Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

English Literature: A Research & Reference Guide



Finding Books

Search Libraries Catalog to locate books on your topic. There are four basic ways to search the Catalog:

Keywords (use the Boolean operator "AND" to connect key terms)
Sample search: frankenstein AND monstrosity

Title (omit initial articles such as ‘the' and ‘a')
Sample search: room of one’s own 

Subject (use Library of Congress subject headings)
Sample search: English fiction -- 19th century -- History and criticism

Author (last name first)
Sample search: woolf, virginia

For more help searching the Catalog, click on the Help section of the Catalog or Contact a Librarian for assistance.


Literary Terms/Literary Movements

A Glossary of Literary Terms
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PN41 .A184 2009

Bedford Glossary of Critical and Literary Terms
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PN41 .M874 1997

Continuum Encyclopedia of Modern Criticism and Theory
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PN94 .C695 2002

A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN56 .S9 F47 2007

Dictionary of Literary Themes and Motifs
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN43 .D48 1988

Dictionary of Poetic Terms
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PN1042 .M93 2003

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
LOCKWOOD LIBARARY / Reference: PN172 .E52 2001

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/hopkins.html 

Literature Online (LION)
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/lion.html


Specialized Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Blackwell Reference Online
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=463

Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature
LIBRARIES ANNEX / General Collection: PR19 .B54 1997

Cambridge Guide to English Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR85 .C28 1983

The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR85 .C29 2006

The Cambridge History of Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PN86 .C27 1989

A Chronological Outline of British Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR87 .R57 1980

Dictionary of Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR2892 .M398 2000

A Dictionary of Shakespeare
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR2892 .W43 1998

Encyclopedia of Catholic Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN485 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN471 .W455 2004

Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PN669 .E53 2000

Literary History of England
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR83 .B18 1967

Oxford Companion to English Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR19 .O94 2006

Oxford Companion to the Literature of Wales
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PB2202 .N49 1998

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=305

Oxford Illustrated Literary Guide to Great Britain and Ireland
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR109 .E18 2008

The Post-Colonial Studies: the Essential Glossary
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR9080 .P57 1995


Biographical Resources

A Biographical Dictionary of English Women Writers, 1580-1720
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR113 .B46 1990

Feminist Companion to Literature in English Women: Writers from the Middle Ages to the Present
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR111 .F45 1990

Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/dlb.html

British Authors before 1800: a Biographical Dictionary
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR105 .K9

British Authors of the Nineteenth Century
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR451 .K8 1936

The Scribner Writers Series
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/scribner.html

Modern British Women Writers: an A-to-Z Guide
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR116 .M63 2002

Encyclopedia of British Women Writers
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR111 .E54 1998

Encyclopedia of British Writers, 19th and 20th centuries   
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR451 .E55 2003

British Writers
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR85 .B688


Bibliographies

A Concise Bibliography for Students of English
LIBRARIES ANNEX / General Collection: Z2011 .K35 1972

Magill’s Bibliography of Literary Criticism: Selected Sources for the Study of More than 2,500 Outstanding Works of Western Literature  
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: Z6511 .M25

A Reference Guide for English Studies
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR56 .M37 1990

The Shorter New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature
LIBRARIES ANNEX / General Collection:  Z2011 .S45 1981

English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/estc.html

The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online 
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/world-shakespeare.html

WorldCat
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/worldcat.html


Finding Literary Criticism (Online Resources)

MLA International Bibliography
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/mla.html 

ABELL - (Modern Humanities Research Association) Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/abell.html

Academic Search Complete
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=461

Literature Online
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/lion.html

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select (CLC)
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/clc.html
A collection of biographical and critical essays on contemporary writers (defined as writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959).

Humanities International Complete
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=452

Literature Resource Center (LRC)
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/lrc.html

JSTOR (Journal STORage)
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/jstor.html

Periodicals Index Online (PIO), formerly PCI - Periodicals Content Index
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=314

Periodicals Archive Online
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=313

Dissertations & Theses
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/dissertations.html

Project MUSE
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/muse.html

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/ahcitindx.html

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/Iter.html

The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online 
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/world-shakespeare.html


Finding Literary Criticism (Print Resources)

British Humanities Index
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference Index Area: AI3 .B7

The English Novel. 1578-1956: a Checklist of Twentieth Century Criticism
LIBRARIES ANNEX / General Collection: Z2014 .F5 B4 1974

English Novel Explication: Criticisms to 1972
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: Z2014 .F5 P26

Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN86 .L53
An authoritative international resource that covers works from the late Middle Ages, Renaissance and Restoration.

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN761 .N5
A source of commentary on the careers and works of poets, novelists, short-story writers, dramatists and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899.

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN771 .G27
Provides information on more than 2,000 authors now living or who lived between 1900 and 1960. Entries include a portrait, biographical and critical information, a list of principal works, excerpts from criticism, explanatory notes and bibliographical citations, and suggested further reading.

Contemporary Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN94 .C62
Contains over 35,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Entries include lists of biographical, critical, and principal works, as well as information for further study.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
Cataloged by individual title
Outlines the lives and careers of writers from all eras. Entries consist of a biographical and critical sketch, as well as an extensive bibliography. See also, online DLB http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/dlb.html

Index to Commonwealth Little Magazines, 1964
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference Index Area: AI3 .I48
Covers English-language little magazines published in Commonwealth and ex-Commonwealth countries. Indexes journal articles and book reviews.

Cambridge History of English Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR83 .C22 1960
Standard literary history. Includes essays on poetry, fiction, drama, history, theology and political writing.

Oxford History of English Literature
Cataloged by individual title
Standard literary history. Volumes include a chronology, bibliography and information on major and minor writers as well as social, scientific, political and religious contexts.

The New Moulton's Library of Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR85 .N39 1985
An updated and expanded version of Moulton's Library of Literary Criticism of English and American Authors (1901), it includes authors from the Medieval through the Edwardian eras.

The Critical Perspective: Twentieth-Century Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR85 .C76 1985
Multi-volume set contains excerpts from 20th century criticism on writers whose works pre-date 1904. Arranged chronologically.

Twentieth-Century British Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR473 .T84 1985
Criticism of modern authors from the United Kingdom and its former colonies.

Index to Book Reviews in England 1749-1774
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: Z1035 .A1F67 1990
Volume covering 1749-1774 lists reviews for 3,023 works of English poetry, fiction, and drama.

Index to Book Reviews in England 1775-1800.
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: Z1035 .A1F675 1997
Volume covering 1750-1800 lists reviews for 4,984 works of English poetry, fiction, and drama.


Annual Surveys of Literature

Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory
http://ywcct.oxfordjournals.org

Year's Work in English Studies
http://ywes.oxfordjournals.org

Annals of English literature, 1475-1950: the principal publications of each year, together with an alphabetical index of authors with their works
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: Z2011 .A5 1961  


Primary Resources Online

APS Online (represents a portion of the American Periodical Series (APS)
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=42

Archive Finder - formerly ArchivesUSA
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=43

Early Encounters in North America
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=130

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=145

Literature Online (LION)
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/lion.html

Periodicals Index Online (PIO), formerly PCI - Periodicals Content Index
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=314

TEAMS Middle English Texts 
http://www.lib.rochester.edu/camelot/teams/tmsmenu.htm

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/eeb.html

Dictionary of Old English: Old English Corpus
http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/old_english.html

Victorian Women Writers Project
 
http://www.indiana.edu/%7Eletrs/vwwp/


Special Collections

UB Poetry Collection
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/pl/

Significant Holdings Include: Robert Graves, James Joyce, Wyndham Lewis


Additional Web Resources

Celebration of Women Writers
http://digital.library.upenn.edu/women/

Electronic Text Collections
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/

English Literature on the Web
http://www.lang.nagoya-u.ac.jp/~matsuoka/EngLit.html

Internet Public Library Literary Criticism Collection
http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/

Literature History
http://www.literaryhistory.com/

The Victorian Web
http://www.victorianweb.org/

VoS: Voice of the Shuttle
http://vos.ucsb.edu/


Citing Resources

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: LB2369 .G53 2009

How to Create an MLA Works Cited Page
http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/DocMLAWorksCited.html

How to Create MLA Parenthetical Citations
http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/DocMLACitation.html

Frequently Asked Questions about MLA Style
http://www.mla.org/style_faq

Annotated Bibliographies
http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/AnnotatedBibliography.html

The Chicago Manual of Style
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: Z253 .U69 2003  

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: BF76.7 .P83 2010

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: LB2369 .T8 1996


Citation Management Software

EndNote
http://library.buffalo.edu/endnote/index.html


For further references, consult:

Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR83 .H34 2008
A selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.

Reference Works in British and American Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR83 .B74 1998
An annotated bibliography of bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, indexes, concordances, and current journals or newsletters devoted to one of about 600 British or American authors.