Spanish & Latin American Literature: Selected Resources
JSTOR presents the full text, in facsimile form, of the complete back files of 510 important scholarly journals, generally lacking only the most recent three years. JSTOR includes about 160 titles in literature and language, and many area studies and multi-disciplinary journals.
Project Muse provides full-text access to over 300 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published by The Johns Hopkins University Press and other scholarly publishers, largely in the disciplines of Cultural Studies, History, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion and Theater.
Compludoc Interdisciplinary journal database from the Biblioteca de la Universidad Complutense, Madrid.
LexisNexis Academic provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish.
Encyclopaedia Britannica, inc. Enciclopedia Hispánica. Barcelona: Encyclopaedia Britannica Publishers, 1999.
Lockwood Library Reference AE61 .E52 1999
CD-ROM and guide at Silverman Library under same call number
Carrasco, David. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Lockwood Library Reference PC4071 .W66 1997
Price, Glanville (ed). Encyclopedia of the Languages of Europe. Blackwell Publishing, 2000. Blackwell Reference Online.
Enciclopedia Universal Ilustrada Europeo-americana: Etimologías Sánscrito, Hebreo, Griego, Látin, Árabe, Lenguas Indígenas Americanas, Etc. Barcelona: J. Espasa, 1907.
Lockwood Library Reference AE61 .E6
Pérez, Janet., and Maureen Ihrie. The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002.
Lockwood Library Reference PQ6055 .F46 2002
Kanellos, Nicolás. The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2008.
Lockwood Library PS153 .H56 G74 2008 (5th floor)
Real Academia Española. Diccionario De La Lengua Española. 22a. ed. Madrid: Real Academia Española.
Corominas, Joan., José Pascual, and Joan. Diccionario crítico etimológico de la lengua castellana. Madrid: Editorial Gredos, 1980.
Lockwood Library Reference PC4580 .C6 1980
6 volumes of this scholarly etymological dictionary.
Larousse dictionaries includes a number of free dictionaries online.
Spanish dictionaries have call numbers PC 4001 to PC 4977 ; Catalan dictionaries have call number PC 3889 in Lockwood reference and on the fifth floor.
Literary Histories, Criticism and Biographies
Literature Resource Center contains full-text biographical, bibliographical, and critical analysis of more than 100,000 world authors and works throughout history and across all literary genres (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, and journalism). Enables you to search by literary movement (e.g., Harlem Renaissance), gender, or author ethnicity (e.g., African American).
Alborg, Juan Luis. Historia De La Literatura Española. Madrid: Editorial Gredos, 1966.
Lockwood Library Reference PQ6032 .A45 PQ6032 .A45
Covers the Middle Ages and Renaissance, the 17th century, the 18th century, Romanticism, and Realism and Naturalism with extensive bibliographic information in the footnotes.
Gullón, Ricardo. Diccionario De Literatura Española E Hispanoamericana. Madrid: Alianza Editorial, 1993.
Lockwood Library Reference PQ6006 .D6 1993
Short entries wioth bibliographies
Ward, Philip. The Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1978. Lockwood Library Reference PQ6006 .O93
Centro de las Letras Españolas (Spain). Diccionario De Autores: Quién Es Quién En Las Letras Espanolas. Madrid: Fundación Germán Sánchez Ruipérez, 1988.
Lockwood Library Z2693.3 .D53 1988 (5th floor)
Bhalla, Alok., N Satish, L. S Ramaiah, and T. V Prafulla Chandra. Latin American Writers: A Bibliography With Critical Biographical Introductions. New York: Envoy Press, 1987.
Lockwood Library PQ7081 .A1 L37 1989 (5th floor)
Valdés, Mario J., and Djelal Kadir. Literary Cultures of Latin America: A Comparative History. New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, 2004.
Lockwood Library Reference PQ7081.A1 L525 2004
R. Gonzalez Echevarria, E. Pupo-Walker. Cambridge Histories of Latin American Literature. Cambridge ; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 1996. In print: Lockwood Library Reference PQ7081 .A1 C35 1996
Flores, Angel. Spanish American Authors: The Twentieth Century. Bronx, NY: H.W. Wilson, 1992.
Lockwood Library Reference PQ7081.3 F57 1992
Excellent biographical essays, with bibliographies.
Ryan, Bryan. Hispanic Writers: A Selection of Sketches From Contemporary Authors. Detroit: Gale Research, 1991.
Lockwood Library Reference PQ 7081.3 H58 1991
Covers contemporary prominant Hispanic American authors.
Aira, César. Diccionario De Autores Latinoamericanos. Buenos Aires: Emecé, 2001.
Lockwood Library PQ7081.3 .A35 2001
Kanellos, Nicolás. Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States: The Literature of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Other Hispanic Writers. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.
Lockwood Library Reference PQ7420.2 K3 1989
Covers almost exclusively Puerto Rican and Cuban writers in the United States.
Woodbridge, Hensley Charles. Guide to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature and Spanish American Literature. 2nd ed. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1997.
Lockwood Library Reference PC4071 .W66 1997
Excellent guide to general and regional resources.
Rela, Walter. A Bibliographical Guide to Spanish American Literature: Twentieth-century Sources. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
Lockwood Library Reference Z1609 .L7 R438 1988
Bleznick, Donald William. A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language: A Selected, Annotated Guide to Spanish, Spanish-American, and United States Hispanic Bibliography, Literature, Linguistics, Journals, and Other Source Materials. 3rd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1995.
Lockwood Library Reference PC4071 B55 1995
Indexes to Periodicals
MLA International Bibliography (Annual; library has 1956 to 1996 in print version)
LML Ref Z 7006 M64 (In the Index & Abstract section.)
Includes citations to journal articles, books, chapters of books, and dissertations.
BIBLAT Index of Latin American Journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes Spanish, Portuguese, French and English language journals. 1975 - present.
HAPI Online Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for approximately 300,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Currently provides over 60,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
HLAS-Handbook of Latin American Studies Indexes journals, books, documents, and reports on Latin America with good coverage of Latin American publications from 1935 to current. Search in English, Spanish, or Portuguese.
Books in Print and National Bibliographies
Spanish Books in Print ( Libro, Lectura y Letras )
Lists books published in Spain (does not include Spanish language publications from other countries) since 1972. Also includes CDs, DVDs, books in Braille, and other non-book materials. More information
Libros en Venta en Hispanoamerica y Espana. 1964-. 3 vols. (Latest ed. in Reference)
Lockwood Library Reference Z1601 .L59
Foster, David William., and Virginia Ramos Foster. Manual of Hispanic Bibliography. 2d, rev. and expanded ed. New York: Garland Pub., 1977.
Lockwood Library Reference PQ6033 .F68 1977
Moseley, William W., Glenroy Emmons, and Marilyn C Emmons. Spanish Literature, 1500-1700: A Bibliography of Golden Age Studies in Spanish and English, 1925-1980. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1984.
Lockwood Library Z2692 .M67 1984 (5th floor)
RiLVi ( Repertorio Integrado de Libros en Venta en Iberoamerica )
Records of recently published books from the publishers of 18 countries in Latin America and the Caribbean List of participants, from Argentina to Venezuela, is included under heading “ ¿Quiénes participan? ” More information
Other Library and Internet Resources
Biblioteca Virtual de Miguel de Cervantes A vast digital repository which contains different types of full-text sources (articles, books, manuscripts) on all aspects of Spanish literature, culture and history, including full-text of many older literary works.
Modern Humanities Research Association. The Year's Work in Modern Language Studies. London: Oxford University Press, 1931. Lockwood Reference PB 1 Y45 (Shelved in Index & Abstract section) and online. Includes citations and abstracts of the most important books and articles published in the field each year
LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)
Academic resources for Latin American literature, including primary texts and criticism, are listed here in a University of Texas site dedicated to Latin American studies.