Energy: Government Resources
- National Policy Issues
- US Statistics
- Technical Information
- Nuclear Energy
- New York State
- International Data
- Additional Information
National Policy Issues
Department of Energy (DOE) Home Page
The Department of Energy oversees the nation's energy research, development, and conservation. Topics pertain to national security; energy sources, efficiency, prices and trends; the environment; related sciences and technology; health; and safety and security. Selected sections are for people doing business with DOE; consumers; researchers; students and teachers; and children.
The Energy Source (U.S. Congress. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources)
The hearings and news room sections are the most informative parts of this site. These abbreviated hearings reproduce testimonies of witnesses before the full committee and the subcommittees, but exclude dialogs among the witnesses and the Committee members. The Business and Government Documents Reference Center maintains the complete hearings in paper format. The news room includes two sets of press releases issued by the Committee Chair and the ranking minority member.
House Committee on Natural Resources (U.S. Congress)
The House Committee on Nataural Resources has jurisdiction over environmental and energy issues. (Previously named the Committee on Resources.) View news releases on the Committee home page and the Press Gallery section. Hearings and Reports are additional key information sources.
Committee hearings are forums held by committees and subcommittees where experts and administrative officials testify about the issues. They are then questioned by committee/subcommittee members. The questioning can become very interesting when administration officials respond to their opponents.
- Hearings available through the GPO Federal Digital System (FDsys)
Select House Hearings and follow links to the appropriate committee.
- Hearings available through the Committee Archives
Annual Energy Review (U.S. Department of Energy. Energy Information Administration (EIA))
Lockwood Documents US MicFiche E 3.1/2 (1992-2001)
Lockwood Documents US E 3.1/ 2 (1982-1991)
Presents energy statistics usually covering 1949 to date. Topics pertain to energy consumption; financial indicators; petroleum; natural gas; coal; electricity; nuclear energy; renewable energy; international energy; and the environment. The web site allows users to view tables and graphs in HTML or PDF formats, or to download them in Excel format.
Energy & Financial Markets: What Drives Crude Oil Prices? (U.S. Department of Energy. Energy Information Administration)
Analyzes7 factors that influence oil markets, with chart data updated monthly and quarterly. (OPEC supply, non-OPEC supply, inventory, spot prices, financial markets, OPEC demand, and non-OPEC demand)
Energy Information Administration (EIA) (U.S. Department of Energy)
EIA is the US Department of Energy office charged with developing and analyzing energy statistics. Data include an overview of trends, plus specific topics, such as petroleum; natural gas; coal; nuclear power; electricity; renewable and alternate fuels; the environment; and forecasts. Although most information deals with the US, tables and comprehensive essays also analyze trends in countries throughout the world. Additional sections deal with energy users; finance; historical statistics; prices; state data; children's resources; press releases; and links to related Web pages. Current EIA Publications are listed at http://www.eia.doe.gov/bookshelf.html .
Energy A-Z: Energy Topics (U.S. Department of Energy. Energy Information Administration)
Provides quick reference statistics and facts about numerous popular topics. Examples include air conditioning; alternative fuels; aviation gasoline; biomass; buildings; coal; commercial lighting; petroleum; energy prices; supply and demand; consumption; electricity; and ethanol.
Energy Statistics (U.S. Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy)
The FedStats system attempts to link the major statistical agencies and their programs in one index. The energy section covers data produced by four agencies:
- Energy Information Administration (U.S. Department of Energy)
Click here for a description of this agency.
- Minerals Management Service (U.S. Department of the Interior)
Manages mineral resources in the outer continental shelf.
- Office of Health, Safety, and Security (U.S. Department of Energy)
Deals with radiological issues affecting energy workers.
- U.S. Geological Survey (U.S. Department of the Interior
Maintains databases of oil, gas, and coal resources.
Monthly Energy Review (U.S. Department of Energy. Energy Information Administration)
Lockwood Documents US E 3.9 (1974-2001)
A monthly journal that summarizes energy trends. Separate sections present an overview; energy consumption; data relevant to oil and gas research and development; and information about specific kinds of energy, including petroleum, electricity, natural gas, coal, and nuclear power.
States (U.S. Department of Energy. Energy Information Administration)
Presents energy statistics pertaining to the 50 states.
Building Energy Codes (U.S. Department of Energy. Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy)
Attempts to promote improved energy codes for buildings by working with government agencies, national code organizations, and industry. It also hopes to develop and distribute compliance tools; and provide financial and technical assistance to states.
A semi-monthly newsletter that summarizes research performed at national laboratories affiliated with the Department of Energy, available in both PDF and HTML formats.
Energy Resources Program (U.S. Geological Survey)
Conducts basic and applied research on geologic energy resources, and the environmental, economic, and human health impacts of their production and use. Data pertain to oil, coal, and natural gas resources in the United States and the world.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) (Department of Energy)
OSTI sponsors, collects, and preserves Department of Energy research and development. Select the DOE Collections under the Science Information tab to view related databases. Examples include the:
- DOE Data Explorer (DDE)
Provides access to data files, interactive maps, photos, multimedia, and other non-textual resources.
- SciTech Connect
SciTech Connect combines the former DOE Information Bridge that covered over 43,000 Department of Energy research reports processed since 1995 and Energy Citations Database that dealt with energy related scientific and technical information issues since 1948.
Nuclear Power Information Tracker (Union of Concerned Scientists (UCS))
Select power plants from a map or a list to view a brief box that describes safety issues and a detailed statement that cites the reactor's owners, locations, populations within a 10-mile radius, and safety issues. Links lead to more detailed documentation.
Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Home Page
Separate sections describe the agency and what it does; nuclear reactors; nuclear materials; radioactive waste; public involvement; and the Electronic Reading Room. Use the Site Map at http://www.nrc.gov/site-help/site-map.html to navigate through this large home page.
See Citizen's Guide to U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Information for descriptions of the kinds of materials published by the Commission and data about acquiring them. The full text of the Citizen's Guide is available online ( http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/nuregs/brochures/br0010/br0010v4.pdf ); in addition, a printed copy is available in the Science & Engineering Library at Sci/Engr Documents US Y 3.N 88: 8 C 49/ 2003.
The following NRC sites are particularly useful:
- Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS) http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html
Provides access to all documents made public by the NRC since November 1, 1999 and to bibliographic records (some with abstracts and full text) issued prior to that date. System administrators add several hundred new documents daily. ADAMS permits full text searching and the ability to view document images, download files, and print locally.
- Document Collections
Provides access to document collections available in full-text. Topics cover nuclear wastes; Commission memoranda and other documentation; Congressional materials; enforcement; reports of events; fact sheets; regulations; and news releases.
- Index to All Frequently Asked Questions Pages
Topics pertain to the Agency Document Access and Management System (ADAMS); emergency response; nuclear materials control; licenses; maintenance; NRC careers; the environment; NRC's 9/11 response; public meetings; reactor decommissioning; and transportation.
- ROP List of Assessment Reports/Inspection Plans
Lists Assessment Reports and Inspection Plans for specific power generating plants.
West Valley Site Management Program (U.S. Department of Energy. Ohio Field Office and New York State Energy Research Development Authority)
The U.S. Department of Energy, in cooperation with the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority, operate the West Valley Demonstration Project (WVDP). Data include background information, plus information about environmental projects; safety; waste management; and technology.
New York State
New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA)
NYSERDA helps industries, schools, hospitals, municipalities, not-for-profits, and residents implement energy efficiency measures. Over 30 programs relate to commercial and industrial development; economic development; energy analysis (prices and demands); research and development; residential incentives; transportation; and the West Valley project, plus other topics. The publications section lists online NYSERDA reports that may be available through the Libraries Catalog in paper format, and citations to technical reports issued between 1975 and 2001. These may be available in the Science and Engineering Library Technical Reports Collection . ( http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/tech_repts.html )
Country Analysis Briefs at a Glance (U.S. Department of Energy. Energy Information Administration)
Select information by country or by topic.
Energy Sector (Natural Resources Canada)
Energy Sector is the Canadian agency that deals with research and development; policy development; and analysis of energy use, markets, and supplies.
International Energy Agency (IEA)
The IEA is an arm of the Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development that collects and evaluates energy information and policies of member nations. Menu choices link to publications; statistics; oil market reports; country studies; environmental issues; market reforms; energy technology and efficiency; and current news.
International Energy Annual (U.S. Department of Energy. Energy Information Administration)
Provides information and trends on world energy production and consumption for petroleum; natural gas; coal; and electricity. Statistics measuring population and GDP put the data in context. View information in PDF format or download Excel files that offer longer time series.
International Petroleum Monthly (U.S. Department of Energy. Energy Information Administration)
Reproduces current international oil data on production, demand, imports, and stocks.
National Energy Board (Canada)
Compiles statistics about oil, gas, electricity, and utilities in Canada. Download data in XLS (Excel) format.
Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC)
An organization of developing oil exporting countries. Topics cover news; publications; and FAQs.
World Bank Group Energy Program (World Bank. Infrastructure Vice Presidency. Energy and Water Department)
Assists developing countries in achieving clean, modern, and affordable energy; and sustained environmental and financial security of their energy sectors. Topics cover strategies and policies; publications; news; regional breakdowns; specific projects; and related links.
World Energy Council
The World Energy Council is a major international organization in the energy field. It offers data about energy conditions and outlooks for nations throughout the world.
Energy and Statistical Information on the Web (U.S. Department of Energy. Energy Information Administration)
A comprehensive collection of links lead to Department of Energy offices and laboratories; other federal agencies; state agencies; universities; international organizations; energy companies dealing with coal, petroleum, and electricity; news services and periodicals; and trade associations.