Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Economic & Social Statistics: International Data



Worldwide

Access descriptions of countries throughout the world at http://library.buffalo.edu//asl/guides/busdoc/foreign_gov.html

CIS National Statistical Compendiums (Congressional Information Service, Inc.)
MicFiche HA 154 .C8. Updated irregularly.
Time period: Annual data. Availability of statistics varies depending upon nation.
A microfiche collection that reproduces statistical abstracts published by nations throughout the world. These titles are among the few on this list that offer data at subnational levels. (e.g.: regions, provinces)

Data and Statistics (World Bank)
http://www.worldbank.org/data
Time period: Most recent 5 years.
Statistics from the World Development Indicators database cover data profiles; information and communication technologies; socioeconomic indicators of development; gender issues; and health, nutrition, and population. Arrangement is by countries and topics.

FAOSTAT (Food and Agricultural Organization)
http://faostat.fao.org/
Time period: 1961-date.
Includes over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics about agriculture. Topics pertain to production; trade; food balance sheets; fertilizers and pesticides; land use and irrigation; forest products; fishery products; population; agricultural machinery; and food aid shipments. Each database includes explanations and methodologies.

Foreign Labor Statistics (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
http://stats.bls.gov/fls/home.htm
Time period: 1950-date.
View historical and current statistics for selected nations. Topics include the consumer price index; gross domestic product; hourly wages; employment and unemployment; and productivity and unit labor costs. Create customized tables at http://data.bls.gov/labjava/outside.jsp?survey=in.

Human Development Report (United Nations Development Programme)
http://hdr.undp.org/en/
Lockwood HD72 H8 (1990+; most recent in Reference)
Law Library General Collection HD72 H85 (1998-2006)
Compiles the human development index (HDI) which measures well-being or quality of life. The UN Development Programme calculates the indices that range from 0-1 with 1 being the highest.  Topics deal with health care and life expectancy; education and literacy; standard of living measured through purchasing power, income, trade, and poverty; employment and unemployment; the environment and energy; access to technology; research and development; priorities in public spending; armed forces; refugees; crime; gender equality; and human rights.  Retrieve information by countries, by indicators, or create customized tables.  Each volume includes technical notes describing how the indices are compiled.

Index to International Statistics (IIS) (Lexis-Nexis)
BUS DOC REF HA154 .I544
Time period: 1983-date.
Indexes documents published by international organizations. Almost all items indexed are available through the IIS Microfiche Library. (Lockwood Library Newspaper & Microform Area: MicFiche HA154 .I542) The LexisNexis Statistical database includes an online version of IIS, plus full text pdf copies beginning with 2009.


International Data Base (IDB) (U.S. Census Bureau)
http://www.census.gov/pub/ipc/www/idbnew.html
Provides socioeconomic information for countries throughout the world. Select the Online Access option to display one data variable at a time for any combination of countries and years. Format options include a display mode for viewing data on the screen and a spreadsheet mode for downloading statistics. Other options include Summary Demographic Data; Online Demographic Aggregation; Population Pyramids; and Countries Ranked by Total Population.

International Financial Statistics (International Monetary Fund)
CD-ROM HG3881 .I626 (Consult reference librarian in the Lockwood Library's Business and Government Documents Reference Center for access)
Time period: Annual, quarterly, and monthly from 1948-date.
IMF attempts to promote international monetary cooperation; stability among exchange rates; economic growth and high levels of employment; and easier balance of payment adjustments. Data deal with exchange rates; money and banking; prices; production; trade; government finance; and national accounts. IMF publishes two related titles in paper format:

  • International Financial Statistics (PER HG 3881 .I626, current issues shelved by title). Reproduces monthly data.
  • International Financial Statistics Yearbook (BUS DOC REF HG3881 I5762) Reproduces annual data for the most recent 30 years.

International Home Page (U.S. Department of Energy. Energy Information Administration)
http://www.eia.doe.gov/countries/
Retrieve energy related data by countries. Information includes statistical data and forecasts; and textual descriptions of the nations' energy sector and environment.

International Labour Office
http://www.ilo.org/public/english/bureau/stat/portal/online.htm
Links to several databases pertaining to the socioeconomic status of the labor force.

  • Child Labour: Statistical Information Monitoring Programme on Child Labour (SIMPOC): Presents statistics on child labor for selected countries and selected years.
  • LABORSTA: Topics relate to employment and unemployment; hours of work; wages; labor costs in manufacturing; consumer price indexes; work injuries; and strikes and lockouts since1969. Searching multiple data variables for a single nation usually works more effectively than searching a single variable for many nations.
  • Labour Force Surveys: Links to labor force agencies in approximately 90 countries.
  • Labour Migration: Presents statistics about labor force migration. Retrieve data for individual nations or groups of countries; browse lists of tables; or view charts.
  • SEGREGAT: Presents employment statistics by occupational groups and sex. Data are from censuses or surveys taken near 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000.

Additional selected International Labour Organization sources useful to students and faculty include

  • Bulletin of Labour Statistics, quarterly.
    PER HD 4826 .I53; current issues shelved title.
    Covers monthly data for most recent 4 year period. Topics deal with employment; unemployment; hours of work; wages; and consumer price indexes.
  • Year Book of Labour Statistics
    BUS DOC REF HD 7801 .I653. Published annually.
    A comprehensive annual compilation.
  • A Guide to Sources of Labour Information
    http://www.ilo.org/public/english/support/lib/tools/guide.htm

International Marketing Data and Statistics (Euromonitor Publications Ltd.)
BUS DOC REF HA 42 .I7. Published annually.
Time period: Time periods vary depending upon variables and tables from the most recent 25 years to the most current year.
A compendium of data on countries in the Americas, Asia, Africa, and Oceania. Topics cover banking; trade; the labor force; industrial output; energy and the environment; defense; consumer expenditures; retail trade; advertising; education and literacy; and agriculture. The editors include a subject index.

LexisNexis Statistical

Macroeconomic Time Series Data Source Locator (University of Chicago. Library)
http://busecon.lib.uchicago.edu
Indexes and describes 55 sources held by the University of Chicago that provide economic time series data.  Search for information by specifying the beginning year; geographic coverage; and subjects.  UB owns many of the cited sources.

National Accounts Statistics: Main Aggregates and Detailed Tables (United Nations).
BUS DOC REF HC 79 .I5 U532. Published annually.
Time period: Most current 12 years.
Provides detailed national account data for over 180 nations. Topics deal with gross domestic product measured in various contexts; government outlays and production; transfer payments; household and private sector production; and non-profit making concerns. Organization is by country. Introductory materials for each country summarize data methodologies, and collection and processing procedures.

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Development Assistance Committee (DAC)
www.oecd.org/dac
Time period: 1960-date.
The Development Assistance Committee (DAC) is the OECD body that coordinates assistance to developing nations. Select the IDS Online option to view tables that measure aid by donor and recipient countries. View or download information for use with Excel. Consult BISON (http://library.buffalo.edu//e-resources/bison/) to access the University Libraries comprehensive holdings of OECD publications. Most include large amounts of statistics. See also OECD's International Direct Investment Statistics Yearbook at BUS DOC REF HG4538 I536 year).

Penn World Tables 5.6 (Computing in the Humanities and Social Sciences (CHASS) (University of Toronto)
http://datacentre2.chass.utoronto.ca/pwt
Time period: Varies depending upon the country from 1950-2000.
Penn World Tables offers statistics for 179 countries covering population; consumption; prices; savings; investment; and gross domestic product.

STATE OF WORLD POPULATION 2000 INDICATORS
(United Nations Fund for Population Activities(UNFPA))
https://www.unfpa.org/public/home/publications/swps
Time period: Annual, 1996-present
Provides data on population growth emphasizing developing nations. Topics pertain to population; vital statistics; family planning; literacy education; government spending for health and education; and energy consumption.

Structural Statistics for Industry and Services (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development)
BUS DOC REF HC 10 .I614. Published annually.
Time period: Most current 8 years.
Volume 1, Core Data, covers industrial production in developed economies. Arrangement is by nations. Selected subjects deal with production by industry; employment; capital investments; labor and wages; and trade. A time series covers up to ten years. Appendices describe national data sources, concepts, and definitions. Volume 2 deals with Energy Consumption.

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization)
http://www.unesco.org
Time period: 1970-present.
Covers data pertaining to education, literacy, culture and communications, and science and technology.

The Database Access option has several nuisances. The system limits table displays to 25 rows. Use advanced options to download complete tables in Excel or comma delimited formats. Download options limit files to 15,000 cells.

UNESCO Statistical Yearbook (United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization)
BUS DOC REF AZ 361 U45
Reproduces statistics about education; science and technology; and culture and communication.

  • Statistical Yearbook (BUS DOC REF HA 12.5 .U63)
  • Monthly Bulletin of Statistics
    http://unstats.un.org/unsd/mbs/
    (PER HC 57 .U66; current issues shelved by title)

World Economic Outlook (International Monetary Fund)
http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/weo/2003/01/data/index.htm
Presents the IMF analysis and projections of economic development in CSV (comma separated variables) files for use with spreadsheet or database software. Topics pertain to various configurations of gross domestic product; inflation; debt; and capital flows. View World Economic Outlook reports that include textual descriptions and tables at http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/weo/weorepts.htm.

World Factbook (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html
US Prex3.15:.
Time period: Annual. Dates vary depending upon the nation.
Provides basic almanac-type information about countries throughout the world. Topics cover geography; people; government; the economy; transportation and communication; and armed services.

World Resources: A Report by the World Resources Institute and the International Institute for Environment and Development
BUS DOC HC 10 .W827.
Time period: Annual.
Provides information about the effect of economic development on the environment. Statistical tables and graphs supplement the text.


Africa

Click here to access textual descriptions of African nations.

International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceania: 1750-1993, compiled by B.R. Mitchell. 3rd edition.
BUS DOC REF HA 4675 .M55.
Time period: 1750-1993.
Statistics cover all nations in Africa and Asia, plus Australia and New Zealand. Topics include population and vital statistics; labor force; agriculture; industry; trade; transportation and communications; finance; prices; education; and national accounts. Tables have source notes and footnotes that describe peculiarities of the data among different nations and time periods.


Asia

Click here to view textual descriptions of Asian nations.

Asian Development Bank
http://www.adb.org
Time period: Current data.
Retrieve data by country or by topics. The link to publications includes selected full text materials that cover economic reports and updates.

International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceania: 1750-1993, compiled by B.R. Mitchell. 3rd edition.
BUS DOC REF HA 4675 .M55.
Click here for a description.

Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific (U.N. Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific).
BUS DOC REF HA 1665 .S73. Published annually.
Time period: Varies depending upon table. Most tables cover 11 years.
Data deal with population; manpower; national accounts; agriculture; industry; energy; transportation; trade; wages and prices; and finance. Many tables offer an 11 year time series. Arrangement is by country.


Europe

Click here to view textual descriptions of European nations.

European Marketing Data and Statistics (European Research Consultants).
BUS DOC REF HA 1107 .E87. Published annually.
Time period: Varies depending upon data item from 25 years to a single year.
Statistics measure economic and business topics for all countries in Eastern and Western Europe. Selected subjects deal with banking; trade; the labor force; industrial output; energy and the environment; defense; consumer expenditures; retail trade; advertising; education and literacy; and agriculture. The editors include a directory of marketing sources and a subject index.

Eurostat (European Union)
http://epp.eurostat.ec.europa.eu/portal/page/portal/eurostat/home/
Time period: Current data.
Eurostat is the European Union's statistical office. Topics cover general statistics; economics and finance; population and social conditions; industry, trade, and services; agriculture and fisheries; foreign trade; transportation; environment and energy; and science and technology. Eurostat limits most online data available without charge to news releases and brief reports. Users must complete a free registration form to maximize use of this Web site.

Eurostat Yearbook: A Statistical Eye on Europe (European Commission)
BUS DOC REF HA 1107.5 .E88. Published annually.
Time period: Most current ten years.
Compares statistics among European countries inside and outside the European Union; the United States; Canada; and Japan. Data describe people; the environment; national income and expenditures; and economic sectors, such as agriculture and industry. Textual descriptions and graphs supplement the statistical tables.

International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-1993, compiled by B.R. Mitchell. 4th edition.
BUS DOC REF HA 1107 .M5 1992
Time period: 1750-1993.
Statistics cover all nations in Western and Eastern Europe. Topics include population and vital statistics; labor force; agriculture; industry; trade; transportation and communications; finance; prices; education; and national accounts. Tables have source notes and footnotes that describe peculiarities of the data among different nations and time periods.

Regions Statistical Yearbook (European Economic Community).
BUS DOC REF HA 1107.5 .A263. Published annually.
Time period: Most recent year.
Statistics measure conditions in provinces and states of European Union nations. Topics pertain to population; employment and unemployment; economics; research and development; agriculture; energy; transportation; and the standard of living. The print format illustrates data on maps. Consult the supplementary CD-ROM in Lockwood Library's Newspaper and Microform section to access statistical tables. (CD-ROM HA 1107.5 A263)

State, Economy, and Society in Western Europe, 1815-1975: A Data Handbook in Two Volumes, compiled by Peter Flora et al.
BUS DOC REF HA 1107 .F56 1983Z
Time period: 1815-1975.
A statistical compendium that measures political, economic, and social change in Europe.


Latin America

Click here to view textual descriptions of Latin American nations.

Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC/CEPAL)
http://www.eclac.cl/default.asp?idioma=IN
Time period: Reproduces the last 5 Yearbooks.
The "Statistical information" section reproduces the annual Statistical Yearbook for Latin America (BUS DOC REF HA 751 .U5), a bilingual compilation of data about Latin America. Coverage includes social development and welfare; prices; economic growth and finance; population; trade; employment; and natural resources. Selected time series show trends. Other parts of the Web site include data about Latin America in the world economy; current economic conditions and outlooks; social conditions; and foreign investments.

International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750-1993, compiled by B.R. Mitchell. 4th edition
BUS DOC REF HA 175 .M55 1983b.
Time period: 1750-1993.
Statistics cover all nations in North and South America. Topics include population and vital statistics; labor force; agriculture; industry; trade; transportation and communications; finance; prices; education; and national accounts. Tables have source notes and footnotes that describe peculiarities of the data among different nations and time periods.

Statistical Abstract of Latin America (University of California at Los Angeles. Committee on Latin American Studies).
BUS DOC REF HA 931 .C3. Published annually.
Time period: Varies depending upon data items. Selected information covers the 19th Century.
A basic statistical source that attempts to promote research in Latin American studies. Topics pertain to geography; transportation and communications; population, health, and welfare; politics and the military; labor and migration; mining and energy; trade; finance; and national accounts. Tables include source notes for further reference. The editors exclude an index.


North America

Click here to view additional information about Canada.

Canadian Government Statistics (Lockwood Library. Business and Government Documents Reference Center)
http://library.buffalo.edu//asl/guides/busdoc/canada_docs.html#stats
Links to indexes and abstracts; catalogs; annual publications; periodicals; census resources; and internet sites.

International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750-1993, compiled by B.R. Mitchell. 4th edition
BUS DOC REF HA 175 .M55 1983b.
Click here for a description.

United States Statistics (Lockwood Library. Business and Government Documents Reference Center)


Oceania

Australian Bureau of Statistics
http://www.abs.gov.au/
Australia's official statistical agency.

International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceania: 1750-1993 , compiled by BR Mitchell. 3rd edition.
Lockwood Reference HA 4675 .M55.
Click here for a description.

Statistics New Zealand
http://www.stats.govt.nz/
New Zealand's official statistical agency.