Dissertations & Theses: Guide to Research
- Identifying Dissertations and Theses
- Finding UB Dissertations and Theses
- Obtaining Dissertations and Theses
- Information for UB Theses Authors
Identifying Dissertations and Theses
Use one of the following databases:
Dissertations & Theses by ProQuest is the most comprehensive dissertation source with more than two million doctoral dissertations and master's theses citations dating from 1861. Many dissertations are available full text.
- Dissertations & Theses @ SUNY Buffalo is a subset of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses which limits your search to UB.
- For Masters Theses, also check:
- Master's Theses Directories Lockwood Ref Z 5055 .U5M46
- Master's Theses in the Pure and Applied Sciences Lockwood Science & Engineering REF Z5521 .S83
Proquest Dissertations & Theses: UK and Ireland ( Great Britain & Ireland ) 1950 – present.
Print Counterpart : Index to Theses with Abstracts Accepted by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland (title varies)
Z5055 .G69 A84 (1950 - present); see Catalog for location.
You can search for Masters theses and doctoral dissertations in WorldCat using the Advanced Search feature. Change the Keyword box setting to Material Type and type in: thesis or dissertation. In the second box, type in the keywords that best describe your topic.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
An international federation of universities has created this repository of electronic theses and dissertations.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
OATD amis to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.
The British Library's Electronic Theses Online Service offers free access to the full text of UK theses, allowing researchers to tap into this rich and vast body of knowledge. Delivered through a single web interface, the service includes theses stored electronically by the British Library, as well as those held by other universities, and will digitize theses on demand as required by researchers..
CRL's Foreign Doctoral Dissertations Database
CRL's Foreign Doctoral dissertation database presently contains 20,000 (of 750,000) records.
Free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents, coupled with powerful search, organization, and collaboration tools.
A multidisciplinary repository for European grey literature; includes over 150,000 theses.
Theses Canada Portal
This site provides citations and some abstracts to dissertations and theses submitted to the National Library of Canada since 1965. Free full-text electronic access to Canadian dissertations and theses published from 1998 to August 31, 2002.
Provides links to international sources of dissertations.
Finding UB Dissertations and Theses
In the UB Arts & Sciences Libraries:
By Author or Title
To find a UB dissertation or thesis when the author or title is known, use Classic Catalog.
To find or browse dissertations or theses by department use Classic Catalog.
Proceed as if doing a Title begins with… search and enter into the search box:
You may also choose to include the year to limit your search.
Thesis – American Studies 2002 [to limit by date]
By Call Number
To find or browse dissertations or theses by call numbers use Classic Catalog in "Advanced" mode and then select the “Call Nos. (LC, NLM, Textual)” field option in Browse.
Locate the call number stem from the Classification Table, then enter your search using the appropriate call number from the list.
You may also choose to include the year to limit your search.
Call Nos. (LC, NLM, Textual) = diss A4 2000
In the UB Health Sciences Library
Theses and Dissertations in the Health Sciences Library are on the third floor and are identified in Classic Catalog by author and title. If you don't have the title or author, do a keyword search for thesis and health sciences library. Some theses are also available in the University at Buffalo Archives.
In the UB Music Library
Descriptions of music theses are in the Catalog. Search as explained for UB Arts & Sciences Libraries.
Obtaining Dissertations and Theses
To Borrow Dissertations and Theses from other Libraries
If the dissertation is not available full text at any of the sites listed above, UB Libraries recommends using our Delivery+ service. Please be aware that some libraries may not lend dissertations or theses.
To Purchase Dissertations and ThesesPlease note that the University at Buffalo Libraries are NOT responsible for any charges that you may incur.
Dissertations & Theses maintains a shopping cart feature to sell you copies of dissertations in various formats. Prices vary.
Information for UB Theses Authors
UB Electronic Theses and Dissertation policies and procedures are set and administered by the University's Graduate School, not the University Libraries, please contact the Graduate School for more detailed information.
I. UB Graduate School Information for Students
General Information Page - http://grad.buffalo.edu/Academics/ETD.html
- FAQs - http://grad.buffalo.edu/Academics/ETD/ETD-FAQ.html
Guidelines for Electronic Thesis/Dissertation Preparation (Formatting) and Submission - http://grad.buffalo.edu/content/dam/www/graduate/documents/etd/etdguide.pdf
- Embargo Policy - http://grad.buffalo.edu/Academics/Policies-Procedures/General-Graduate-Degree-Requirements.html#embargo
- Start the Submission Process - UB/Proquest's ETD Adminstrator Site - http://www.etdadmin.com/cgi-bin/school?siteld=62
II. Proquest Information for Theses Authors
- Proquest's Two Publishing Options - Student's Choice ("Traditional Publishing" vs. "Open Access") - http://www.etdadmin.com/UMI_PublishingOptionsGuide.pdf
- Copyright Guide - http://www.proquest.com/blog/2013/your-research-your-dissertation-or-thesis-your-rights.html
- Preparing Your Dissertation for Publication - http://grad.buffalo.edu/content/dam/www/graduate/documents/etd/prepdissertation.pdf