Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Researching Prospective Employers


This guide lists sources of information to assist students who are researching prospective employers. All of the sources listed can be found in the University at Buffalo Libraries or on the World Wide Web.


Books

There are four basic ways of searching for books and other materials in Classic Catalog (the UB Libraries online catalog): by author, title, keyword, or subject heading. Each of these search methods are demonstrated below. For additional assistance, review the UB Libraries Web Catalog Help page, or Contact A Librarian.

Sample AUTHOR search: ryan, daniel

Sample TITLE search: guide to internet job searching

Sample KEYWORD search: jobs and information technology

Sample SUBJECT search:vocational guidance--united states

NOTE: To browse the library reference or circulating collections for books on prospective employers, go to the stacks that have call numbers ranging from HF5381-HF5382.5.


Databases

The databases listed below are useful sources for exploring careers. Students can use these databases to search for professional organizations, or to search for articles about careers in newspapers, magazines, or journals. For additional searching assistance, review the ASL Finding Articles guide, or Contact A Librarian.

  • Business Source Complete

    Indexes more than 4,100 journals, including 3,300 full-text titles, covering nearly all areas of business, management, economics, finance, accounting, and more. Also provides company profiles.

    UB ONLY
  • Hoover's Company Records

    Provides profiles of approximately 15,000 of the largest public and private companies worldwide.

    UB ONLY
  • Vocational and Career Collection

    Provides full-text coverage for over 350 trade and industry related periodicals.

    UB ONLY

or additional databases, refer to the UB Libraries' Business page. NOTE: These databases are restricted to current UB students and staff.


Web Sites

The following web sites have been selected by Librarians and Career Services Counselors as being the best Internet resources for information on career planning. For additional web assistance, review the Using Web Resources page, or Contact A Librarian.