Skip to Content
ublogo print
University Libraries

American Literature: A Research & Reference Guide

Finding Books

  • Search UB Libraries' Catalog to locate books on your topic. There are four basic ways to search the Catalog:
    • Keywords (use the Boolean operator "AND" to connect key terms) Sample search: immigration AND assimilation
    • Title begins with… (omit initial articles such as ‘the' and ‘a')
      Sample search: turn of the screw
    • Subject begins with… (use Library of Congress subject headings) Sample search: american literature 20th century history and criticism
    • Author (last name first) sample search: barthes, roland
  • For more help searching the Catalog, see Help section of the Catalog or Contact a Librarian for assistance.

Literary Terms, Literary Movements

  • A Glossary of Literary Terms
    LOCKWOOD Book Collection PN41.A184 2009
  • American Literature: the Essential Glossary
    LOCKWOOD Book Collection PS21 .M38 2003
  • Bedford Glossary of Critical and Literary Terms
    LOCKWOOD Book Collection PN41 .M874 1997
  • Cambridge History of American Literature
  • Continuum Encyclopedia of Modern Criticism and Theory
    LOCKWOOD Book Collection PN94 .C695 2002
  • A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
    LOCKWOOD Reference PN56 .S9 F47 2007
  • Dictionary of Literary Themes and Motifs
    LOCKWOOD Reference PN43 .D48 1988
  • Dictionary of Poetic Terms
    LOCKWOOD Book Collection PN1042 .M93 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
    LOCKWOOD Reference PN172 .E52 2001
  • Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
  • Literary History of the United States
    LOCKWOOD Reference PS88. L5 1974
  • Literature Online (LION)

Specialized Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia of American Literature
LOCKWOOD Reference PN41 .B4 1991

Blackwell Reference Online

Cambridge Handbook of American Literature
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PS21 .C36 1986

Cambridge History of American Literature

Chicano Literature: A Reference Guide
LOCKWOOD Reference PS153.M4 C46 1985

Dictionary of American Literary Characters
LOCKWOOD Reference PS374.C43 D5 2002

Encyclopedia of American Poetry. The Twentieth Century
LOCKWOOD Reference PS323.5 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of American Poetry. The Nineteenth Century
LOCKWOOD Reference PS316 .E53 1998

The Handbook of African American Literature
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PS153 .N5 E78 2004

Hispanic Literature of the United States : a Comprehensive Reference
LOCKWOOD Reference PS153 .H56 K36 2003

Native American Literatures: an Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes
LOCKWOOD Reference PS153 .I52 W47 1999

The Oxford Illustrated Literary Guide to the United States
LOCKWOOD Reference PS141  .E74 1982

The Oxford Companion to American Literature
LOCKWOOD Reference PS21  .H3 1995

Biographical Resources

Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)

African American Dramatists: An A-Z Guide
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PS338 .N4 A69 2004

Asian-American Poets: a Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Poetry Reference H82 2002  A84  1.1  

Black American Writers Past and Present: a Biographical and Bibliographical Dictionary LOCKWOOD Reference Z1229.N39 R87

Contemporary American Ethnic Poets: Lives, Works, Sources
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Poetry Reference C84 2004  1.1  

Contemporary Gay American Novelists: A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
LOCKWOOD Reference PS374.N63 C66 1993

Contemporary Gay American Poets and Playwrights: An A-to-Z Guide
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PS325.C656 2003

Contemporary Lesbian Writers of the United States : A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
LOCKWOOD Reference PS153.L46 C65 1993

The Harlem Renaissance and Beyond: Literary Biographies of 100 Black Women Writers 1900-1945 .
UGL Reference PS153.N5 R65 1990

Latino and Latina Writers
LOCKWOOD Reference PS153.H56 L39 2004

Modern American Women Poets
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PS151 .G63 1984

Modern American Women Writers
LOCKWOOD Reference PS151 .M54 1991

Nineteenth-century American Women Writers: a Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
LOCKWOOD Reference PS217 .W64 N56 1997

Finding Literary Criticism (Online Resources)

MLA International Bibliography

ABELL - (Modern Humanities Research Association) Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature

Academic Search Complete

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select

Literature Online

Literature Resource Center ( LRC )

JSTOR ( Journal STORage )

Periodicals Archive Online

Periodicals Index Online

Dissertations and Theses

Project MUSE

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

 American Literary Scholarship

Finding Literary Criticism (Print Resources)

Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
LOCKWOOD Reference PN86 L53

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PN761 N5

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PN771 G27

Contemporary Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PN 94 C62

The New Moulton's Library of Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PR85. N39 1985

The Critical Perspective: Twentieth-Century Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PR85. C76 1985

Literary History of the United States
LOCKWOOD Reference PS88. L5 1974

Handbook of American Popular Literature
CAPEN Reference PS 169 P64 H36 1988

Book Review Digest
LOCKWOOD Reference (Index) Z 1219 C96


Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975: A Guide to Information Sources.
LOCKWOOD Reference PS153 .N59 A373 1979

Bibliographical Guide to the Study of the Literature of the U.S.A
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z1225 .G6 1984

Bibliotheca Americana : A Dictionary of Books Relating to America .
LOCKWOOD Reference Z1201. S22 1961

The New Sabin; Books described by Joseph Sabin and His Successors, Now Described again on the Basis of Examination of Originals, and Fully Indexed by Title, Subject, Joint Authors, and Institutions and Agencies .
LOCKWOOD Reference Z1201. T45

Black American Writers: Bibliographical Essays
LOCKWOOD Reference PS153.N5 B55

Guide to American Literature and its Backgrounds since 1890
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z1225 .J65 1972

Magill's Bibliography of Literary Criticism: Selected Sources for the Study of More than 2,500 Outstanding Works of Western Literature
CAPEN Reference Z6511 .M25

American Ethnic Literatures: Native American, African American, Chicano/Latino, and Asian American Writers and their Backgrounds: An Annotated Bibliography
LOCKWOOD Reference PS153 .M56 P43 1992

American Fiction, 1774-1850: A Contribution toward a Bibliography
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z1231.F4 W9 1969

American Fiction, 1851-1875: A Contribution toward a Bibliography
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z1231.F4 W94 1965

American Fiction, 1876-1900: A Contribution toward a Bibliography
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z1231.F4 W94 1966

Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies
LOCKWOOD Reference PR83.H34 2008

Reference Works in British and American Literature .
LOCKWOOD Reference PR83.B74 1998


Annual Surveys of Literature Online

Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory

Year's Work in English Studies

Primary Sources Online

African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century

American Memory

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography American Periodical Series 1741-1900 (APS Online)

Archive Finder

The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective

Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800)

Early Encounters in North America

Early English Books Online (EEBO)

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)

Harper's Weekly

In the First Person

Literature Online

Making of America – MoA

Pennsylvania Gazette

ReadersGuide Retrospective, 1890-1982

Wright American Fiction 1851-1875

Special Collections

The George Kelley Paperback and Pulp Fiction Collection

Poetry Collection

University Archives

Additional Web Resources

American Authors on the Web

Celebration of Women Writers

Electronic Text Collections

Internet Public Library Literary Criticism Collection

Literary Resources - American

Literature History.Com

PAL: Perspectives in American Literature - A Research and Reference Guide - An Ongoing Project

Voice of the Shuttle –American Literature

Citing Resources

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
LOCKWOOD Reference LB2369 .G53 2009

How to Create an MLA Works Cited Page

How to Create MLA Parenthetical Citations

Frequently Asked Questions about MLA Style

Annotated Bibliographies

The Chicago Manual of Style
LOCKWOOD Reference Z253 .U69 2003  

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
LOCKWOOD Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
LOCKWOOD Book Collection  LB2369 .T8 1996

Citation Management Software