Urban & Regional Planning Guide
This list is not exhaustive. Consult your librarian for further help.
- Buffalo Green Code:
The Buffalo Green Code is an opportunity for Buffalonians to establish a new regulatory framework for the development of our neighborhoods.
LISC’s Building Sustainable Communities initiative is helping to reinvigorate targeted Buffalo neighborhoods through its emphasis on concentrated and comprehensive community development strategies. LISC’s Building Sustainable Communities initiative is helping to reinvigorate targeted Buffalo neighborhoods through its emphasis on concentrated and comprehensive community development strategies.
- Buffalo Niagara Enterprise Data Tools:
An online database created by the Buffalo Niagara Enterprise including information on 2010/2015 demographics, labor force reports, consumer spending reports, and business lists. Reports can be generated from numerous angles including municipal level, user defined “pinpoint” on a map, or custom drawn polygons as well. Business lists can be compiled via the geography mentioned or using search criteria such as industry, employees, sales, individual NAICS codes, or custom NAICS clusters.
- City of Buffalo Strategic Planning Group:
The planning area team focuses on the divisions’ comprehensive planning and community planning work program. The staff serves on interdisciplinary planning teams and works with Good Neighbors’ Planning Alliance to prepare master plans, design guidelines, and implementation strategies at many geographic scales.
- The Cyberhood:
The Cyberhood is sponsored by the Urban Affairs Association (UAA) and the Center for Urban Studies at the University at Buffalo. The Cyberhood is based on the belief that many students, scholars, practitioners and activists of color are isolated from one another and from progressive whites, who are also concerned about the plight of communities of color, conditions in the inner city, and the problems of low-wage white workers. The goal is to make the Cyberhood a place where students, scholars, practitioners, and activists from across the racial and class divide can learn from one another and build meaningful relationships. The building of such connections, we believe, will strengthen the struggle to understand and transform inner cities and the metropolitan regions of which they are embedded.
- Erie County, NY Online Mapping System:
Users are able to mark up maps with symbols and text, save locations on the map as “bookmarks”, save mapping sessions and return to a session at a later time, search for properties and link to the property tax records for selected parcels, and create drive–time rings. There is a wide variety of information that can be mapped with the On– Map program, including property parcels; streets; environmental factors such as wetlands, floodplains, soils, and slopes; legislative and school districts; and aerial photography. The program also includes capabilities for saving map images and high quality printing of maps as PDF documents.
- NYS GIS Clearinghouse:
The Clearinghouse, operated by the New York State Office of Cyber Security, disseminates information about New York’s Statewide GIS Coordination Program and to provide access to the New York State GIS Data and Metadata Repository. The Clearinghouse also provides information on and links to GIS education and training opportunities; other state and Federal GIS resources, including downloadable data from the U.S. Census Bureau and the USGS; GIS user groups throughout New York; and GIS-related listservs.
- UB Regional Institute
The UB Regional Institute informs policymaking, investment decisions and civic debate for regions through independent research, innovative products and community outreach.
The UB Regional Institute is a major research and public policy division of the University at Buffalo. In addition to university faculty and academic researchers, the institute’s partners include governments, foundations, businesses, civic groups and nonprofits.
- University at Buffalo Regional Knowledge Network:
The Regional Knowledge Network is a central resource for reliable information on the bi-national Buffalo Niagara region. RKN offers data, maps and resources on nine topic areas covering Western New York, Southern Ontario and the 264 municipalities within the region. RKN also features interactive tools to customize information requests and search, sort and analyze data.
- UB Urban Design Project
The Urban Design Project is a university center devoted to service, teaching and research in the pursuit of a critical practice of urban design. The Project seeks to serve the communities of the Niagara-Buffalo city-region by bringing faculty and urban design students together with local governments, community based organizations and citizens in general, to engage the work of making better places and stronger communities.
- Comm-org: The Online Conference on Community Organizing:
The Online Conference on Community Organizing, help connect people who care about the craft of community organizing. The conference also provides the ability find and provides information for organizers, scholars, and scholar-organizers to learn, teach, and do community organizing at no cost.
- Community Development: Journal of the Community Development Society:
Journal of the Community Development Society is devoted to improving knowledge and practice in the field of purposive community change. The mission of the journal is to disseminate information on theory, research and practice. The journal welcomes manuscripts that report research; evaluate theory, techniques, and methods; examine community problems; or critically analyze the profession itself.
- Community Development Society:
The Community Development Society provides leadership to professionals and citizens across the spectrum of community development. Members have multiple opportunities to learn what’s new in the profession, to exchange ideas, to obtain the most current research and reference information available and to share professional expertise. The Community Development Society annual conference, publications, and listservs offer: Professional development; Networks; Information on initiatives and job opportunities; Recognition for outstanding contributions and achievements; Opportunities for discussion and debate.
- NTL Digital Repository at the Research and Innovative Technology Administration:
Data (and reference help) on a vast array of transportation statistics, with an emphasis on airline traffic, financial, on-time data, thousands of full text transportation-related reports and publication
- Planetizen Top Ten Planning Websites:
A list of Planetizen’s recognized top ten websites (and a few runners-up) as some of the best resources for urban planning, design and development. This list is based on nominations by Planetizen readers and staff, and judged against a common set of criteria, including content, design, and usability. Planetizen lists the websites alphabetically, not in a particular order of rank.
- Planners Network:
Planners Network (PN) connects progressive planners in the following ways: A monthly e-newsletter, with member updates, job listings, event announcements, and other resources. The quarterly magazine Progressive Planning is full of provocative ideas, reports, and analysis. This resource-rich website includes; conferences, driven by community-led tours and participatory workshops, local chapters, which organize events and discussions around hot local issues. The pn-net offers discussion listserv, and other local and thematic email lists.
- TRR Journal Online
Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board (TRR Journal Online) 2011-
TRR Journal publishes approximately 60 volumes annually of outstanding, peer-reviewed papers presenting research findings in policy, planning, administration, economics and financing, operations, construction, design, maintenance, safety, and more, for all modes of transportation.
United States Statistics:
- United States Census Bureau:
The Census Bureau conducts nearly one hundred surveys and censuses every year; including data from the: Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Puerto Rico Community Survey, Economic Census, Population Estimates Program,also data including the Annual Survey of Manufactures, County Business Patterns, Non-employer Statistics and many more.
United States Data and Statistics:
Data and Statistics information from the United States Government on topics including: General Government; Business and Economics; Defense and International Relations; Environment, Energy, and Agriculture; Family, Home, and Community; Geospatial Data; Health and Nutrition; Jobs and Education; Public Safety and Law; Science and Technology; Travel, Transportation, and Recreation
United States Business Statistics:
Data and Statistics information from the United States Government on business topics including: Banking Statistics; Business Data and Statistics; Earnings Data and Labor Statistics; Economic Analysis; Regional Information; Statistics Portals; Trade Statistics Tools; U.S. Businesses.
- Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action (ARNOVA):
The Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action (ARNOVA) is a neutral, open forum committed to strengthening the research community in the emerging field of nonprofit and philanthropic studies. ARNOVA brings together both theoretical and applied interests, helping scholars gain insight into the day-to-day concerns of third-sector organizations, while providing nonprofit professionals with research they can use to improve the quality of life for citizens and communities. Principal activities include an annual conference, publications, electronic discussions and special interest groups