Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Career Planning


This guide lists sources of information to assist students who are exploring career opportunities. All of the sources listed can be found in the University at Buffalo Libraries or on the World Wide Web.

Books

There are four basic ways of searching for books and other materials in the UB Libraries Catalog by author, title, keyword, or subject heading. Each of these search methods are demonstrated below. For additional assistance, review the Catalog Help page, or Ask A Librarian.

  • Sample AUTHOR search: degalan, julie
  • Sample TITLE search: great jobs for english majors
  • Sample KEYWORD search: careers and social work
  • Sample SUBJECT search: career development--united states

NOTE: To browse the library reference or circulating collections for books on career planning, go to the stacks that have call numbers ranging from HF5381-HF5382.5.


Databases

The databases listed below are useful sources for exploring careers. Students can use these databases to search for professional organizations, or to search for articles about careers in newspapers, magazines, or journals. For additional searching assistance, review the Finding Articles guide, or Ask A Librarian.

  • Academic Search Complete
    A multidisciplinary periodical database that provides coverage from over 8,200 scholarly, trade, and general-interest publications.
    UB ONLY
  • Hoover's
    Provides profiles on 19 million public and private companies worldwide. Includes financials, competitors, executives, and industry data.
    UB ONLY
  • Business Insights: Essentials
    Industry Overviews, Company Data (investment reports, profiles, rankings, histories), Reference Sources (directories, encyclopedias), Directory of Associations.
    UB ONLY
  • Vocational and Career Collection
    Provides full-text coverage for over 350 trade and industry related periodicals.
    UB ONLY

For additional databases, refer to the UB Libraries' Business page. NOTE: These databases are restricted to current UB students and staff. Current UB students and staff connecting off-network will be prompted for a user name and password.


Websites

The following web sites have been selected by Librarians and Career Services Counselors as being the best Internet resources for information on career planning. For additional web assistance, review the Using Web Resources page, or Ask A Librarian.