′s:

Making Equity: Planning Work Leadership in the Public Sector
Norman Krumholz, John Forester, 1990
The book provides one of the first detailed personal accounts of a sustained and effective equity-planning
practice that influenced urban policy. Recounting their real-life experiences in equity planning in Cleveland, the authors give a clear illustration through case studies.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT168.C54 K78 1990
Google Books – Preview Online
2011 Ebook Library – Online

Edge City: Life on the New Frontier
Joel Garreau, 1991
Garreau examines America’s “edge cities” or suburban cities, chronicling their rise across the country over the past 100 years. His work changed the perception of suburbia and its role relative to central cities. As people moved to suburbs, so did employment. The size and number of these cities influences how planning now
approaches edge cities and their social implications.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HT334.U5 G37 1991
1992 Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT334.U5 G37 1992
Google Books – Preview Online

Great Streets Allan B. Jacobs, 1993
Jacobs demonstrates the importance of streets as placemaking elements through beautifully drafted plans and
illustrations of worthy prototypes. He explores how design shapes a street and the importance of streets in
creating community.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Book Collection: NA9053.S7 J23 1993

The New Urbanism: Toward an Architecture of Community
Peter Katz et al., 1994
A seminal work, the book that introduced new urbanism to a wide popular audience and enthusiastic professionals, Katz and colleagues offered case studies and handsome illustrations to make their points. The book captured the movement to reestablish a sense of neighborhood and community in face of sprawl.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: NA2542.4 .K38 1994
Google Books – Preview Online

Visions for a New American Dream: Process, Principles, and an Ordinance to Plan and Design Small Communities
Anton Nelessen, 1994
The growing sophistication and emphasis on tools for helping communities visualize growth and change was encapsulated in Nelessen’s book. His Visual Preference Survey was one of the first visioning tools. In
addition, his ability to illustrate neotraditional design helped awaken an interest in historic character and quality of design that emerged in force as a planning concern in the 1990s.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Book Collection: HT166 .N422 1994a

Rural By Design Maintaining Small Town Character
Randall Arendt, 1994
Growing out of his work in New England and an appreciation for the design of small communities, Arendt
revealed how towns could grow and maintain their character through density, good site planning, and
compatible design. His work reinforced efforts to achieve growth management, address sprawl, and the conserve natural and cultural landscapes. Arendt offered, with grace and humor, practical solutions to guiding growth and conserving land.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT167 .A73 1994

Ethical Land Use Principles of Policy and Planning
Timothy Beatley, 1994
Planning as a professional with an adopted code of ethics expanded its view of ethical professional practice in this work. Beatley maintained that planning policy decisions invariably involve ethical choices and used actual case studies and hypothetical scenarios to guide planners to ethical choices in their everyday work.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HT167 .A73 1994

The Geography of Nowhere: The Rise and Decline of America’s Man-Made Landscape
James Howard Kunstler, 1994
Tracing America’s evolution from tightknit and coherent communities to a landscape of sprawl and anonymity,
Kunstler discussed the stark economic, social, and spiritual costs paid for this lifestyle. Kunstler’s impact was to call attention to the loss of community identity. He called upon readers to reinvent the places of live and work for a revived civic art and life.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: NA2542.35 .K86 1993
Google Books- Preview

Best Development Practices: Doing the Right Thing and Making Money at the Same Time
Reid Ewing, 1996
Ewing draws upon case examples of some of today’s most acclaimed developments and recommends best practice guidelines to help developers create vibrant, livable communities—and still make money. One of the rare
studies of how places are developed using sound planning principles (at least in part) and measures the result. The books practical advice proved to be a great draw.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HD75.6 .E94 1995
US EPA – Online

Natural Hazard Mitigation: Recasting Disaster Policy and Planning
David R. Godschalk, Timothy Beatley, Philip Berke, David J. Brower, Edward J. Kaiser, Charles C. Bohl, R. Matthew Goebel, 1999
The role of planning in hazard mitigation and recovery appeared on the agenda in the 1990s as the issues
of climate change and sustainability became more pressing. This book, one of the first thorough discussions of the issue, provided insight into how hazard mitigation both worked and needed to be reformed.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection:
Google Books – Preview Online

Transportation for Livable Cities
Vukan R. Vuchic, 1999
Vuchic placed transportation at the heart good planning. He explores its role in smart growth and sustainable urban living, covering everything from roads and transit to traffic calming.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HE308 .V83 1999


2000′s:

Bowling Alone: The Collapse and Revival of American Community
Robert Putnam, 2000
The book described a major shift in American life and politics that had largely gone unnoticed. Putnam
examined the past 40 years and observed that social participation had changed. Because of the modern
demands on time, established volunteer associations important to the community fabric had lost significant
membership. The book provoked debate and awakened insight into how people live their lives, expect services,
and contribute to the community, and what they expect of government and politics.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HN65 .P878 2000http://books.google.com/books?id=rd2ibodep7UC&lpg=PP1&pg=PP1#v=onepage&q&f=fal
Google Books – Preview Online

The Regional City Planning for the End of Sprawl
Peter Calthorpe, William Fulton, 2000
Regionalism as a focus of planning reemerged in this work that demonstrated how regional planning and design can integrate, revitalize, and provide a coherent vision for growth. Many of the concepts of new urbanism were extended to the regional scale and include a special emphasis on transit and design.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HT392 .C28 2001
Google Books – Preview Online

Planning Theory for Practitioners
Michael P. Brooks, 2002
Brooks brought planning theory to an understandable, usable level for practitioners. His discussion of values and ethics were especially informative.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library: HD30.28 .B7752 2002

The Rise of the Creative Class And How It’s Transforming Work, Leisure, Community and Everyday Life
Richard Florida, 2002
While others came before Florida and developed the evaluation methods and tools in the book, the author was the first to put the information together in a compelling and understandable format. The book revolutionized
today’s urban planning and economic development field. It reawakened decision makers in America to the value
and power of strong central cities.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HD53 .F653 2004
Google Books – Preview Online

The Birth of City Planning in the United States, 1840-1917
Jon A. Peterson, 2003
Peterson provides the best and most detailed overview of the early years of the planning movement, which saw
Progressive activists, public-health advocates, and business interests unite in the cause of more livable cities.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HT167 .P47 2003
Online – ACLS Humanities E-book

The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Erik Larson, 2004
The book brings alive the history of early planners, including Daniel Burnham and Frederick Law Olmsted,
for a general audience. He draws attention to work many still know nothing about. In vivid––and sometimes graphic detail––Larson paints a poignant and convincing story of the obstacles planners and architects
face when approaching mammoth projects––not least of which, a world’s fair.
Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HV6248 .M8 L37 2004
2003Call Number: Lockwood Library Book Collection: HV6248 .M8 L37 2003
Google Books – Preview Online

The High Cost of Free Parking
Donald C. Shoup, 2005
Donald Shoup set the world of traffic management on its ear with his impassioned and thorough demolition
of decades of conventional wisdom. By demonstrating the direct, indirect, social, and intangible costs of easily available parking, Shoup set the stage for municipalities to change their codes and mind-sets to create parking management systems that put cars second and instead support the creation of complete streets, safe streetscapes, and healthier downtowns.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HE336.P37 S56 2005

Urban Transit Operations, Planning, and Economics
Vukan R. Vuchic, 2005
This comprehensive work covers the full range of issues involved in the operation, planning, and financing of transit systems. Vuchic presents both theoretical concepts and practical, real world methodologies for managing and improving transit planning.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Book Collection: HE305 .V83 2005

Planning and Urban Design Standards
William R. Klein, Executive Ed. Megan Lewis, Managing Ed., 2006
The most comprehensive reference book on urban planning, design, and development available today. The book
comprises contributions from more than 200 renowned professionals and provides in-depth information on the
tools and techniques used to achieve planning and design outcomes, including economic analysis, mapping,
visualization, legal foundations, and real estate developments.
Call Number: Architecture & Planning Library Circulation Desk: TH2031 .P55 2006
Google books – Preview Online