Handbooks are a great place to start when doing library research. They can provide you with a detailed overview of your topic as well as lead to additional sources of information through lists of references or bibliographies. Many are available online through subscriptions we have to e-books databases, including the following:
- Instrumentation Reference Book, W. Boyes, et al., 3rd ed., 2003
- Control System Design Guide, G.H. Ellis, 3rd ed., 2004
- Control Theory, J.R. Leigh, 2nd ed., 2004
- Handbook of Hybrid Systems Control, J. Lunze, et al., 2009 [log-in with UBIT name and password]
- Instrument Engineers' Handbook, B.G. Liptak, 4th ed., 2003: Volume 1 & Volume 2
- Digital Control Engineering, M. Fadali et al., 2009
- Dynamic Modeling and Control of Engineering Systems, B. Kulakowski et al., 2007
- Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 11th ed., 2006
To search for books on industrial control topics, use the UB Libraries' Catalog. The Catalog offers access to over three million books and other materials owned by the UB Libraries. One way to search is by subject, using any of the subject headings below:
- AUTOMATIC CONTROL
- AUTOMATIC GAIN CONTROL
- AUTOMATIC TIMERS
- BINARY CONTROL SYSTEMS
- CARRIER CONTROL SYSTEMS
- CONTROL BOARDS ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING
- DELAY LINES
- DIGITAL CONTROL SYSTEMS
- ELECTRIC CONTROLLERS
- ERROR CORRECTING CODES INFORMATION THEORY
- FEEDBACK CONTROL SYSTEMS
- FEEDFORWARD CONTROL SYSTEMS
- FLIGHT CONTROL
- GUIDANCE SYSTEMS FLIGHT
- HYDRAULIC CONTROL
- INCREMENTAL MOTION CONTROL
- INTELLIGENT CONTROL SYSTEMS
- LINEAR CONTROL SYSTEMS
- MACHINE TOOLS--NUMERICAL CONTROL
- PID CONTROLLERS
- PNEUMATIC CONTROL
- PREDICTIVE CONTROL
- PROCESS CONTROL
- PROGRAMMABLE CONTROLLERS
- SWITCHING THEORY
- TEMPERATURE CONTROL
You can also search the catalog by keyword, combining words and phrases. For example, robot and control
We also have access to electronic books through the following e-book databases:
- Knovel E-Books
Full-text access to over 1,000 science and engineering books including many books with enhanced features such as interactive tables and graphs.
- ENGnetBASE (via CRCnetBASE)
Online collection of hundreds of engineering books published by CRC Press.
And you can expand your search for books beyond UB using WorldCat, a mega-catalog with 40+ million records for books and other materials owned by more than 20,000 libraries around the world. If you find a book in WorldCat that isn't available at UB, you can request that we borrow it for you from another library using Delivery+.
To search for journal articles by topic, use a database, such as those listed below. These databases will help you dientify relevant research, providing you with listings of references to journal articles (as well as, in some cases, conference papers, technical reports, dissertations, government documents, etc.) as well as links out to selected full text.
Compendex Plus (Engineering Index)
Provides references plus abstracts (as well as selected full text) to journal articles and conference papers in all areas of engineering. Available online for the years 1884-present.
Provides full text access to publications of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE) including journals, magazines, transactions, conferences, and standards.
Provides citations plus abstracts and full text access where available for journal articles and conference papers in computer engineering, control technology, all areas of electronics and electrical engineering, and physics for the years 1969-present.
Web of Science
Provides citations plus abstracts and selected full text where available to journal articles on a wide range of scientific and technical topics. Available online for the years 1965-present.
For a more extensive listing of databases in engineering, consult our Resources by Subject pages.
Technical reports are typically used to report the progress of research and development activities. The Science & Engineering Library has a collection of several million technical reports, most of which are on microfiche. They are shelved on the 2nd floor of Capen Hall. The databases below will provide you with references for reports, including their report/accession number, which we use to file reports in our microfiche collection. A reference librarian can help you determine whether or not we have the technical report you are looking for and locate it for you.
NTIS (federally-sponsored R+D)
Provides citations and abstracts for technical reports describing government-sponsored research from 1964 to the present.
NASA Technical Reports
Provides citations (and in some instances full text) for technical reports produced by NASA's research centers. Coverage is for the 1960s to the present.
DTIC Technical Reports
Provides access to citations to unclassified Department of Defense documents from late December 1974 to the present. Also contains full-text versions of unclassified technical reports from September 1998 to the present.
Standards are detailed instructions that explain how something is to be manufactured, managed, designed, or otherwise handled. Use the tools below to identify and locate standards:
IEEE Xplore includes the full text of all IEEE standards. Select “Standards,” and then enter either a standard number or a keyword to locate standards titles containing that number or keyword.
Guide to Standards at UB
Lists major standards as well as guides to standards information, test methods, and building codes in our collections and other local collections, with links to engineering standard web catalogs and websites.
Patents are a rich source of scientific and technical information.
U.S. Patent Databases
Produced by the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office, this publicly accessible website provides free full-text access to U.S. patents and patent applications. The Issued Patents Database contains the full text content of U.S. patents back to 1790. Patents from 1976-present can be searched by keyword as well as by patent number, classification code, inventor's name, assignee's (company's) name, primary examiner's name, and issue and application date, etc. Patents from 1790-1975 can be searched by patent number and by classification code only. The Patent Applications Database contains the full text of patent applications from March 15, 2001, to the present. Note: Complete images for patents and patent applications are included in a compressed TIFF format that requires special viewing software.
- Worldwide Patents Full-Text at ESP@CENET
The European Patent Office has developed a worldwide patent database of over 30 million patents, many with full-text page images, available at no charge. Full bibliographic information (title, abstract, and patent numbers) for patents from 61 countries can be searched as far back as 1984, depending on the country. For 23 countries, you can search on titles and display full-text page images (PDF files) as far back as 1920. European, World, and Japanese patents are included as well as patents from numerous other countries on every continent, including the U.S.
- Control Engineering Virtual Library
- International Federation of Automatic Control
- ISA - Instrumentation, Systems and Automation Society
- Insitute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
- Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) (formerly IEE)
- International Federation of Robotics
- Artificial Intelligence Laboratory at MIT
- Control Tutorials for Matlab